2nd Week of My Internship Journey

2 29
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Hello everyone!

I am going to share my weekly experience of my teaching internship.

And now, this is the second week of my internship.

Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty

This week is the observation phase, in which student teachers will observe their cooperating teachers as they teach their respective classes.

My assumption is that we will only actually observe the teacher and then apply what we learn on our own in the participation phase. But first and foremost, we had an orientation in our cooperating school where I learned a lot. I was also pleased that they provided that orientation since it gave me a sense of belonging to our cooperating school, and I had the opportunity to know every teacher in their school.

I'm also grateful that they warmly welcome us to their school and are eager to train us as student teachers to become better and effective teachers. Indeed, the talks of the speakers really stuck in my mind, and I know that it will help me in guiding my teaching internship.

There are three things that the speaker wants us to commit during our internship. And that is respect, perform, and enjoy. Now let’s analyze what is the importance of these three aspects in my teaching internship?

To begin with, let’s start with respect. Respect time, students, and teachers. And why there is a need to respect the time? Well, we've all heard the saying "time is gold," and we've all heard it a lot of times. However, how will we going to show our respect for time? It is just simple. Like for example, when I am task to submit a lesson plan in this specific time range then I will submit it before the deadline or in advance.

Another consideration is the virtual class time schedule; if my session is at 9 a.m., I will be at the virtual classroom ten or fifteen minutes early and prepared. Furthermore, there is a proper time to tap them when it comes to student-teacher consultation or communication. For example, if I have a question for my cooperating teacher, I should be mindful of his time availability and avoid conversing with him during non-working hours, such as at night and on weekends. Moreover, I should respect my students as well in order for students to respect me.

But how can students be shown respect? As a teacher, I believe that I should communicate in a relaxed and friendly tone while being formal. Consider the students' situations, respect them as students, and assist them appropriately. Next is respect to teachers. We/I should respect our cooperating teacher and our co-student teachers. To establish a good rapport, I should communicate with them in a formal and friendly manner as well.

As my cooperating teacher will be training me to become a better teacher, I should prove to him that I am willing to accept his feedback and evaluation. In addition, I will be courteous to my cooperating teacher and do any tasks he assigns to me.

Let us now go on to the second aspect, which is perform, and by perform, we mean excel in every way. When it is time for me to discuss the lesson, I should have read 200 pages ahead of my students. I should be creative in my discussion, particularly in the instructional materials and learning tasks, so that my students actively participate in my discussion.

Additionally, I should plan an engaging and participatory classroom discussion. Then , I should excel in creating lesson plans, learning guides, and instructional materials. In this manner, I may train myself to improve my teaching performance. At the same time, the students will be able to study quickly and actively.

The last aspect that the speaker wants us to do is enjoy. Everything what happened in my teaching internship should be enjoyed. Even if there will be ups and downs along the journey, the most important thing is that I will enjoy every step of the way. I want this teaching internship to be the most memorable experience of my college life, thus I want to enjoy it. I will always think positively and will not allow bad energy to take over.

As for this week, I completed some of the aforementioned aspects, one of which is respect. I determined that I would get up early because my cooperating teacher's class starts at 8 a.m., and my goal was to arrive to the virtual meeting ten minutes early, which I accomplished. Another is respect for pupils and instructors was also achieved. Since we have the opportunity to introduce myself and the pupils, I do so respectfully. I was nervous at first, which was typical.

This week has been really enjoyable for me because I have been so productive with my daily agenda. However, I was dissatisfied with my performance when it came to public speaking since I need to rebuild my confidence. And I promised myself that I would practice my topic well so that when the time came for me to teach, I would be able to deliver my lesson effectively.

As of now, I can feel the pressure and excitement of this journey, and I will do everything in my power not to fail myself at this time. Also, I will not disappoint my cooperating teacher or my students, and I will ensure that they can learn from me. So far, I can positively say that I am now progressing and determined to be better more.

2
$ 0.23
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Chelle18
$ 0.01 from @petlove
Sponsors of Iamhasmin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamhasmin
2 years ago

Comments

Yes jud dae ,maningkamot kay naa raba kay pangandoy ,anyway kumusta si ate cherel ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok ra siya te

$ 0.00
2 years ago