A Great adventure Is In The Discovery And Ascent Of A Previously Unknown Mountain

0 13
Avatar for Iamchristine
1 year ago

"Get the good news from the top of the mountains. Like the way sunlight seeps into trees, so will the calm of nature seep into you ".

- William Arthur Ward

When I finally made it to the peak, the light and the mountains offered me a spectacular welcome. The trek and ascent were difficult and unfamiliar, but the reward at the peak was worth every step. The mountain never fails to astound me and comfort me. When I was near mountains, I felt the most at one with nature.

Something unrelated. In the 'Ber' months, two of my kids came sprinting up to me with their most animated expressions. They are to complete the assignment I assigned to them. Since Christmas is coming up soon, it's time to start looking for a tall tree with many of limbs to use as a DIY tree in our classroom.

I thought they would appear worn out and disheveled from carrying the tree, but they didn't. They reported back, full of joy and excitement, that they had found an ideal mountain for climbing, the view from the top of which they could not even begin to describe. Even they were at a loss to identify it. To say I was intrigued is an understatement.

If you had to climb, would you see anything? Naaaahhh. Whatever.

I couldn't wait to go to the top and take in the view!

Meanwhile, the PE12 (Physical Education for Grade 12) Curriculum Guide at the time mandated that students participate in mountaineering for both physical and mental health. (Ting! The Light Is On!)

Then I packed up my things and started out on an expedition to this unidentified peak.

Now the fun can begin!

We left around 7:30 a.m., brimming with vitality and excitement for the voyage ahead. Sunshine and pleasant temperatures characterized the day. As we set off on our journey, everyone was in high spirits.

We walked past a little pond that was hemmed in by trees. Carabaos would cool off in this artificial pond by submerging their entire bodies. We came across a straight-line planted Mahogany tree not far from the pond. At first view, it looks like the gateway to a secret facility. These two views boosted our motivation to continue the ascent.

We had been hiking for approximately an hour when we finally reached this lovely open area. A chicken coop in the middle of the field. From afar, this is one of my favorite scenes ever. The rural landscape is depicted here in all its simplicity and grandeur. Another sight we came across was a log resting on the side of the road; with the open field and the beautiful sky as a backdrop, I didn't hesitate to strike a few postures and take a few pictures.

"Country road, take me home, to the place where I belong🎶🎶".

These tunes started playing in my head while I walked. To prepare myself mentally for what lay ahead of us on our ascent, I focused on maintaining my composure and appreciating the present moment.

When we got to the far end of the field, we noticed an old, damaged motorcycle sitting by the roadside, shaded by an Acacia tree. Taking another photo of me on the old bike was a must. Char!

My pupil informed me that we had reached the base of the mountain. In the middle of our journey, we stopped beside a deep well to refill our water bottles.

We're taking a few breaks after filling up on water.

The climb🌄

After that, we began our ascent. My initial impression of the mountain was that it wouldn't be too challenging to traverse on foot because of the many trails that wound their way up and down the slopes. When I looked around the mountain's rim, I didn't notice any signs of human habitation, so I wondered if anyone had ever lived there.

Trees and rocks abounded on the ascent, but the trees were often little and short. The trail was lined with verdant vegetation because of all the shrubs. I was relieved to find that the path was not too steep or arduous to ascend. Many of my students were 1st-time climbers, and I worried about them until they reassured me that they could scale mountains with greater ease than trained professionals.

The mountain's path was rather easy to hike and climb. The most challenging part of the ascent was actually the last 10%, when we reached the mountain's steepest side. The rocky route was treacherously narrow and muddy. The rest of the ascent was simple and enjoyable, though. (Unfortunately, my phone had broken by this point in the climb, so I couldn't access the photos I'd taken up to that point. huhu. I recently pulled a few pictures from my Facebook account.

At the top. 🏔

By the time I reached the summit, I could hardly breathe for the excitement. What unfolded before my eyes astounded me with its splendor. The view from the peak of the mountain is magnificent.

The only thing I could see were the undulating slopes of this enormous mountain. Wow, look at that beautiful scenery! Nothing but the wind and the hush of these regal mountains is audible to me. It's safe to say that everyone there was star-struck. There was comfort for me there. It seemed as if the mountains and my heart were singing together.

Above me, the clouds seemed to be saying, "I told you, you would be in awe of the vista," as if I were looking down on a basin. I invest roughly 30 minutes. Or perhaps even more than just taking in the scenery from above.

As difficult as the ascent was, it was well worth it. The opportunity to return here is one I would take ten times over.

My students were beaming as I observed them. As we descended the mountain, I had no doubt that they would have grown as people and been better for the experience.

That an uncharted mountain was made available to me makes me one of the fortunate people alive. I went on a journey that will live with me forever. I am glad that I answered the call of this mountain.

My class had a fantastic time together, and we all bonded as a result of our shared experience. I'm glad I could impart some of my mountain enthusiasm upon them.

Another sobering encounter with these towering peaks.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Iamchristine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamchristine
1 year ago

Comments