Urban / Rural (My Experience]

8 23
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Everyday that I get to write again is always another wonderful one, as I'm someone who gets busy a lot and sidetracked. Getting the time to just simply write can be quite relaxing. for me.

Yesterday I did the this or that challenge where I had to pick between choices of one food or another. It's probably one of my favorite posts so far, you can tell I really love food.

Today is the start of another new week, I was out with my cousin today and when we got back home we were treated to a delicious dinner of Amala and egusi soup (this is a quite popular Nigerian dish). This pattern is actually quite frequent that it got me thinking how much of a difference there is in the Urban areas compared to the rural ones.

The definition of urban and rural might be a little bit different depending on the level of development in a country. For instance I don't expect the same level of development I'll find in a place termed rural in the United States of America versus the same in Nigeria. So the term is relative to my area, but you can still get my point.

In terms of food, when I was still in Lagos we eat a lot of grains like rice and quite a lot of junks. Also the very nature of Lagos has made most of this fast food quite popular as you're always in a rush trying to beat traffic and all of that. But compared to a rural setting like my hometown there's a lot of vegetable in most of what we eat. Even when we eat rice and stew, vegetable is always available for those who would love to add to their food. In a way I'd say I've been eating healthier since I got here compared to when I was in the city.

Apart from food, another important difference is in the landscape setting itself which is probably the major difference between them both. Although some might argue that we have a lot of nice buildings, beautiful places and quite a lot of exposure, but there's quite a high population of people in Lagos. Here the Population is a lot reduced and I breath in fresh air alot.

You wouldn't notice how bad the air is in the cities until you breath the fresh air of the rural areas. Another advantage is in the natural habitat surrounding you, personally I'm not big on taking pictures but I've had to change my mindset and I'm always discovering different beautiful spots in nature that are just too good to pass up.

I still love my life in the city and I'm actually missing the lifestyle already. But I only wanted to point out some of the things in enjoying about my hometown right now which you can hardly find when you're in the city.

Thanks for taking your time to stop by.

4
$ 1.89
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DocLayla
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
+ 1
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

I live in city for job purpose. But i like to be in rural area to get fresh air.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, the city has more job opportunities but the rural areas look a lot like a better change sometimes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life in the city is filled with toxicity, from the air we breathe to the land tread on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the population that's causing it, there are so many people in the cities that it gets a lot more congested

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love the rural rather than the urban. When I was a kid up until I finished Junior High School, I lived on NCR (the capital of PH) and I can't deny that it is polluted. But here in province, the wind is fresh and not polluted compared to the city. That is just from my own experience hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😁😁 I understand what you mean

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The thing I love most about village life is it's simplicity. I love and want to live a very simple life for the rest of my life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true, I've noticed I sleep longer hours now because of lesser noise.. And sleep is bliss😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago