officially 22

4 31
Avatar for IamWriterJo
2 years ago

March 26th of the year 2000, in the heat of the summer a child was born. But I almost died. The delivery was very delayed to the point I was no longer breathing when I came out. The midwife already put a bible above my moms womb, the room was filled with great tension, it become more intense when I came out like a dead child. It took more than 5 minutes when I cried.

It's been 22 years when I survived death. I wonder what happened if the mid wife hunch was not the way it was, what if I did not survive? what if the decision she made resulted to my death ? What if I did not exist? These are the questions running in my head right now, why? Because I have realized that I have met so many people in the past 22 years, I have attended different birthday parties, I have visited a lot of people in the hospitals, and I have attended many funerals. See, this is part of adulthood, you know you are growing old when you have witnessed people having kids and attended a lot of funerals.

The common ground of birth and death is that things change when someone come and things changed when someone left. Change is indeed constant. It is never the same when you were the only child, then your life when your siblings came. It is never the same when your grandma was there and know you put flowers in her tomb. This makes me think if have we really overcome or heal from grief. It might not hurt like the first time we heard the news, but it still gives a pinch in our heart whenever something reminds us about them. But there are times grief visit us like a snow storm and tsunami that will wreck our being and the only thing we can do is endure it while crying.

Death is uncertain. We never know when our age will stop and what could make it stop. We might have a memorable dinner with a friend last night and found out he/she passed away in the morning. We might decline a friends invitation because we are so busy but without realizing that could be the last invitation we can get. We might reject a call from our love ones because we are so tired of them nagging to us but how would we feel if our phone no longer rings their name.

Ironic it is that I write about death in my birthday, but I want you to realize that life is uncertain and the only time we have is now. Express your love to someone because humans don't stay long. Cherish the moments that your kinds messed up your room, or draw silly things on the wall, or makes you pissed, or when they sneak out when you try to make them nap because it won't take long they will grow and depart from your side. Cherish the moment that you still have your parents with you even if they nagged all the time, they are old and we know time will come they will rest. They want to assure that when they take the rest, you are equipped without them.

Life is about moments. I know at this stage of life everyone is building future and wanting to have this and that. But how can we prepare future if we neglect the present.

To everyone that is writing this, always remember that when your birthday comes recall the funerals you have attended by that you will be reminded of the value of life.

I am grateful to be officially 22 and learned this things.

-WriterJo

5
$ 0.81
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.01 from @Septamber
+ 1
Avatar for IamWriterJo
2 years ago

Comments

Happy Birthday and many many more birthday to come. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday! Cheers for more growth and positive mind to overcome the setbacks as you go through your various goals in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, this means so much to me

$ 0.00
2 years ago