Through My Eyes 6

2 21
Avatar for Ibitoye20
2 years ago

Being secretive or dishonest is one of the fastest ways to destroy a relationship. When you are secretive or dishonest to your partner and they find out you have been lying to them, it cripples the trust the person once had for you and you know there's no Love without Trust. It's impossible to say you love someone if you don't trust them. In Ned's case, he had been honest to Akunna about everything except the fact that he came from a wealthy family. To be fair, he didn't mean to hide that detail from her but had to do so in order to ascertain for a fact that she truly loved him for whom he was and not for what he had. Also, he didn't want to scare her away by revealing such detail at the beginning of their relationship. It's just so sad that Akunna found out from a third party before he had the chance to tell her the truth himself and due to that, she now had a lot of untrue narratives and thoughts about his intentions towards her and their relationship.

After Akunna shut the door at Ned's face, he was devastated beyond words can say and couldn't move an inche. He stood at her door in despair trying to digest all that just happened and the things she said to him. It hurt so bad for him to watch the woman he love in so much pain because of him. Part of Ned wanted to knock again to get Akunna out from her house the second time but the other part of him felt it was unwise to do such as it's clear she wanted to be left alone. After standing at the door for over ten minutes, he sadly walked away.

When Ned arrived home that day, he went straight to his room and laid on the bed with his face staring up the ceiling. It felt as though his heart had being crushed and was bleeding profusely. That was the first time in Ned's life he experienced what true pain and heartbreak felt like. He wanted to cry but tried as much as he could to hold back the tears that clouded his eyes. The state of Ned that evening was truly heartbreaking and sad. He was going through an emotional breakdown and didn't know how he was going to make things right with Akunna again. The thought of losing his relationship was extremely scary and made his heart beat even faster.

While Ned was going through an emotional breakdown and couldn't sleep, Akunna wasn't left out either. She cried all night and kept tossing back and forth on the bed. Never in a thousand years did she imagine that a man who gave her so many reasons to smile would be responsible for her tears. Ned had been nothing but a gentleman, amazing and supportive partner. She never saw the betrayal coming and I guess that's why it hit her so hard.

That same night, Ned tried calling Akunna severally over the phone but she never picked up. He texted her to please pick up the phone but she wasn't responding to his text either. This act from Akunna worsened the state of Ned's heart as he was going crazing for not knowing what next to do. However, he wasn't going to give up on the woman he loved and certainly wasn't letting his relationship go down the drains. Whatever it was going to take to get Akunna to hear him out, he was going to do it no matter what.

Early the next day, Ned tried calling Akunna but she still wasn't picking up his calls. He wanted to drive down to her office that morning but had an important meeting to tend to at Global Tech. Unable to be at both places at the same time, he decided to attend the meeting first before paying a visit to Akunna's workplace.

All through that day, neither Ned nor Akunna could concentrate on anything at work. They were completely absent minded due to the numerous thoughts going through their minds. No matter how much they tried to put themselves together, they just couldn't.

After the brief meeting Ned had at the firm that day, he retired back to his office and rested his head on the desk. At that moment, he was devastated, sad and depressed. He was losing his mind because Akunna had labelled him a liar without giving him a chance to explain or defend himself. The thought of losing her was too much for his heart to bear and it almost made him break down in tears. Unable to keep it cool, calm and collected anymore, he carried his breifacase and closed for the day.

Immediately Ned left the office, he got into one of his exotic cars which he drove to work that day and headed to Akunna's office. When he arrived, he parked at the parking lot and walked into the company complex. Everyone that saw him greeted "Good afternoon sir". Greetings were coming from every corner till he finally arrived at his dad's office which was usually vacant most of the time. He told the secretary to inform his friend 'Manager Philip' that he was around and wanted to see him. Without hesitating, the secretary alerted Philip and in no-time, he arrived at the CEO's office.

"Hey paddy, I didn't know you were going to pay us a surprise visit today like your dad did yesterday. I have missed you man" Phillip happily said when he walked into the office. Immediately Ned heard that his dad was there the day before, his heart dropped. At that moment, he became more scared because he knew his dad had something to do with Akunna finding out the truth about his social status. Without hesitating, he asked Philip some questions to find out if his dad met with or spoke to Akunna and sadly, all his doubts were confirmed to be true.

Due to Ned's numerous questions about Akunna, Philip began to suspect that she meant something more to him. With that conviction, the conversation entered another dimension. "Is there anything you want to talk to me about? Remember you can always talk to me about anything bothering you" Philip said. Unable to hold it together anymore, Ned broke down for the first time in front of a third party. He confided in Philip about everything going on between himself and Akunna. He revealed she was his partner and they were in a relationship.

