"What I thought university life was" VS "What it is actually"

4 19
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

University to me while growing up seem like a place of freedom, a place where you get to enjoy life the way you want, a place where you get to make so many friends and mingle with them as much as you want to. I guess because of the way I see it shown on TV especially in those Nollywood movies😂. It always look as if the students were enjoying life so much and they were not even witnessing any form of hardship even if it's "preparing for an exam" , so funny.😂

As I was growing up, I usually dream of how my life would be in the university, how u would enjoy myself and everything would keep coming on a platter of gold. I would also dream of how I will walk into the lecture room majestically and sit anywhere I want to without having to rush anything but I guess the all that was just a dream and it's ends in being just a dream.😂

I once had these aunties back then in my basic classes that also made me believe that university life is a very easy life because of their approach to it. They would come back home after a session or semester break looking all good with so many nice and new dresses and it will look to me like the clothes were been shared freely in their school. They would also start gisting about the things that happened in their school and how much fun it was, they would also say they don't even want to come home again because university life is so interesting.

I anticipated entering into the university for so long even when I just gained admission into high school. I would always tell my sister that I can't wait to enter the university so I can get to see how much interesting university life can be.

I also remember having one corper back in those high school days teaching us English language, she would tell us that she preferred high school life to university life because in high school, you have no worries, all you do is rely on your parents for everything and they will provide, she also said you get to make more genuine friends also things are less stressful but university life is quite different from that because you get so stressed out with every single activities on campus, you've got a lot of worries like what to eat, what to wear, what to buy etcetera.. also you get to cope with intimidation and alot more. Can you guess what everyone said to her? We all echoed "WE PREFER UNIVERSITY LIFE" She just shooked her head and said "WHEN WE GET THERE, WE WILL KNOW".

I can tell you now that everything she said was so true because it's like that's what I'm going through now, it's really eating me up. University life has not been so easy so far, I have to cope with a lot of things even intimidation from friends is not left out not even these days that majority of girls now date internet fraudsters and they will start using the latest iPhone. Maybe it would have been better if that's just it but no, they will always want you to join them, oh boy, it's not easy! One major thing I also battled with is being independent, it's then I know that staying on your own is not easy o; paying bills, buying foodstuffs and not being able to eat half of it without other students joining you😂. I also battled alot with stress, OMG! Stress almost took my life out that I became like a broom especially in my first year 😂. Also, to talk of doing assignments, finishing projects, attending lectures, impromptu tests, writing exams, making researches amongst others. It's a whole lot of thing!

I can now boldly tell you that university life is not really the way it seems, though you truly get to meet more people, you get to learn more about life and also get to build up yourself but trust me, if you are not mentally or emotionally balanced, I tell you that university life (especially public universities) is not for you. If you can't make your own decisions and stand by it, you will easily get swayed by the fancy lifestyles on campus.

I would also like to share the experience I had during my first day in the university and also some of the the other things that happened in the university with you but I guess I would do that subsequently in my other articles.

Note that this is just my opinion on the university life probably because of my experience. Was your own university life like the one you have always imagined or otherwise? you can share below in the comment section, I will love to hear it🤗. Thank you all for stopping by. I love you all❤️

All rights reserved honey_bch copyright 2022

Lead image source

Hello dear friends subscribe if you haven't, I will see you in my next post.

6
$ 1.14
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
$ 0.03 from @MichaelBCH
+ 1
Sponsors of Honey_bch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Comments

I'd still pick the university over secondary school though. University challenges you mentally...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well you are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being a university student is not easy and that true, like you've said being independent is one of the most concern of a student at that time but what I enjoyed the most in that time is the people the friwnds I met along the way .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes the friends we met is actually one of the best experience we have in school

$ 0.00
1 year ago