The Power of Giving (A birthday surprise)

2 19
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

A wonderful day to you all once again as it takes grace to come on here everyday and see the ideas and writing skills of different people from different backgrounds, personalities, nations, and cultures as we all come here under the readcash family.

The concept of giving I believe is almost as old as time because even in the animal kingdoms we still see this acts of kindness amongst them. Over the course of the week, today was actually planned out because it was going to be the birthday of a friend and he wanted to do something different although he didn't explain what it would be.

Fast forward to today, and unfortunately this morning I woke with headache and a bit of body pains which I had to take some drugs for pain relief. So this made me cancel all my plans for the day which included my friend birthday surprise as I instead spent the whole day mostly sleeping and trying to rest.

Since I couldn't go, my cousin went over the guys place and it was until he got back home I knew what the surprise was. Apparently my friend whose name I won't mention here decided instead of having a get together with friends and making merry, he wanted to instead take the food to the less privileged on the streets so they could instead have at least a meal for the day (I know some of my others friends who were hoping to eat and drink alot today must've been very disappointed).

Images from the surprise

This kind gesture touched me and I had to forget about any party I might've missed and instead I was wishing I'd gone with them instead. I know what it feels like to go hungry without knowing where your next meal will come from as I've been in such situations before. But sadly this is the reality of this children on a daily basis and amidst the current economic situations in the country, it's hard for people to even find the heart to give out of their already meagre income.

Images from the surprise

His act showed me that sometimes we can decide to do something different from the norms and make a difference even in small ways like buying someone a meal, because you don't know how important it could be to them. I got my own share of the food though, so everyone got to smile at the end of the day( although I was expecting them to put two meat and they put only one 😁😁, there's still next year tho).

The act of showing kindness can never go out of fashion and it should be encouraged in whatever form it can be shown. Givers are also opening their hearts to receiving more blessings as givers they say never lack.

2
$ 0.27
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @MichaelBCH
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

This is quite heroic from your friend brother. What a humble way to celebrate a birthday. Indeed Givers never lack. Sorry about your headache

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sir, I was very surprised as well. But it's his kind heart that was displayed for all to see

$ 0.00
1 year ago