The supreme being knows

0 21
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

I looked towards the bright blue sky laced with big foams of cloud. It was said that beyond those clouds lived the supreme one who oversees the happenings in the world, but I can't help but wonder if I'm too insignificant for this supreme being to notice or maybe life hasn't dealt me enough blows to attract his attention towards me.

I have lots of questions seeking answers but it is saddening enough that each time I look towards the heavens, his rumoured abode, I sees no sign that I'm being watched over or heard. All the time I ask for a sign but all I get is more suffering, more labour and more punishment from the wicked Miss. Tim for every trivial mistake. Her punishments would leave me and the other children in pain for days. She always says it is to make us more hardworking and less burdensome to the families that would adopt us. Not just me, but all the children in the orphanage hated her to the core. She was our nightmare.We all prayed to the supreme being to soften Miss. Tim's spirit and make her wear a smiling face. That way, she would be nice to us.

The gray haired middle age man who always stood at the pulpit in the church near the orphanage would always tell us that the supreme being above knows our every need and will forever be there to help us. But why is it that each time I pray, I mean we pray for Miss. Tim to be nice, she increase our work and punishment.

One Sunday, after the gray haired man had taught us the gospel, I sneaked away from the other children and approached him. I thought that since he always spoke about the supreme being, he would be in the best position to relay our prayers to him. If nothing happens this time, if we keep suffering the way we are, then I'll be convinced that the supreme being is a bluff.

That day, I was severely punished by Miss. Tim for sneaking around in the church. I was sad.

Two weeks after this incident, Miss. Tim was removed from her job as a caretaker in the orphanage. The priest told us that she has been punished by the appropriate authority. We got a new caretaker who was nice to us and treated us like we were her children.

I finally got convinced that the supreme one sure cared about his creations and according to the grey haired priest, we didn't just have to pray. We also had to put in physical efforts to get our problems solved. If I hadn't talked to the priest, we would have still be in suffering. The creator sees it all.

Fiction
All images from unsplash
Sponsors of Immaculata
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

Comments