Beautiful Mind; Be Kind

15 34
Avatar for HyeRin
Written by
2 years ago

While I am here at the dining table, using the laptop. I heard muffled talking at the front door. Then here comes a man, wearing dirtied clothes and no foot wear.

He asked, “Is there coffee, teacher?”.

“Yes, there is. And I am not the teacher here though, mom is.” I said. He didn’t mind. Hahaha.

He just comes in the house if he wants to eat or have coffee. Sometimes even when I ask him to have a meal, he just wants coffee.

He’s one of our town’s demented person. He’s not violent, and not aggressive. His clothes are dirty but he does not smell that bad. We have in our little town a hot spring for women and men, and I bet he goes there once in a while to take a bath. Only his clothes never changed. He’s a drifter just walking around the town, sometimes stops to pull weeds from the pathway, then talks to himself. Other times, kids asks him about math, multiplication and all, and he can answer them all. I haven’t experienced yet, but sometimes when he’s not in the mood, he gets angry when they make fun of him, but all in all, he’s just mild, in my opinion. Hehe. I talk to him sometimes, asking if he wants to have another cup of coffee, or another set of meals, he uses sign language some times, just waves his hand then shook his head for his decline of answer.

I remember there also is a woman eaten by life’s joke, she also comes here at the house sometimes. Sadly, she died. But if that means that she rested in peace, I am happy for her.

I likewise had an encounter with one demented person at the city when we were still young, when I was still a university student. We were just chilling at our favorite spot at a nearby kiosk/ waiting shed along the main road on a fair night, watching the cars and public utility jitneys pass by. The only light that’s illuminating the kiosk is the streetlight beside the road. We were eating a pack of biscuit and having a bottled drink. I am looking at my phone at the moment when one crazy person came to us, she’s waving her hands at me and all I thought was that she’s asking for food. So I offered my pack of cookies and the drink, but I was welcomed by an almost smack in the face. Hahaha.

I was curious as to why she did that, then she said we give her cigarettes. I don’t have one, my friend also doesn’t smoke. Then an idea came to mind that maybe the light from my phone was mistaken as a cigar light. But hey, the color is blue, though. After that, we just ran away from her. I really didn't need a smack in the face that time. Hahaha.

I also see some demented people around the city when I was still there. Some sleeps at the side walks, some just walks around while carrying their bag of junk. Some silent and some violent.

What could be running in their minds now that they’ve gone stray? Can they still have lucid moments once in a while?

It’s very heart wrenching to see them suffer. Mental conditions affects a person’s thinking, feeling mood or behaviour. And such needs a more proper and patient approach to them. We need to show our care for them. And not be judgmental of their thoughts and actions. We need to listen and not disregard what they are feeling or challenge their ideals for that matter because it will only trigger them.

Such a very sensitive issue so I’m just going light with the topic.

Us around them need to be more considerate and mindful about what judgment we serve them. They are still human beings, after all.

Back to Mr V., oh, his name is Varasiw, by the way. Hehehe. Yesterday I made him coffee but he didn’t drink it all. He left the cup half full and I felt rejected at that moment. Yes, I can freely feel that kind of emotion anywhere, any moment, and from any one. I thought maybe he doesn’t like the taste of the coffee I made since I just mixed coffee granules, coffee creamer and sugar. Is it because the coffee is bland? Or is it bitter? Or just not yummy to his taste? I asked why he just left his cup but he just walked past me, hand waving at me again.

So awhile ago I made him one out of instant coffee mix, then put a scoop of milk and a little sugar to it. Voila! He’s sipping it more happily. ( Yeah, I think he’s happy and contented with the taste of it. Hahaha.) Oh, we don’t have bread at the time so I just opened him a pack of crackers then gave it to him. I know that if I offered two, he will only just get one. So there goes it. Be expecting him again tomorrow or the next day.+_+

Oh, by the way, a while ago, my mother is sleeping on the couch, then our only chick went to her then stayed beside her. My mother tried to shoo the chick away but it only comes back to the spot near my mother. I didn’t know they also can be so spoiled. What could be in their mind, yeah? Or are they just moving with their instinct? Hahaha.

Here’s my afternoon thoughts! While chilling here on the countryside!+_+

Mind your manners to the ones who lost their minds. Be kind.+_+

4
$ 1.02
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
Avatar for HyeRin
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

there are a lot of reasons why people get this way.. problems, loneliness, stress, anxieties, addiction.. we can show kindness.. but there are some who are violent, and stalker, and just scary and etc...

i have this friend, who is successful in life married with one son.. got addicted on drugs, did not know how to handle addiction then led to insanity.. people in our community got scared.. wife left him with their son.. eventually nasiraan sya lalo sa ulo.. naghuhubad sa kalye, sinusundan mga babae.. nanakot.. nakatambay sa harap bahay nyo..etc.. then ayun naparehab sya. madaming taon din ang lumipas nug bumalik sya.. umayos naman.. ng ilang years pero bumalik ult ata yung takot ng mga tao sa kanya but this time milder.. then pinabayaan na sya ng magulang.. kapatid.. etc.. do not know where he is now.. i hope nasa mabuti syang lugar...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i stay alert when there are violent ones, and i don't look them in the eyes. hehe. they might think i am scrutinizing or making fun of them.

aw that friend, i hope he's still doing ok, i mean, yun nga nasa mabuti syang kalagayan, though ganun na sya now. minsan the families din eh nahihirapan and they need na to let go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ok lang naman na i let go sana.. but iniwan sya literally.. magisa dun sa bahay.. so kaya siguro bumalik yung ano nya sa ulo. and nangyari,, community na nagpatawag sa baranggay at dswd ata para kung san sya pwede madala...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay, yun ang bad, yang pag iwan sa kanya. sad truth. na minsan ung family pa tlga ung aayaw sau.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i message her younger sister na maganda na buhay sa ibang bansa.. seen lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayan na yung sinasabi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

matagal na tong kwento na to.. and yang sister na yan is a childhood sweetheart hahahah.. past is past..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad no? :( Grabe tlga effect ng drugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes super sad... ganda na ng buhay mo . biglang sisirain lang ng drugs na yan.. kaya dapat talaga mga nagbebenta nyan at gumgawa .. inaano e .. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiwan pa ng pamilya oh. Haha

Hay ang hirap din naman mag trace niyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can they still have lucid moments once in a while?

--- yes we do have lucid intervals.. lols. Joke. Funny i was thinking of that just a week ago. "Lucid interval" some things that get stuck in your head during psych101.

You have a good way of treating them, though. It is easier to get scared of them. I have known none who were not violent. The last time we had an encounter with one, my brother already college then, was scared to wits. But that's because the person was being aggressive and a little obsessive. So it was scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, what you do? that was my initial reaction. hahaha.

yes, he's really not aggressive. he's just that way. but if I am to encounter one that's aggressive, i might have panic attacks. hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And super mixed emotions because you will defend yourself if needed... But at the same time you know the other person do not understand anything at all... Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, that's true. i might run away as fast as i can if he or she runs amok. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago