TRUANCY: Leaders Leading By Example

0 25
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

As a Science student I studied a lot of Physics, Chemistry, and Biology, but I would never forget Government in SSS1. Government stood out for me amongst every other affiliate subjects back then. I remember my first class, how my teacher introduced the topic 'Government.' According to him, "government is an entity which is of the people, by the people, and for the people." That definition stuck to my memory like Fufu smell on one's palm and came to the bedrock of my definition of politics.

Further study led me to realize that the definition was birthed out of one of the most iconic speeches. The Gettysburg address (as it is called now) was delivered by late President Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War at the dedication of the Soldiers' National Cemetery in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, on the 19th of November, 1963. In his speech he said,

" that those dead shall not have died in vain- that this nation, under God shall have a new birth of freedom- and that government of the people, by the people, and for the people shall not perish." (Source: Wikipedia)

The Nigerian Government from time to time has come under scrutiny. From appointment of ministers, to its administrative function, and response to matters.

This would prompt to wonder if these scrutiny I is grounded or not. The democratic rule started way back in 199 under the rule of Rtd. Gen Olusegun Obasanjo, from that time till this moment I write;; twenty one years have strolled past and if I am being candid, I would ascertain the claim that little or nothing has been done, but that is not on the menu for today. The matter on ground that needs flogging is COVID-19 Pandemic in relationship to our Government.

I remain adamant that if prompt reaction had been made by the Government the spread of the virus would not have hit a milestone. For one, airports were shut down way too late and not only that, preventive measures were not taken by the Ministry of Health; returnees should have been quarantined. Upon realization that lockdown was the next best route to take, it was imposed on citizens. Now I must say the government needs to be applauded for coming up with such initiative, only that I wonder why we suddenly turned out to be the proverbial farmer who goes to farm without his tools.

Nigeria is a country where most citizens live from hand to mouth, it'd only be a suicide mission if they decide to sit at home, at such our loving government promised to make provisions, but I still itch for answers as ti why the promised made were not fulfilled. Considering how much came in through donations I see no reason why the dreaded one million boys robbery gang would attack, or why Lagosians would flaunt the law.

When PMB addressed the Nation he made mention of the magnitude at which the Virus was sweeping through the country and the danger going back to associating poses, but he ambiguously made mention of how relief funds and provisions was going to be shared. His speech was in direct contrast to the Gettysburg address; instead of pacifying people, it generated disdain towards his approach on welfare.

This quarantine has helped Nigerians discover so much about their career, relationship, spirituality, and Government. The efficiency and sympathy of the Government has now been exhibited and I must say that we Nigerians are really touched by it's sincerity.

25
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hyrret
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Although I cannot find back what you exactly are thinking of I think this one fits great. A memory of the lessons counts and I really hope the lockdown brought something good and will people start thinking about tomorrow too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Basically all I'm writing about is how the Government is shying out on it's responsibility by abandoning the welfare of it's citizens. I also do hope that people think more of tomorrow..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am afraid most governments do not really care about the people only about themselves. I wish that could be changed but it feels as if worldwide we all gave up on us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, that is where personal development comes into play. Unless we choose to develop ourselves, the country would not grow..cos we, not just the government is the country..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We will come at a point we have to choose and accept everything the way it is or fight/work for something better. Your country has - from what I understand - very smart and intelligent people. It should help a lot. It's time to wake up before it's too late.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah..we done sleeping...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Leader is a person who leads group or any family. Your writing style is very different from other. I salute this writer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate you so much..although I'd have loved if you hit the like button...😹

$ 0.00
3 years ago