Starting Again

15 72
Avatar for Hillary_Powers
2 years ago

Lead Image

With every door that closes in

Don't be afraid, to start again

The above are the words that begin the lyrics of Start Again, a song by Australian-New Zealand singer, Stan Walker. The song, which features another Australian singer, Samantha Jade, is also one of the soundtracks for the 2015 film, Born To Dance.

Born To Dance follows the story of Tu, a young hip-hop dancer living in New Zealand. Tu hopes to win the national dance championship but his father is not supportive of his dance career. Rather, he wants his son to be enlisted in the army. However, this does not stop Tu as he forms 2PK, a dance crew with his friends. The crew prepares for the national championship, and meets after work daily to practice and perfect their new dance moves. In one of their rehearsals, Tu is recorded making awesome dance moves and the video goes viral on YouTube.

Soon, Tu's video is noticed by K-Crew, the country's top hip-hop dance crew. K-Crew invites amateur dancers for an audition for new members and Tu secretly goes for it without telling his own crew members. Tu becomes friends with Sasha, one of K-Crew's dancers and girlfriend of the crew leader. The two of them begin to develop feelings for each other.

After days of training hard, none of the amateur dancers is selected to join the influential crew. It is revealed that the crew only invited them so as to steal their moves. Tu is devastated because it is only a few more days before the championship starts. He goes back home sad, thinking about giving up. At home, he is able to confront his dad, telling him about his love for dancing and how he is not interested in the army. His father comes to reason with him and allows him to pursue his dream of dancing.

Tu also reconciles with his former crew, 2PK and they get back to training ahead of the championship which will soon start. As the championship begins, K-Crew's leader, Kane, uses his influence to almost rule out 2PK from the competition. However, Tu finds a way around it by forming a new crew right in the middle of the competition. Sasha, who has come to discover Kane's malicious actions against Tu and his rookie crew, breaks up with him, and explains her innocence in the whole matter to Tu. The new crew still consists of him and his fellow teammates from 2PK, and just one new member, Sasha. Delighting the audience with their incredible moves, Tu's new crew makes it to the final and defeats K-Crew to win the national championship. At last, Tu's dream comes true.


You might be wondering why I had to go through the trouble of narrating the whole movie now. Well, it is to take a cue from Tu's story. Sometimes, we go through a rough patch in our lives. And whilst in the middle of it, we mull over the idea of giving up. It always seems like the best thing to do. I, for one, have been thinking about calling it quits with blogging ever since the former platform I dedicated my whole time and money abruptly closed down. It took me quite a lot of convincing from people like @princessbusayo to start blogging again.

When I finally started blogging again, my account here got marked as spam here within two weeks. The bot stopped visiting my posts which have somehow become invisible. I did my best to find out the reason, seeing that I did nothing wrong, at least not in my own knowledge. And when I couldn't find a reason nor a way to rectify the issue, I began to think that my blogging life was coming to an end. I seriously wanted to give up again. The thought of starting all over again felt scary and hopeless. But when I woke up this morning, the first thing that resonated in my head was Stan Walker's song, Start Again. I had to play the song and put it on loop for about 20 minutes. As if it wasn't enough, I checked my WhatsApp and one of my friends posted the words, START AGAIN, on his status. That was when I knew that the universe was talking to me. I had to start again. My former account might be lost forever, and so might be the time and energy I exerted trying to build it up but that won't stop me from trying again.

After all, a wise Mary Pickford once said, and I quote: "This thing we call failure is not the falling down, but the staying down.."

8
$ 2.77
$ 1.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.65 from @HillaryPowers
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Hillary_Powers
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hillary_Powers
2 years ago

Comments

your writeup gave me some motivation for my startup too. I am here for a new start as all we are here , just went through the same situation and now , motivating myself from you people.. best of luck

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice to know that I'm not alone. Haha. Let's keep the fight alive, comrade. We will win!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha love to called as Comrade..we will win with our efforts mate...thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see the bot for this post as we speak.... I am happy you got back on your feet again..... Kudos to that song 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that I did too. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm wow! I feel inspired by this, what a story to drive the message in.

I think I've seen that movie but I wish to see it again.

Nice one from you though, keep it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, my Mentor. Seems your account is going through the same thing now. I didn't get notified of your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your name is familiar.. aja fighting for your new account!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I've actually been around for a couple week before my account developed the issue. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makes me want to watch the movie :) Listening to the song and I like the clarity of Samantha's voice and she's pretty! I like songs like this.

I'm glad that you have found the inspiration to write again. Keep writing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's a great song. Thank you for finding me here, ARTicLEE

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At that point when It seemed life has become stagnant and nothing works again, go back to the drawing board may seem to be the only antidote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And most of the time, it has been found to be a really effective antidote. Thank you, bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very inspiring words. It's a good reminder to everyone, myself included, when we reach that point of wanting to just throw in the towel. We just have to get back up, and start over.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said, brother. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago