A Day To Remember..

3 29
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

Memories are what keeps tomorrow going, cos they help us see reasons why we need to act smarter today than we did yesterday. They also set our paths unto recognition with ideas that are meant for success' delivery.

This is why I would hardly forget the day my ex girlfriend said YES to my proposal. It was the 29th of November, hours after her 18th birthday. Prior to that day we had been dating for 8 months. By dating I mean seeing how compatible we are while staying as friends who had an eye for a relationship. The reason why we lasted 8 months was because I asked her out in March and she said only till she clocks 18 would she have a lover. Then she asked one of the most challenging questions I have ever been asked; would you wait? For all I cared, this was a medium to gain some respect, so I said yes, I'd wait. Unknown to me, what awaited me was something that would have a lasting effect on my life.

While dating we were buddies and talked about almost everything. Nothing bypassed us and before we knew it; we were in love. Despite her not saying YES, we were professing to each other how much we loved each other, but one thing still was missing; she hadn't acknowledged me as her boyfriend. I grew more impatient as time flew by. For all I cared, we could be dating now, but now that I deliberate over this I come to realize that this was one of the lessons memory of that time would teach me.

Perseverance: If not for her courage and a desire to be dogged and focused on her dream of having a lover until she clocked 18, I wouldn't be writing about her today. She made me see that with focus, patience, and courage no task is impossible.

Laughter: While dating, one thing that didn't leave our lips was laughter. We always found a reason to laugh, cos we were happy being with each other. Her voice was always a reason to be happy so even when I was downcast, all I needed to do was call her.

Women are Strong: This was exhibited by her over and over again. She took magazines of bullets from people for my sake even without us dating. Love they say is powerful, but women? They are more powerful.

Every time the 29th of November graces me, I smile cos I know that was the day an Angel made me feel more special than a human being could ever feel!

5
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hyrret
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hyrret
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

It's such amazing memory. So good to see you talk about your ex in a positive way, not in hatred, jealousy or self pity.

Great write up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, a very amazing memory for me.. I've come to be a better person all thanks to her. So I owe her my gratitude everyday..

$ 0.00
3 years ago