End of the year traditions

21 34
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

December 31, 2021. No. 113

There are very few hours left for us to say goodbye to 2021. It has been a very difficult year for all of us. Second-year in a row with the covid 19 pandemic and we still don't see the light at the end of the tunnel, well, just a little.

Today I saw the article Reminiscing Filipino New Year Celebrations by @Jane and I wanted to try it with the traditions that we have in my country. At least try to make an effort to teach you some of them.

Already in these last days of the year, it is very likely that the houses in your neighborhood are playing music all day, even at high volumes. But nobody gets in a bad mood, these are days to celebrate.

Warning: Some of the concepts that are discussed here in this article, may hurt the sensitivity of some readers, due to their beliefs or cultural differences. It is not my intention at all to make someone feel bad or offended.

In Cuba, December 31 is the perfect opportunity to be with the family and have a New Year's Eve meal. If possible, and the economy gives them, try by all means to have at least one leg of pork or some who are more fortunate, a whole roast pig, as seen in the picture.

Roasted pork

As a popular joke, the pig has been declared a national mammal. It is the meat that we like the most from a very young age. I remember when I was barely 10 years old, looking forward to the 31st. At that time I would get up early to participate in the slaughter of the poor animal. As an observer, of course. There were two options: Roast the pork or chop it into pieces making it steak and making pork rinds. Either one I love.

The preferred food is:

  • Rice with grey

  • Pork steak

  • Yuca with mojo

  • Avocado

  • Fried ripe banana

  • Tomato

Although it can also be accompanied by other ingredients, the main ones already know what they are.

Burn the doll

Some just before 12 at night, go out to see how a doll made of rags and old clothes is burned. This doll represents a whole year that has been very hard and waiting for the next one to have many more blessings. Several houses make this doll and put it in front. I remember when I was younger, it was a tradition for me to make one every year.

The jug of water

Many Cubans throw a jug of water onto the street at just 12 at night. I have never shared this tradition, although I recognize that there are many who do. This rite is to get rid of everything bad and clean the house, freeing it from all negativity and hope for more progress in the new year.

Many cleaned the house that night, and the water they used was the one they threw into the street, to symbolize precisely that, the advent of a new year, with hopes on the surface.

Wear something red

Many use it to symbolize good luck. It is believed to have Afro-Cuban origins. It is a custom that can be observed all day 31 in many. Nor am I one of those who share this idea much.

Go out with a suitcase

This is undoubtedly one of the funniest. I have come across the odd family that does this today. They go out with a suitcase to tour a good part of the neighborhood. They want to attract good luck and travel in particular. They believe that it will give them the luck to acquire a visa for a trip, or perhaps a work contract in another country. The suitcase has to be well prepared as if you were really going on a trip.

Cuba has a wealth of traditions that make it special. But what most impacts everyone is the simplicity of its people. We are happy, supportive people. We help each other and share moments of happiness or sadness together. All trying to get the best of themselves, to move forward, and have a more promising future for themselves and their families.

This is my last article of the year. And I want to thank you for all the time you have taken to read my articles, to like me, leave a comment, or an upvote. Thank you from my heart I tell you. I hope that 2022 will fill you with joy and more blessings. May you fulfill all your dreams.

Thank all my sponsors. Thanks a lot!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2022

Credits

100% original content

The images can be found here

13
$ 9.41
$ 8.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 8
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

Comments

I want a holiday so bad that I may take my suitcase and walk around my neighbourhood

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahah. Jane says she doesn't dare to do that. 😀 Happy New Year my friend. Thanks for EVERYTHING

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pork meat isn't generally accepted here. But i love that burn the doll culture...it sounds exciting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was why I included a disaclaimer above and tried to make the images not so expressive.

Happy New Year 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a very rich tradition.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my friend 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

¡Feliz año nuevo para ti también!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Feliz año nuevo mi amiga. Nosotros sí entramos muchísimo después que todos los demás aquí en el 2022. La diferencia de horario con ellos es abismal.

Gracias por todo el apoyo que me has brindado en estos meses. Ha sido increíble. Más salud, éxitos y bendiciones para ti y toda tu familia. Un abrazo. Hasta el infinito y mas allá.

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Happy new year for you and Diana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hours going down new year just start after a while, it will be closed with lot of memories and new year rise up with happiness

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy New Year 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really have different traditions... I like that going out with a suitcase haha. But my neighbor would probably think that I'll be leaving my home 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I live on the other side of the planet. Huge cultural difference. It is evident that we are different, but at the same time we are identical. We are humans.

Ahah, try to go out with the suitcase and when they ask you say that it is a tradition on the other side of the world, on a small island and you want to try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely would wear red ❤️ Happy New Year, my friend!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can see why. 😃. Happy New Year my dear friend 😊. Thanks for everything and all the support you always give me. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are very interesting to read though I never heard about the burning doll thing.. fascinating :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know that this one you will love it 😃 Happy New Year 2022 my friend. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year to you too, bless you to "Infinity" and beyond :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing interests me like the food and pork part of the celebration 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed my friend.

Happy New Year and more blessings in 2022.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago