Social media can be deceiving, beware!

4 34
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

I was going through an IG post earlier when I came across someone who was said to have done a birthday cake for $50000, she is one of these popular Instagram influencer and brand ambassador. She posted her huge cake online and people were asking her how much she did it and she said she did it for approximately $50000, there were different forms of critics as to how someone will waste such an amount of money on just cake. It was later said by one of her fans who knew her very well that all she said were just lies and that she was only doing that for cruise and just to gain more followers.

Before that time, a whole lot of people have been saying this popular phrase "God when", this is a phrase so many youths in my country use anytime they see someone who has achieved something big, some where saying "God, am I your potato" or "I know I'm definitely a spoon", some will even go ahead to say "e con dey look like say nah only me wey no dey serious with my life" (this is a pidgin English which is interpreted as "it's now looking like I'm the only one who isn't serious with her life"). It's so disappointing when I hear people saying all this things to themselves all because of an online post?

Frankly speaking, how does people even reason? How can you even believe such a blatant lie in the first place? It's not as if you don't know what she does for a living, how on earth could she have gotten so much money that she will use such an amount for ordinary cake? There are so many things we see on social media these days which could be do misleading. There are some of these things we see online that could be true and there are some of it that could be false but either ways, we should always remember that "Rome wasn't built in a day".

We are always quick to envy people who are successful and we wish to be like them or that we start to see what we are doing as not being enough, we tend to not look at their journey to success and the rough roads they have passed through. People don't get noticed when they are still struggling, they only get recognized when they have made it in life and that is why social media only shows the rosy part if people's life. We should also realize that we can only know the part of people's life in which they want us to know, they can't possibly post all their sleepless nights, depressed period, crying times and even when they feel tired of life...

Behind the smiling faces you see on social media pages their are a whole lot more things that it's only their family members or close pals that can relate to. We have to learn to stop believing everything on social media, there are some of these posts that damages our mental health the more we see them and dwell on them, while some people truly want to pour out their mind on social media, all some people want to do is just to pull crowd and catch cruise, they don't mind if they lie or what their lie is capable of doing to people's mind.

Some of these people you look up to and beat yourself up all because of them are wishing they are in your position right now. Some of these celebrities are in serious financial crises because of their social media show off and because of the level they've placed themselves, they can't even ask their colleagues for help. So you see now that your own situation might even be better so start learning not to believe everything you see on social media anymore, if you feel like someone is truly doing well, let it be a form of motivation for you and don't give yourself unnecessary depression.


The bottom line is that instead of condemning yourself because of the achievements of others, why not be grateful for where you are and work towards achieving more. Social media life is different from real life!

PS; I've renewed all my sponsorships and I've seen one of my sponsors renewed my sponsorship too, thank you @Ellawrites I'm grateful 🙏

Copyright 2022. Honey_bch. All rights reserved.

Thank you for stopping by, I will see you in my next post and in yours. Love you❤️

5
$ 0.97
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Honey_bch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Comments

Social Media is another world on itself, it's a world full of showoffs and you one chooses to compare his or her life what what's happening there, then depression will definitely set in. The best thing to do is to pick those showoffs as motivation and strike to succeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really do get my point, instead of it leading to depression for you, it should be a good source of motivation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! This is beautiful dear, thanks alot for this... Truth is that the media life is completely different from real life.

Lol, but God am I a potato 😂 Honestly, I'd have also believed if I had seen the post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't even believe such, I guess I have trust issues

$ 0.00
1 year ago