Demeaning attitudes or demeaning jobs?

6 36
Avatar for Haydarmohamad
1 year ago

Hello my brothers and sisters from the great Read family, I hope you are all in excellent condition and full of happiness and joy, today I want to share a little anecdote that happened recently in my life and I would like to know your opinion about it.

Two weeks ago a friend asked me to substitute her at work so she could go on vacation, which I accepted, she works in an oncology clinic, as a maintenance or cleaning staff in one of the clinics and offices.

She keeps 2 bathrooms clean for common use, apart from keeping a corridor and a living room clean, which I found extremely simple.

Last week, I went with her to kick off my day as she introduced me to her bosses and her cleaning routine. Then she went on vacation and I continued working, now the matter is that I inform people of my family and my close friends and the responses of my friends were of acceptance and happiness and they wished me the best, well everything is fine so far right ? Well, when I mentioned them to close family members, 2 of them took annoyed attitudes, to the point of telling me or asking me why I am lowering myself to that type of work?

And that makes me think a little, I who have had jobs of different kinds, and have done work such as painting houses, repairing chairs or furniture, for me there is no undignified work as long as it is done honestly, and its conditions do not affect my health. physical or mental, and the truth is that in many countries there are jobs where people risk their lives for ridiculously low wages.

But can you be discounted by mopping bathrooms and hallways? for sweeping?

Because that would make us less than other people?

When your job is an indication of your value as a person, as a human being?

Or is it that I see things differently from others?

What do you think, my relatives, are they right in their words or are they just negative and prejudiced attitudes?


Images taken from www.pixabay.com

Thank you for reading


4
$ 0.36
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mafer8866
$ 0.01 from @HermaniGinger
Avatar for Haydarmohamad
1 year ago

Comments

Epale Haydar! chamo es feo cuando alguien degrada a otra persona por su oficio,clase social,procedencia,etc. Las personas profesionales o con buenos empleos por ej no son superiores a los demás por ello.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opino lo mismo que tú, a parte, todos vinimos a este mundo a ser buenos en algo, también digo que todo típo de trabajo es indispensable en este mundo, creo que el valor del trabajo se lo damos nosotros cuando lo hacemos con amor y pasión.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

exactamente mi Mafer, gracias por leerme

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a dignified job. Why would someone devalue you just because of your job? Millions of people are jobless. Be proud of your job, salute!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much for reading me, and well, in my country, I have seen how people denigrate others for their employment. and well I suffered it in my own flesh, it's sad but it happens

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is one of the sad realities of life. Keep your head up high, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago