Weekly Journal #3 of my Internship

3 39
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago
Topics: Self, Journey, Experience

Hello everyone! I’m here again for another weekly journal of my internship journey. This time, I will going to combine the week 3 and 4 in this article. To the teachers who can read this, I hope you will also give me suggestions and motivations to do better. Enjoy reading everyone!

This week marks the beginning of our participation phase, in which we student teachers will take part in the assignment that has been allocated to us by our cooperating teachers. The music of Palawan is the topic I was given to discuss. I'm both excited and apprehensive about my upcoming discussion next week because it will be my first time speaking in front of my students, as I simply record my teaching demonstration and pretended to have students with me during my field study 2. This is now the truth and reality. So, to get over my fear, I familiarized myself with my students. This week, I attended my co-student teachers' teaching discussion to observe students’ behavior and their participation during the activities and discussions.

My observation is that when we have a discussion, we should focus on our students' engagement and participation since this will result in more thorough and real learning. Because, when the teacher is the only one who talks, students may become bored and lose interest in listening, as a result of which, when the teacher asks a question, students may be hesitant or unwilling to respond. So, in my upcoming discussion, I will keep in mind that the most essential aspect of my discussion is student engagement, and I will speak less. Because my goal is for students to learn the expected knowledge or information.

During my Field study 2, we, FS students are expected to teach even just once. But unfortunately, in my case, I only recorded my discussion. This time, it is my first time holding a discussion to students and I am both excited and nervous. But before our demo teaching, we should first prepare a lesson plan, learning guide, and instructional materials. In these requirements, our cooperating teacher help us on how to properly create it and give some tips and advises. Since, we always open up to that topic that we are not that skillful enough in creating lesson plan and learning guide. I am thankful that he is understanding and willing to help us.

Two lessons I need to create a lesson plan, learning guide, and instructional material. The part where I have difficulty the most is creating the objectives and aligning the learning task and assessments. My knowledge about assessments is not that broad and as well as the objectives where remembering is first come in my mind and tend to forget the other domain. However, the feedback and comments of my cooperating teacher helps me a lot in improving my lesson plan and my learning guide. So, during my discussion, the flow is continuous and clear. Additionally, the major comment that he wants me to practice and develop is by using English in my discussion, as this is the medium of instructions in our country. Because during my discussion, I use more often vernacular.

Therefore, I practice myself discussing using English word only though it’s difficult for me but I tried. And I am hoping that someday I will be fluent in speaking in English.

3
$ 0.76
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Chelle18
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago
Topics: Self, Journey, Experience

Comments

Praktis lang jud ng praktis ,pa fluent rakag englush ,ikaw pa👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the music of Palawan sounds interesting... are you doing this face to face or just online?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just online

$ 0.00
2 years ago