Self Made (miniseries) - Kind of a personal review!

2 17
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

Coming from other parts of the world I was unaware of this Netflix series. I noticed someone is discussing this the other day on a review platform like how excellent the drama is. I couldn't resist but search on Netflix to watch it right away.

To be honest I'm not quite familiar with 'black' history. Also, didn't know about Madam C. J. Walker, maybe heard her name a few times but couldn't remember any detail. So this series was sort of a window for me to learn and understand the history. Through I have seen some criticism about historical inaccuracies but as a newbie like me, I didn't notice much but rather wondered about the iconic part of the history.


image source

Let's jump into the story.

If you are not also aware of Madam C. J. Walker then I would simply say, she was a black hair care pioneer, mogul, and self-made female millionaire.

The Netflix series consists of four episodes. I love the part where we get to visualize how their dress, hair, makeup, and lifestyle change over time with money coming at home. How people's treatment of the black community changed over time. Also, it's not like a very boring historical documentary but rather very entertaining. Octavia Spencer sure played an amazing character. On top of it, Tiffany Haddish as her daughter added some extra punch to the storyline. Also, I liked Garrett Morris's scene very much.

I wouldn't say the storyline was very exciting. Like I didn't wait eagerly for the next episode like other series. But that doesn't overtake the recognition of the series. I think by many nominations and awards this series made its own place in the TV series industry. There's no doubt about the amazing character play of Octavia Spencer as Madam C. J. Walker. But I didn't like how it ended. It feels like things should be much more organized for the audience to know more afterward.

But that's all my personal view. I would give 7.5 to this series out of 10. I highly recommend the series to anyone who wants to learn more about the first black millionaire Madam C. J. Walker.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

2
$ 0.29
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
Sponsors of Iamjohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

Comments

There is an excerpt on FB about this and we found it extremely funny. Will take time to watch, thank u for the read!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know. As I said, I'm from Indian continent and I enjoyed watching it. That's it. Thanks for your feedback.

$ 0.00
1 year ago