As Ned spoke, Philip could see the pain in his eyes. Ned showed undiluted emotions and it was apparent that the young man was scared of losing Akunna. Being a good friend, Philip decided to help his dear friend get his woman back. There and then, Philip informed the secretary to summon Akunna to the CEO's office. In a jiffy, Akunna was on her way to the office. Ned was really tensed because he didn't know what the outcome of seeing her there would be. However, he tried to put himself together and save his relationship by confronting her and telling her nothing but the truth.

Immediately Akunna stepped her feet into that office and saw Ned seated with Phillip, her heartbeat ceased. She was shocked but tried her best to stay professional. "Hello sir, you summoned me" she said to Philip, "Yes I did, kindly have a seat" Philip said and she got seated. When Akunna sat down, she tried her possible best to avoid any eye contact with Ned. Her heart was beating nonstop and her palms became sweaty but she tried to keep her cool regardless. After a brief silence, Philip finally spoke up. "Akunna, I'm sure you know my friend seated across the table. He has something to say to you and I plead with you to give him your audience. I would be leaving now" he said and left the two lovebirds alone to talk.

Immediately Philip walked out the door, tears began to fall from Akunna's eyes. When Ned saw the tears in her eyes, his heart pierced in a million places. He wanted to get up and go to where she sat but she stopped him even before he stood up. "Don't come close to me, stay right where you are!!" She bluntly said.

As the atmosphere began to heat up, Ned looked into Akunna's eyes and began to talk. "It hurts me to see you in pain, but it hurts even more to know that you doubt my love for you after every beautiful moment we have shared together since we started dating. I know I did wrong by not telling you about my wealthy background but trust me, I wanted to tell you after your birthday but never found the right time to do so. Initially when we met, I held the truth from you because I wanted you to love me for who I truly am without my wealth influencing your decisions. Put yourself in my shoes to understand why I hid the truth from you. All my life, I have see people flock around me for what they could gain from me. Before I met you, I had so many options but found none worthy of my love because I couldn't feel any connection with them like I felt with you. Loving you is one of the easiest things I had ever done because you make it come naturally from me. I don't have any other woman in my life expect you and the reason I never took you to my house is because I live in a penthouse alone which was capable of blowing my cover of staying lowkey. Do you know how many times I came back home from work and wanted to see you at my house? Do you know how hurtful it was for me to see in you in the uncomfortable house and bad area you live in when I know I can get you a better apartment in a nice neighborhood just at the snap of my fingers? Do you know how hurtful it was for me to see you go to work with taxi everyday when I can get you a car this very minute? I was hurt seeing you live a life I had the capacity to change but couldn't do anything because I was powerless. You don't know how blessed I am to have a relationship as pure, genuine and authentic like what I have with you. Whenever I am with you, I forget about my own world because with you is the best place I'd rather be. Akunna please find a place in your heart to forgive me; I am really sorry and promise never to hide anything from you again. Please don't let go of what we have because of this issue that can be resolved, please I beg you. Every normal relationship go through hurdles and ours isn't excluded. The way we handle our differences is what makes us scale through our challenges and come out stronger. I love you and you alone, there's no one else but you" he calmly said.

As Ned spoke, Akunna's heart became to soften up. She was still hurt but saw no reason to keep purnishing her boo. She became vulnerable and Ned was quick to detect that she was no longer hostile towards him. He got up and walked to where she sat and gave her a tight hug. "Baby I am sorry" he whispered into her ears and she held him even tighter, "I miss you and I am sorry too" she said with tears in her eyes. They kissed passionately for a while before Akunna went back to her office. Ned waited for her to close from work so he could pick her and take her home.

At close of work that day, Ned picked Akunna up to take her back home. When she saw his car, that was the first time it actually dawned on her that he was truly rich rich. He came with a 'Jaguar SUV' and that was when the reality of his wealthy status began to dawn on her. This new development was a lot for her to take in but she would have to get used to it as time goes by.

It's been weeks since Akunna found out about Ned's new financial status. He wanted to get her a new apartment that was located in the elites area of town but she declined his kind gesture. "Babe I am sorry but I can't move to such an expensive apartment when I can't afford to sustain the lifestyle you want to expose me to. I know you want to be my Alpha and Omega but I can't let you be all that to me. I have been saving up to rent a nice and spacious apartment at a good place close to work. Living there would save me a lot of transportation expenses every day. It's a nice apartment situated amongst normal people in same social class like me so I would rather prefer to live there than live in a glass house that would definitely cost you so much money" she said one evening they were having a conversation at Ned's house.

Ned wasn't too happy that Akunna didn't want to move to the place he pitched to her but was kinda impressed to know that she hadn't changed and was still the lady that had a mind of her own. He agreed to her request and decided to complete the money she had already saved up so she could go pay for the apartment she wanted. Without hesitating, he asked for the balance amount and wired it there and then. Akunna was very happy and showered him with appreciation kisses.

As both lovebirds laid on the bed talking, Ned felt it was time for Akunna to finally meet his family. He didn't know how to ask her to be his date to a party his father was throwing that weekend but just had to voice it out after she was done kissing his cheeks. "Babe, I want to ask you something" he gently said, "Ok babe, what's it?' she asked. He held her chin up and planted a soft kiss on her lips. She smiled and looked into his eyes; "Is that what you want to tell me?" she asked and he kissed her yet again. Akunna began to blush because the random kisses gave her butterflies in her stomach. After the third kiss, he finally asked the question; "Would you like to meet my family? My dad is having a party this weekend and I want you to be my date to the party".

Immediately Ned said that, Akunna's heart sank in. She looked into his eyes to find an atom of unseriousness but found none. Convinced that he truly wanted her to meet his family, she finally spoke up. "Are you sure your family would like me?" She calmly asked, "They won't just Like you, but they would Love you because you are an amazing person and the lady that has stolen my heart" he said. Those words calmed her tension and she happily agreed to go with him to the party. The date was set for weekend and each of them began to prepare towards it.

As the party drew nearer, Akunna got her outfit ready so as to give a lasting first impression to Ned's siblings and second impression to his dad. She got her hair done, pedicure, manicure and makeup done. She looked like an angel when Ned came to pick her up for the party. He couldn't stop complimenting her every two minutes. They both looked gorgeous and ready to make a breathtaking entrance into the party.

Unknown to Ned, his dad invited a lot of friends that had daughters who liked him. There's this particular lady named Brenda whom Mr Tony truly wanted his son to get married to. Ned hadn't told his dad yet that he was in a serious relationship with someone else. He wanted to break the news as a surprise that day. There was fire on the mountain but no one was running just yet.

When Ned arrived at the party with Akunna, all eyes were just on them. They looked like a power couple and attracted so much attention from the attendees, including Brenda. When Mr Tony saw Akunna, he was quick to recognize her as the Production Manager from his company. Despite the fact that she looked beautiful, he was able to recognize her.

"Daddy, Goodevening" Ned greeted when they came to where Mr Tony stood. "Goodevening my son, I see you brought a guest" Mr Tony said. Ned held Akunna's hands and began the Introduction; " Yes I did! Dad this is Akunna my girlfriend, Akunna this is my dad" he said. Mr Tony was kinda happy to see his son with the same lady he awarded few weeks ago for being a competent and hardworking staff. He gave them a hug and told them to enjoy the party. "Enjoy the party and have as much fun as you can, I will see you two later" Mr Tony said and walked away to attend to his other guests.

Pheeew!! What a relief to Ned that his dad accepted Akunna wholeheartedly without giving a slight headache. Well, I believe if the man hadn't met Akunna beforehand due to the good things he heard about her from other managers at his firm, his reaction could have been different. The good character of Akunna had gone before her to pave the way for such a day as this. With Mr Tony out of the way, introducing Akunna to other members of the family was a lot more easier. Akunna met Ned's sisters and they all had a good time drinking and dancing. The lovebirds were having a good time at the party until something unexpected happened that changed the once happy atmosphere.

It happened that Akunna went to get drinks for herself and Ned who was busy discussing business with other business associates. As she stood at the bar section waiting for the cocktails to be mixed, a beautiful lady that looked at though she was craved out of chocolate walked to where she stood and rested on the bar counter. "I see you are here with Ned" she said and Akunna's attention was drawn right away. "Please do I know you? Akunna confusingly asked and the strange lady chuckled. She looked Akunna in the face and smiled faintly; "You don't need to know me to get my message very clear. I'm here to do you a favour by telling you to stay away from Ned because he can never be yours to keep. We have been in each other's life since we were 10 years and our parents already sealed our union a long time ago. Don't fall too deep because there's no future with whatever you have going on with him. I just thought to help a sister with the hard truth. If you like take it or leave it. Also, before I forget, my name is Brenda and my dad is the owner of the only Telecommunication company in this country so I'm probably sure he owns the sim card you have on your phone. Have a nice day!" She said and walked away.

When Brenda left, Akunna shook her head in disbelief and said; "See Wahala (see trouble)!! Who is this one again?".

End of episode 6Β πŸ˜‰
Stay tuned tomorrow to see what happenedΒ 

Sponsors of Ibitoye20
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for the upvote it really appreciate it πŸ’™

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Ibitoye20
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ibitoye20
2 years ago

Comments

Omo, I will beat you oo. Why you dey keep me in suspense naπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. I am enjoying it though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Just enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago