Let's learn some slang and a little bit of everything about Australia!

24 61
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago
Topics: Slang, Literature

Australia is one of my dream countries because it is one of the most interesting and culturally diverse countries in the world.

"The Land Down Under" is just below the Philippines. It may be topographically larger than the Philippines but it has lesser people because most of its land is a bush where wild animals thrive.

Did you know that its first settlers are called the Aborigines? They are the indigenous tribe in Australia. They are being protected and preserved by the government. My father-in-law said that these people go to the malls and could just take whatever they want for free. Wow, I wish I were an Aborigine.

Australians are one of the nicest people in the world. They value work-life balance and they know their rights.

If you wanna know more about Australia, especially its humble beginnings, I suggest that you listen to one of my favorite songs, "I am Australian". I still get teary-eyed whenever I hear this music. Here is the song:

Before we start with our lesson, most Aussies would say "G'day mate!" as a greeting. It just simply means "good day" and the mate means "friend". Oh, the lesson has already started.

Alrighty fellas, here are some Aussie slang. You'd definitely laugh at some point:

Shiela- a term used for a girl

Example: She is a beautiful Shiela.

Lad- a young man or a boy

Example: What a great lad he is.

Maccas or Mackers- McDonald's

Example: Would you like to go to Mackers for a brekky?

Brekky- the first meal of the day or breakfast

Example: What did you have for brekky?

Arvo- means afternoon

Example: Good arvo mate, we are going out today.

Barbie- short for barbeque

Example: Are you joining us for a barbie this arvo?

Chook- chicken

Croc- crocodile

Crook- sick

Sunnies- eyeglasses

Thongs- slippers/sandals

Bathers- swimsuit

Thunderbox/loo- comfort room

I guess these examples are easy to remember and there's no need to show how they are being used in a sentence.

And before we go on to the next part- did you know that the northwestern tip of Tasmania on the Cape Grim Peninsula has the cleanest air in the world? It makes Australia more interesting. You can check it further here.

If you want to imitate their accent so you'd be like a true blue Aussie, there will always be an 'r' after the words that are pronounced with Os and As at the end, like:

Hellor (Hello), Anner (Anna)! How are you?

Tanyer (Tanya), you are freaking me out.

I knowr(know) right.

And here are some idioms that are commonly used in Ozzy as well as their meanings:

Good on ya- it means congratulations or when someone is happy with what you did

Example: You got a baby girl? Good on ya mate.

Not impressed-it is an expression of disappointment

Example: You're late, I am not impressed mate, I am not impressed.

Bit of a hiccup- had a challenge or something went wrong

Example: G'day mate. The barbie's not gonna happen today, I got a bit of a hiccup at home.

Fair dinkum- good or excellent

Example: He deserved the award, fair dinkum.

Woop woop- somewhere far, or remote, or in the middle of nowhere

Example: My love life is a woop woop and I am totally lost.

Should you wish to learn more about Aussie slang and idioms, check this link.

Just some additional trivia:

Australia's national anthem is "God save the Queen".

The Sydney Opera House was inspired by the animal cockatoo.

Their wild dogs are called dingos.

There are more kangaroos than people in Australia. (And I was shocked that Aussies eat kangaroos when I watched Masterchef Australia)

Wrapping Up

Australia is definitely one of a kind. Its unique and interesting terms and idioms are proof that they are rich in history and literature.

I do hope that I could go to Australia one day and if that happens, the first spot that I would visit is Uluru.

Was this article helpful? I hope that you have learned some Aussie slang and you can use them when you talk to an Aussie friend or customer.

And please let me know down in the comments if you have been to Australia or if you have an Aussie term that you want to share🤗


And if you'd like what you've read, please subscribe to my profile so you will be notified whenever I have new publications.

The lead image was from Unsplash.com


Author's Note: All rights reserved for this noob witch. This is published for entertainment purposes only and all references have been duly cited.

Balik-balik sad ;)

9
$ 0.62
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 2
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago
Topics: Slang, Literature

Comments

I like the game of Austria more when I watch cricket. And the players are very good. I like this country. I know more details now. And every country has a nation of music that is really fascinating to listen to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the comment, my friend. I did forget about the cricket, the vegemite and the jaffas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, nice one! I'm impressed :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po. I am flattered :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome :) Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a different pronunciation when it comes to English. Same in the singapore, my employer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is true, depending on the country or location.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a differ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article gives me knowledge about Australian, thank you for sharing it will help me when I go to Australia in the future hihi😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you learned something :) And I do hope that you could visit it one day like me, I dream of going there too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Po, who knows we'll meet there hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true! Let's pray for it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, yes, yes, hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article of yours have triggered the interest of mine towards Austrelia after a long time, it seems there are lots of things to see, to enjoy, to learn. I am learning about the freedom of that particular tribe for the first time😅 I wish if I were them then it would be more better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad I awakened your curiosity my friend :) Australia is unique :) And yup, the Aborigines' history, culture, and traditions are definitely interesting :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!!! True Austrelia has more interesting and amazing things than we thinks. It would be really great for me If I get any chance to go there along with those who desperately wants to go Austrelia even for once. Have a great day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a great day too! Thanks for reading my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pronunciation is different than other English speaking country. Seems funny to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree. Aside from the Scottish slangs, Aussie slangs are funny as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like Australia, it has unique and interesting terms and idioms. I'm hoping to go to Australia one day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish we could see each other there one day, my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes✌️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be awesome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago