Tolerance

2 32
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
2 years ago

Tolerance

I remember sometime ago i and my cousin had a disagreement and it almost got into a shouting match. We were both visiting an uncle we respected alot so luckily it didn't escalate further.

But for a few days after that disagreement, we avoided each other as much as we could. What made this funny was that we slept in the same room, prayed together in the same mosque but we didn't talk to each other.

Of course my uncle noticed, actually he was around when we had the disagreement but he didn't interfere. I believe he was expecting us to settle our differences as adults, but after noticing our behaviors for a few days he had to call us over to talk to us.

The first thing he asked was why we weren't talking to one another. When we didn't have any reply. He advised us to tolerate and enjoy the time we each had with one another.

One particular line that stuck with me since then was when he said THERE'S NO REASON NOT TO TOLERATE ONE ANOTHER NOW. The natural order for tolerance would come when we were dead and by then there would be no chance to come live the lost time we spent ignoring one another.

This really touched me a lot and I've tried to apply it several times in my life. Of course as humans people are always bound to get on your nerves and we can naturally also get angry. But sometimes letting go of your ego and trying to be the bigger person helps to solve a lot of situations.

Looking back now I see most of our disagreements as a bit childish in nature, but back then our egos was getting the better of us and we both thought the other one was at fault. Although we both had our fair share of blame but we couldn't see past our anger of who did what and who said what.

In life you won't always have your way, because we all have different temperament, likes and dislikes. The level I can tolerate something will be quite different from that of someone else, so I have to be careful of my actions and how the other person might perceive my intentions.

We've had a lot of other disagreements after that one, but unlike before we settle a lot quickly, as I sometimes go out of my way to defuse the situation. As that lesson has always stuck with me, what if our hateful words were the last we ever spoke to one another. I'm absolutely sure I wouldn't want such a situation between someone I actually hold dear despite our differences.

So in all, try to tolerate others as much as you can and refrain from being quick to anger. Like they always say Love conquers all

Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.34
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Captainkay
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
2 years ago

Comments

😂😂 so you like fight like this. It's good you guys made up though it's not good to fight with family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, I no really like fight oo. But sometimes we have to take a stand and it might lead to disagreements. I realize how important family is, that's why I tolerate a lot of things I wouldn't have

$ 0.00
2 years ago