My Internship Journey (week 1)

6 28
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Hello everyone!

This time, I'd want to share about my internship experiences, expectations, and lessons that I've learned so far and will learn in the coming.

Our internship started last two weeks and I am now in the third week.

Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty

When schools were temporarily closed due to the pandemic, I am worried about my future and if I would be able to continue my study. These are only a few of the concerns I made to myself. Fortunately, I enrolled when the schools reopened and implemented flexible learning, even though I'm not sure whether I'll be able to keep up because I don't have the necessary gadgets.

However, with those all doubts and what ifs I have, I still continue my study and trust the process. And I am now in the last semester. This is the most eagerly anticipated semester of my collegiate career. It is possible to say that I shall pour all my wisdom and well-being into this term time.

Honestly, I have no idea how our teaching internship will be put up in this new typical framework.

The pre-deployment orientation gives me insight into what our internship setting would be like. I learned and realized many things that would help and guide me in my internship journey. So, I have list four things that I should possess and keep in mind during in my teaching internship. First on the list is to be conscious. Be conscious to the time, schedule, and tasks that needed to be done. If there are virtual class, I should be prepared ahead of time. Like for example the class schedule is 7:00 in the morning, I should be on the virtual classroom ten minutes early. As a teacher, we should possess this trait which is punctuality to show our students how valuable the time is and how disciplined we are.

Most importantly the tasks that assigned to me will be done responsibly. When my cooperating teacher assigned me to make an instructional material, then I will make it responsibly and creatively ahead of time. So that my cooperating teacher will check it in advance, and I can make some changes and preparation with enough time.

Another one is conscious of the physical appearance. When in virtual classroom, I should ware the prescribed uniform of the college, and my hair should be clean tied, and ware simple makeup if possible. This is to make a good impact with my student and gain respect.

Additionally, I should be focus on the virtual classroom or in my discussion and avoid extra activities so that I can deliver the lesson properly and to be able to answer the questions and queries of my students immediately.

Second on the list is to plan the things that should be done in a day. In this way I can manage and use my time properly. Because I don’t like what I have experience during my art apprenticeship last semester where I didn’t manage my time well and the tasks that I needed to be done are not successfully done in the due date. So, the result is the outputs are not satisfying for me since it was made rashly. So, to avoid this scenario, I will plan what output I will be doing in a particular day. Like for example, I will need to make a lesson plan that will be used next week for discussion, I will plan to make it this week Monday and right after making it, I will send it immediately to my cooperating teacher for checking and I have one week to modify and enhance.

Next on the list is to study ahead. For me this is the most important thing that I need to do in my teaching internship. As a teacher, we are expected that we are knowledgeable and expert to our chosen major field, and in our discussion, student will ask some questions and we should answer it correctly and reliably. It is shameful that we/I can’t answer the questions of our students. And I don’t want to be in this situation as well. So, if I will do my teaching demonstration, I will study and study and understand the lesson that will be discuss.

Last on the list is know what your goal is. I should determine and identify what really is my goal in teaching. Like for example, I will be task to discuss the music in Palawan then I should determine what really is my goal in teaching or discussing this topic to my students. What specific value is intended for them to be realize and what is the importance of this to them as a human being. Additionally, determining what specific skills and traits that needs to be developed.

For this to be possible, I should know who my students are. What are their capability and strengths so that my goal is clear and will be effectively useful for the students.

Those four key points will help me to be a better student-teacher. Since this is my first time facing students virtually because I haven’t experience it during my field study courses. And in this time, I will take those things seriously in my teaching internship journey.

As I state on the first paragraph that I don’t have any idea and my expectation is both positive and negative in this teaching internship journey and this pre-deployment open up more courage for me to fight and excel and put my knowledge and learnings through my college years into action and performance.

I realized a lot of things in this week and promised myself that I will do my very best in this teaching internship since it will reflect to me if I will be fit in this profession that I have desired. Those what ifs and doubts has melt away and replaced with courage and determination to be a better and effective student-teacher.

2
$ 0.84
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Chelle18
$ 0.03 from @renren16
Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations to your accomplishment so far sis. I know you can do it and push forward to achieve what you really desire. Cheering for your success! :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ☺ I heartily appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay ,congrats dae kaya rana nimo oy ,oara sa pangandoy.Naa rame mo supporta nimo🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Ate. Salamat sa suporta. Hapit na gyud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanus inyo graduation dae?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

June tali te, not sure pako

$ 0.00
2 years ago