Folktale: why death?

0 19
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

Death is an inevitable end. It is no doubt that we will all experience is death but nobody knows when it will come. The mere thought of death spread fear among people.

People cannot help but ask the question why death. Nobody has an answer to this particular question. This article is not going to tell you about the death or why people die. I'm only here to give you an African folktale version of why people die and why death is a no respecter of person.

It was said that at the early stage of life, there was nothing like sickness or death. god began to see that the Earth was getting filled up with people. He had to devise a way to reduce the population so that earth would accommodate more people. He had an angel called death. So he decided to death to go and pick souls from Earth. There was no specific instruction on which soul to pick.

When death came down to Earth, he met a young lady and decided to pick her. The young lady was infuriated and said to death, "did you not see what the people to pick? What made you think that I'm ready to die? I still have my life to live. I am too young for this. Perhaps,you could find someone who is already tired of life and pick him or her. As for me, I still need to live my life. I will have to get married, have children and watch my children grow up to take care of me in my old age, before I think of following you back to wherever you came from".

After the experience with the young lady, death decided to visit an old man. The old man said to him, "I have tried and suffered my whole life take care of my children. Now it's time for me to enjoy the fruits of their labour and you want to take me away? There is no way I'm following you. Life is better at old age. It is my time to enjoy so please go away. You can choose to take away young infants who have not experienced the struggles of life. At least you will save them the boredom of living in a Life full of sorrow".

Death then approached an infant but the infant said to him, "I just came out to the world. there is no way I can follow you. I need to at least experience the joy of being on Earth before going back to wherever it is I came from".

Saying that no one was willing to follow him back to God, they've decided that his mission was not possible we went to God and reported on his fruitless mission. God then instructed him to go back to Earth, stand on a pathwayand bring any soul he finds along the route to him.

When death came back on his second mission, he met a bunch of people who were on their way to a party and try to capture their souls. This man caught him, bit into stupid and blinded him with a stick. Death became blind.

When God so what has been done to death, he decided to make them invisible so that he would not be harmed by humans again.

Out of anger for what had been done to him, death decided to take her revenge on mankind for what they had done to his eye. He began to go on a rampage taking any sold his hand touches. His ear became deaf to the pleads of humanity.

This is why death is known as a non respecter of person.

Thanks for reading 💖

All images from Google

Sponsors of Immaculata
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.06
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Immaculata
1 year ago

Comments