Busy day - A trip down memory lane

6 24
Avatar for Hillary_Powers
2 years ago

Lead Image

First off, have you also noticed that we seem to have shorter days now? I'm not talking about the weather concept of shorter days, longer nights here. I mean, the day is now literally shorter than it used to be. It's almost as if someone or something has reduced the usual 24 hours to maybe 22. Hahaha

But seriously I think that the days do go by insanely faster than normal these days. It is either a day is no longer up to 24 hours or an hour is no longer made up of 60 minutes or a minute is now less than 60 seconds. It just has to be one of these. Lol 😂


So, it happened that today went by so quickly for me as I tried to sort out some stuff offline. As a result, I couldn't come up with a short story like I had planned. Instead, I'll just share with you one of my childhood memories.

Memories, they say, show up so quick but leave one far too soon. In the two decades I've been living, there have been assorted events and situations I've found myself in and these, whether bad or good, have made living worthwhile. These events and situations have also become memories, some of which I can proudly recount, and some I do not wish to remember, let alone talk about. But today, it's one of the good ones I'll be sharing with you.

It was in the year 2005. Mom had been heavily pregnant, and though I was still a kid, a little below the age of ten and didn't fully understand the concept of pregnancy and childbirth, I knew quite well that mom wasn't normal. There were obvious changes all over her, physically, emotionally and psychologically.

Towards the end of the year, on a fateful morning on the 17th of October, I woke up only to learn that my mom was missing. Dad was also missing but I didn't find his absence worrisome since he was a cop and actually leave for work any hour of the day. Where could mom have gone?

About three hours later, dad came home, looking frustrated and sullen. His eyes were red and he didn't seem to be wanting to talk too much but as an inquisitive child that I've always been, I asked him about mom anyway. It was from his explanation which was cut short by his sudden outburst of tears that made me learn that mom was due for childbirth and had been taken to the hospital very early in the morning by dad. It was the first time I was seeing dad so distraught. He made food for my siblings and me before leaving for the hospital again.

At the time, I really didn't understand what was happening and no amount of explanation from Dad could have made me realize that my dad was only saddened by the news that his wife, my mom, couldn't give birth normally due to a wrong positioning of the baby in her womb and that the Caesaren section was the only way to go. I also didn't know that Dad was greatly worried because he had no money to foot hospital bills at that time.

Well, all I knew and remember quite clearly now is that in the evening of that same day, dad returned looking cheerfully bright. In fact, he was almost dancing as he entered into the house. It was then he broke the news that my mom had given birth to a male child all by herself after being abandoned in the theatre room by the nurse and doctor who were waiting for Dad to come with the money and consent that the C-section be performed on her. It was a day of great news and jubilation in my family. The doctor had reported earlier that there was no way in the world that mom could be delivered of the child due to wrong positioning of the infant in her womb except C-section but mom who had given birth normally to all her first two children didn't lose hope and God came to her assistance. To cut the long story short, that same day, dad declared that the baby would be named Miracle.


Hehe.. Thank you for taking this trip down memory town with me.

7
$ 0.24
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of Hillary_Powers
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hillary_Powers
2 years ago

Comments

This is so similar to mine too. I was in Primary School then when we didn't see our mom at home. I noticed her tummy was big but do not understand. My Dad came home that day. There was a bag in the house then and when I checked it, I saw clothes and other things. After returning back from school, I didn't see the bag and my mom. I asked my Dad where my mom was and he told me to get ready with my siblings because we are going somewhere. He took us to our church and I saw my mom with a baby. That was when I had a baby 😁😁

We all were born in a white garment church

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. Those were the days... 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a proper name for indeed it was a miracle for her to be able to deliver on her own. It's amazing how moms can be given in a situation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's indeed amazing. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a worthy read. Many miracles we have heard but this is one of a kind. Our mothers do go through a lot though. Good job. A good read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it was a thing of marvel in my family that year. Thanks for stopping by, bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago