6 life lessons that I've learned from the streets

6 91
Avatar for HermaniGinger
1 year ago

Aloha from the Philippines! Just so glad that one of my prayers came true when the cloud started to pour its precious rain. I've been waiting for this to happen because it's really so freaking hot.

How is everyone going? I hope that you're all pumped up for this month and the mothers are all excited for Mothers' Day. Do you have any plans to celebrate it? What are you going to do?

Anyways, I have already stated before that I grew up in a broken family- I ate and slept in my neighbors' houses. I didn't want to live with my relatives because I didn't have the freedom to do what I want. I felt like my neck was being strangled whenever I stay too long in a relative's house. I enjoyed being outside with my friends and I was even told that I am not behaving as a girl should.

Yes, I lived on the streets and learned about the walks of life of different people I've met. Some were pleasant, some were not and I've learned that:

Your bed will be as good as your social status

License-free image from Unsplash.com

What do I mean by this? If I am the daughter of someone rich or famous, my bed will be comfortable, clean, and cozy but since I am a daughter of a poor couple, I have to be content sleeping on a flat, hot bed. Am I being ungrateful? No.

It happened when I watched TV in one of my relatives' houses and my uncle learned that no one was in the house. My mama was in Manila and papa was nowhere to be found so my uncle decided to let me stay for the night. I really didn't want to because I wasn't comfortable but since they are the elders I had to give in to their wishes.

I couldn't properly sleep because it was too hot and there were mosquitoes biting me. I kept on checking if it was morning already so I could go home.

If I was another relative's wealthy child, my situation would have been different.

You don't have to prove how strong you are by going into your enemy's territory

License-free image from Unsplash.com

I have seen fights on the streets where people try to kill each other by either kicking each other or using a knife. I learned that you don't have to prove you are strong by going into your enemy's territory- it is an ambush! Especially if you're gonna do it alone.

If you don't have a lot of back-ups or if you don't know the place- you will be defeated no matter how invincible you think you are.

Be wise, be smart. You don't have to die to prove your strength. Some things are more worth your time, your strength, and your attention. Choose your battles wisely. You don't have to win all the time.

Rich people talk about millions while the poor people talk about what food to eat and how to get it

License-free image from Unsplash.com

When I was with my grandpa's relatives in Bulacan, they kept on talking about businesses and millions, debts, etc. My grandma would smirk from time to time because it was supposed to be a vacation, not a business trip. And I remember my childhood friends when I was still in Iligan. They would talk about their food and where to get it and then we would go to the sea, especially when it was low tide to catch crabs, fish, get seaweeds, anything eatable so we won't famish.

There's pride and conceit when it comes to talking about the grandeur of some things and there's humility and desperation when it comes to the needs of our bodies.

Some wealthy people couldn't sleep at night despite living in a mansion while the poor people peacefully sleep in their shanty dwelling

Because when wealthy people meet, they usually talk about their careers, their wealth, what's in and what's not and how they can beat their competition by being vainer, more beautiful so they stay late at night thinking about a lot of stuff. While the poor people could only think about what to eat or where to borrow money for tomorrow's needs. And since their resources are limited, they ran out of ideas their only option was to sleep.

I am not against being rich nor I am okay with remaining poor. We all need to strive in life to aim for that comfortable life we so deserve.

Most truly wealthy people are humble, kind, and generous while those who are not truly rich are not

License-free image from Unsplash.com

They call it "matapobre" or someone who looks down- I've met several people who are "matapobre". I am not judging them. Perhaps they've been through a lot in life and worked so hard to get that status they are in and they are being threatened by someone so they are acting that way.

But those who are really wealthy people are humble, kind, and generous. They know that their parents did everything to give them a great life and they were taught to give back so they could change others' lives as well. In short, they are paying it forward.

I learned to treat people equally- rich and poor and I have a huge admiration for those who are working to serve the majority- aside from the health workers, the utility workers- from the restaurant staff to the garbage collectors.

There's no peace in the glitz and glamour of the city but there is peace in the sound of the waves living by the sea

License-free image from Unsplash.com

When you are in the city, everything is noisy and chaotic. There's fun, lots of fun but there's no inner peace most of the time. You'd drink and go club-hopping to find that "happiness" and you'd go home drunk until you forget about all your problems and worries.

But there's a different kind of peace living by the sea, waking up to the sound of the waves. There's a deeper kind of happiness and contentment in living a simple life by the beach and by watching the sunset and sunrise. You can get lost while being in the deep waters, in peace and serenity while the waters touch your body. It's just pure bliss.

Wrapping Up

For me, the best teacher is the experiences I get from meeting different people from different walks of life. There's so much to them that books alone, cannot teach. I do not discourage reading books, in fact, I encourage them. So friends:

  • If you have a visitor, whether she or he is rich or poor- make them sleep comfortably. Imagine how you'd like to be treated if you are a visitor. Ask them what their needs are so they could be at ease.

  • You don't have to prove yourself to everyone, they don't deserve your explanation especially when you are doing the right thing.

  • Be humble no matter what your social status is and make it a mission to help other people. Be kind and generous.

  • And no matter where you live if your heart is full of hatred, jealousy, conceit, you will never be able to sleep peacefully.

Once your eyes are opened to the realities of life, you will realize that you have a choice in what kind of life you'd want to live. You have to be smart with dealing with people. You have to respect and treat them all equally because you'll never know who you will meet at the top or the bottom. The world is round, things could change drastically, you'll be surprised about how mystical life is.

_________________________________________________

By the way, I wanna thank my newest sponsor, a dear friend @LeticiaFelize I appreciate your support and I will do my best to pay it forward, dear.

And to all my sponsors and subscribers- THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

_________________________________________________

This is all for today, my friends. I hope I was able to share something positive with you.

Please be careful and never forget the health protocols.

Authors' note: What I stated below were just my takeaways in real-life and I never intend to demean or hurt anyone.

The content is original and mine. All images from Unsplash.com

May 3, 2022

©HermaniGinger

7
$ 0.51
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
1 year ago

Comments

Another great reminder to us all. We are all equal. Choose your battles wisely. It's not all about the money. Let kindness win.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true po, let us be kind to all types of people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dakong deperensya jud ang datu sa pobre sis nho. Kita makatulog mn ta ug hapsay bsta wa lng prblma pero ang datu ky mabilar pa sig pangeta ug paagi para samut pag kadatu. Sana all hehehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha sana all jud sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are not the only person who grew up in a poor family, and you had bed to sleep on too some of us never had bed but we either slept on the floor or on a bench, and there was this sense of excited we have that sometimes I just wish to be like that just have enough money for food and clothing and health, but these are sure life lessons learned and it think the last one whether you are from the street or rich you will enjoy it too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As long as those people rich or poor accept me warmly into their homes, then I will be happy my friend :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago