Still Missing You

6 21
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

Hello, my wonderful friends and my fellow writers here on this platform. Blessed Thursday have faith and hope that all will be fine according to the plan of our Almighty God. Another week will soon end and the weekend is waving again to us. So enjoy every day always smile and try to be positive always.

Today is November 11 and on this date falls the death anniversary of my late grandmother from my mother's side. I was still in high school when she left us. I remember that day because I was competing in the division meet of the track and field division. There was no sign that she will leave us because earlier that day I bid farewell for I am going to school and she said that I will take care.

Before I continue just want to say thank you to my amazing sponsors here on read. You can check their articles and I can vouch that all was worthy of your time.

My current sponsors here on read screenshot from my account

Late in the afternoon when she leaves us. And it was heartbreaking for me because I was never on her side. But my mother said it is ok to let grandma go so she can finally rest in peace and no more pain for her. I was crying that time as I am watching her inside the coffin.

Every year we make sure to cook something for her death anniversary. For today we decided to cook "bilo-bilo" or we call "palarusdos" or "binignit" in another language it was one of my late grandma's favorite food. It was made of sticky rice flour rolled into little balls, and then we add sweet potatoes, bananas, and tapioca pearls cooked in coconut milk, and add sugar to your desired sweetness.

My special bilo-bilo cooked with love this afternoon

Its been decades now that she is not here with us physically but still I am missing her so much. For me, she is my number one fan. I remember that she always listens to me when I am singing, every afternoon after I practice at our choir and I arrived home she will ask me what song did we rehearse and her favorite is a Kundiman titled "Gaano Kita Kamahal". If you are a Filipino and you got a chance to grow up with your grandparents you will surely know this song. An all-time classic. My favorite line from the song is,

"Ang ating buhay
Maikli aking hirang
Kung kaya't kailangan
Ng pagsuyong wagas kailanman

Ang sumpa ko sa iyo'y asahan
Ikaw lamang ang aking iibigin
Magpakailanman"

The lines of the song mean that our life is short so if we must love it must be a pure and everlasting love, and he is promising to love only one till the end. Isn't the song so sweet? I am still crying up to now when I am singing this song because I am remembering my grandma.

My grandma is my best friend. We usually talk for long hours and she listens to me and gives me advice when necessary. I am still missing you "Lola" almost three decades that you are not here but the pain and the memory seem yesterday. I know you're at peace and happily reunited with grandpa. Send my hugs to him. Tell him also that I miss you both terribly. Thank you for the memories and the learnings instilled in my mind. I will treasure that forever. I love you grandma to the moon and back. Watch us always ok.

This is it my friends thank you for reading once again my humble article. I am always grateful to all of you. Bless us always and be safe.

All Rights Reserved @IamAshrone 
Lead image from thelifeididntchoose.com
Proper credits were given 

4
$ 1.74
$ 1.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.01 from @Inayat954
Sponsors of IamAshrone
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for IamAshrone
2 years ago

Comments

When the dead are being remember on Earth, they smiled wherever they are. Your remembrance of your grandmama has surely put a smile on her face and she's happy wherever she is.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello yes maybe they are smiling at us when we are remembering them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my grandma. She passed away in the year 2016. I am sorry to hear about your grandma. Stay strong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You too stay strong and be safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so sad to heard about death of your grandma. This member of family always have real love specially for their grandson and grand daughter. While on the other hand you cooked such a beautifull dish for her anniversary and its colour tell us everything about its taste and deliciousness. I love your words that you used in your articles

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you my friend for the support on my articles. All the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago