The First Day I Played Chess..

0 9
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

I just got employed by someone from my local Church. He owned a training facility which housed tutors on karate, dancing, phonics, and chess. I was to be the Secretary of the organization..but everyday I went to his house for a meeting or something, my attention got drawn to the Chess board. I would have picked it up one of those fays but I got this feeling not to, I should have followed it.

It was a rainy day. One of the tutors was not having a class till later in the day so I engaged him in a Chess battle. After that battle, I was left with a strong motivation to better myself in Chess.

I was battered, bruised and left with no chance of survival. I didn't get the opportunity to take out one of his pawns, talk less checkmating. I felt super abused that day, but being the kinda person that I was I looked for the positive from it; never give up, rather get more qualified.

This was how my journey unto acquisition of Chess skills started. I hadn't been acquainted with the names of the officers, so little by little I got acquainted and before I knew it; I was taking out pawns!! Glory!!! This was a major victory for me, but I did not rest. I was on a revenge mission.

Days past and I kept in getting better, until thus particular day. I was to face my oppressor again. I think we were having a mini competition that day (Funny enough, the person who had beaten me like a weak child was a newbie just like me) so I was paired to play Chubby (that was not his name, but I think he needs one). It started like the normal routine, he was taken out most of my officers, until I took out his Queen! There's this thing that Pride gives you; it's called overconfidence. Suddenly you feel like nothing can touch you; that was how he felt. With that done, everybody abandoned their game to come watch ours. This was something they never imagined; Terry was about beating Chubby to a Chess game? No, that cannot be. Being that his Queen was out, he became disoriented and confused. Now he had everything to lose, I on the other hand was jumping in my soul, but I kept a stealth posture. After taking out his Queen, his Knight's were next, then one if his Bishop's, and before he knew it..

My Queen was standing over his King; the way Semi played by Arsenio Hall stood over the Thief acted by Samuel Jackson in Coming to America.

My joy knew no bound. My victory was loudly celebrated (I went on to defeating him with a 2-1 scoreline) for a week. Chubby was taunted for his defeat to the point that I started feeling sorry for him, but I knew better, so instead I got my self prepared ahead a rematch.

The rematch did come, and this tie, it was between two evenly matched foes. It was a one off game; winer takes all the glory. At exactly 6 minutes 32 seconds after starting, my praise was loudly proclaimed; I was the new King in the Learners' Category.

With this new found victory came the need to grow, but I am still growing cos' Chess is one game you never stop being good at, you only get better.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hyrret
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

Comments