I almost lost all of my assets because of one mistake

14 51
Avatar for Idksamad7869
2 years ago

21-03-2022

Most of the time from nowhere things will be going inside my brain more like overthinking about things not make sense

Take an example I'm doing nothing and than a thought will hit me up and that thought would be like i lost my portfolio and now I'll ask myself (replying to my thoughts) I've secured seed phrase and the next seconds another thought will pop up which is i lost my seed phrase and giving myself stress which doesn't make any sense.

And old peoples famous says is we shouldn't think bad because it becomes true later and that's what it was almost happened today.

I'm always been a little conscious about my seed's or wallets so a little issue is enough to give heart attack though I've felt the peace after writing down seeds to a notebook but sometimes thoughts come which made me worry if i lost that notebook

Like seriously believe me or not I'm a person who keeps overthinking and that's my speciality because this overthinking help me figure out lot's of things easily

It help me finding a content or topic, it help me made decision wisely and lot's of other things

For now i was saying things I've always thought or worried was almost came out to be true and was dead for a while

Yea, i was about to loose all of my metamask portfolio because of being irresponsible

Though nothing like hack thing happen it was just going to happen naturally.

I lost my control over metamask

Just like every normal day, i woke up and after doing breakfast opened metamask moved to polygon and started playing pegaxy to drain the energies

So now i clicked on match making first it was taking too much time to load and than when i was playing it was literally dead slow

Like after every single match i was refreshing the page and it keeps running slow and i was blaming my internet connection at that time

Until i decided to close the metamask and clear background apps etc or after restarting my device when i opened metamask got this

Now whenever i was trying to access metamask it keep saying "local data has been corrupted", "reinstall with your secret recovery phase".

I made a post on noise to find help because i was not ready to reinstall metamask again because of two reasons.

My notebook of seed phrase was far away from reach

This tragedy happened when it was just a start of my day and everything in home was already messed up because of work going on

So now if i went to find notebook then my mom gonna kill me because of the mess i was going to create

And fun fact to make sure no one can reach to notebook with my seed phrase i hide it in a box where off season clothes are stored

That was one of issue i don't want to find notebook and restore wallet again with recovery seeds.

Though another thing which was giving me more tension was what if i didn't have seed phrase written like actually that time i totally forgot if i ever wrote my metamask wallet seeds in there.

Re-building metamask take age's

Now another issue was the data in metamask, it's literally a big hustle to setup different networks again and connecting with all the dex and tabs or history everything will be gone and will have to do by own

Like when i need to open a dex i just type one word and get to it but once i uninstalled it will not work like that way

Also all of the contract of tokens will be gone too, so it take age's to rebuild metamask when marketcap.cash new update won't allow to setup network and sep20 tokens automatically with one click

Yea, it's not possible in mobile version of marketcap.cash to add all the sep20 tokens or smart BCH network by just clicking to it.

I finally got no choice left except recovering with seed's phrase

Time was running short and in the end i finally decided to uninstall metamask instead of just clearing data it is because of one reason

Reason why I reinstalled metamask was because of using it as it is since more than a half year

Yes, believe me it's been more than a half year using metamask continuously and in the end data was too huge and storage was full already

So i thought it would be better to go and reinstall it also I'm planning to reset my phone once I've not done it since i bought this mobile and it's quite laggy too.

Recovered my metamask assets with help of seed phrase

Decided to find the notebook and it took me half an hour to reach there, now i was too stressed because i already deleted metamask and was worried if i even have seed phrase written

But luckily when i checked it was written, now it was my first time accessing to wallet with the help of seeds so was confused if i should give a space or not

First i didn't give any space and got an error stressed level increase to 999+ because another thought came out which was what if i wrote seeds incorrectly

So now i entered seeds with space after word and it worked.

Setting up metamask once again from zero

First thing after accessing metamask was to set Smart BCH and it took a while to find configuration of network so after setting it manually

Now i went to setup polygon and than find out pegaxy started draining energies

And came back to Smart BCH, searched for all useful tabs easily with the help of helpme.cash so know i got this tool really help when it's necessary to use.

Now the hard part was to import sep20 tokens in metamask so it took me couple of time copying contract addresses of different tokens and importing it when your internet is already dead make it even worst.

I still haven't set bsc on metamask and won't do it I'm too lazy or tired to go in BSC ever.

Anyways learnt a lesson to keep things moving like it happened after months because of overusing metamask and I should've done this after every 5 months to keep it working smoothly instead of blaming mobile and internet.

Well I'm glad that many of peoples helped me or gave suggestions to solve this and luckily i didn't lost my portfolio or assets this time.

13
$ 5.01
$ 4.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Arslan0007897.
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Idksamad7869
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Idksamad7869
2 years ago

Comments

It would have been the worst thing not to be able to recover it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have a habit of over thinking..Lol. I was sacred to read your title, but I am glad your assets are saved now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha us moment lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What matters is that you recovered your assets. Kudos to those who helped you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed otherwise I'll be dead by now haha, community is amazing always there to help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like something after you πŸ₯΄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes.(λˆˆβ€Έλˆˆ)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know that its okay now. I also encountered same issue before, good thing I have written the seed phrases or else I will lost my investments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea it's good and necessary to have seed phrase written on a safe place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. I have kept a small notebook where my seed phrases are all written.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing everything's good now. But seriously, you have a lot of open site on your Metamask. Is it not lagging? How about the connection πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's too laggy with the time being but those all tabs are quite useful i need to check each tab everytime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad that it solved bro, take care of your metamask.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea will take care from now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago