Career changes over the years

11 46
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago
Unsplash image

I remember back when I was still a kid i and my little sis used to joke about when we grow up. I would say that I wanted to be a politician and my sis would say she wants to be a lawyer so that whenever a case comes up in court she would be the one defending me. Then we would hear cases of politicians arrested for allegations of embezzlement, and we thought it was just like an accusation where you only needed a lawyer to go free.

I didn't even know what embezzlement meant, I only knew once you were a politician and you had a lawyer then you would go free. Little me thought if I did anything wrong all my sister had to do was show up looking smart and I would be free, I know it must sound ridiculous right now but it wasn't until a few years later before I knew what embezzlement meant.

I only knew I wanted to be in the tv all the time looking important and powerful and my silly sister only knew she was willing to protect her big brother from anyone.

Unsplash image

What I actually want to point out here is that at that young age we both thinking about something we would love doing. Bola Ahmed Tinubu was the governor of Lagos state then and I was always seeing him on TV which promoted my interest in being a politician, while my sis who likes to talk a lot wanted to be a lawyer. Then I didn't know we were developing a passion for those careers.

Passion according to my mobile dictionary is a strong, determined or intense feeling for something or an interest.

Fast forward to today and I'm a mechanical engineering graduate and my sister is in a science related field and nothing even remotely close to law. Growing up we developed other Interests and those were the ones which we eventually nurtured.

I'm sure many of us were like that growing up. Always changing careers as we grew, I think i must've changed my mind at least five other times before I settled with engineer. There was a time I watched a show showing a man teaching archery and I decided that's what I wanted to do, then I thought of being a doctor, one time I even thought of owning a PlayStation game center because an Uncle owned one and I believed no job could beat earning money by sitting and playing games all day long, then I thought of computer engineering, before mechanical engineering. I've always said that if I hadn't studied mechanical engineering, the only other course I would've agreed to was computer engineering.

Unsplash image

Whenever I think back, I laugh at how silly those early days were. But those were the days that began shaping me for today.

Let me hear about your own funny career changes as you grew up until you got to where you presently are right now.

2
$ 0.45
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Deeepensiverse
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

Growing up I always loved movies and wanted to be an actor but my parents couldn't envision the possibilities and said it was a waste of time, looking at the rise of films in Nigeria I still wonder.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Who knows you might've been the next big thing on TV, we all had to make do with what our environment offered us.. Wishing you the best cos it's not too late to pursue ur dreams

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wanted to be so many things oo, I even wrote an article on it a few weeks back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I guess I'll have to go read the article as well.. thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No problem 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You wanted to be a politician because of tinubu 😆 wait what?

Anyways, I always wanted to be a writer or a journalist; I write now part-time but omo I'm far away from where I imagined.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, I wasn't aware jare. I was always seeing the old boy on TV all the time growing up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😆 may your dreams come true oh, brother tinubu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, I've moved on to other things oo.. May yours come true as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It has, thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While I was growing up, my dream career is to become a pharmacist, at a point probably when I was in Senior Secondary school 1, I changed it to chemical engineering. Currently now am a graduate of Mathematics.

$ 0.00
1 year ago