Who is Family?

9 51
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

"Some friends are more blood than family". I saw this statement on a friend's WhatsApp status and i felt touched by this. Sometimes our friends always have our back even more than our family members. This friend of mine must have passed through a lot before typing this. I was curious to know what prompted such statement.

My Curiosity was short lived when i saw same screenshot on another friend's status. Curiosity turned to amusement when i saw same thing on over Three other friends status. I decided to quench my thirst for the reasons why they all are posting it by messaging them and some of the replies i got are;

"It's a deep statement:

I took his reply as that of someone who only follow the crowd in posting and went on to ask another. And his reply was-

" Some of my friends treat me better than my families. Especially people from my mother's side, they are selfish and greedy"

Hmmm, this sound interesting, i went further in asking more questions. The conclusion i came to was that his words are coming from the annoyance that they (family) don't give to him money and other items anytime he request for it. Hence, he regard them as enemies and not families.

Finally i got a reply that piqued my interest from another friend-

" I hate my father and Mother bro, they weren't there and have never been there for me when i needed them the most- my friend James is more family to me than my siblings"

Screenshot of our chat

We met and talked at length and i asked for permission to share screenshoot of our chat and he agreed but with the instruction to remain anonymous

I started thinking aboutour conversation for long and then i asked myself "Who is Family?"

Who is family?

Right from primary school we were taught that "A family is a group of people related by blood or by marriage". So our father,mother and siblings are regarded as our family. But as we all grow uo we started giving more meanings to the word "Family"

According to merriam-Webster Dictionary a family can be;

"A group of individuals living under one roof ..."

"Or a group of people united by common affiliation or conviction "

There are other definitions right there, but the Two above got my attention. Talking about the first definition. Does living under a roof make one family?. If yes, then every of my roommates and housemates since my first year in school are my family.

I feel more connection with the second definition than the first. And i believe that was what my friend intended with his status.

"Affiliation" and "Conviction" are Two key words in the Definition. This goes to say it isn't compulsory that the two or group of people be related by blood. So far they have a common goal or interest and have the assurance that they are there for each other- they are family.

My definition of family

I'm so lucky to have a caring father and mother and siblings i will never trade for anything in the world. They are my family.

However, i've got so many Extension of families. What i mean is that at some point or the other, i came in contact with people that exhibited the quality of a brother and sister to me and i'll forever hold them dear.

By association

Across various fellowships i've attended in my previous school and present. I've met people that i was able to form a bond with. We shared same goals and were there for each other at various point in life. Though Generally we all call ourselves one family. Whenever i say this word to any of them i mean it. Not as a slogan but as an word of conviction.

____________________________

I've never been one to settle down in a place, due to the nature of Dad's work, we do move from one place to another. Believe me when i tell you that I've been to over Ten schools. Not because i owe fees or failure but because of the constant transfer .

So at a tender age I've learnt that nothing last for. I'm always reluctant to make New friends, since the friendship will be short lived. Instead i make Families in each school. I've lost contact with many because there was no phone back then and no Social media too in that period. But the most recent of them are still in constant contact with me.

____________________________

I've seen people use statements like "Noisecash family" or "Readcash Family" i know they use it as a way of saying "Users of both platforms". But a type of family can be formed here. On Telegram i have a group that i haven't seen any of the members physically. But we call ourselves one big family because we share a common goal. Let me cite Club1BCH as an example, this family is formed by people with a common goal.

Also so far on this platform i've met different people that have been of help without me asking, without the expectation of receiving back or request to pay back.

Money doesn't make one family

I realise what most people use in determining who is family and who isn't is the ability to offer financial help when needed. I can tell you clearly that,the biggest support families render is not in the form of money.

Who do you run to when you are down?. When things are looking bleak and it seems the world is against you, whose shoulder do you lean on?.

Ask yourself these questions and answer. I'm sure you will get the point.

Family takes you back no matter what

There's a popular saying "Blood is thicker than water" . It means no matter what happens, Family will always be family.

  • Family is forgiving.

  • Family is supportive

  • Family looks past the flaws.

  • Family tells you the truth.

  • Family defends you.

Your friends can decide to lie to you and keep on deceiving you, but when you're wrong Family point it out to you. They don't lace their words with lies. And when you've done something wrong, they look pass the wrong and take you back, they forgive you and defend you.

Your problem is their problem. They do everything for you without the expectation of receiving back.

Who is your family?

Thanks for reading!🤗🤗🤗

A big Thank you to all my sponsors-

Thanks @QueenRay for checking up on me. I'm well and good. Just took a short break.

Special thanks to @jane for renewing her sponsorship. I'm so Grateful ma'am.

15
$ 2.67
$ 2.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 5
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Sa sitwasyun ko, kung sino pa yung hindi ko kadugo, sila pa yung may mas malasakit hahaha. Masakit lang kasi kung sino pa yung pamilya mo, sila pa unang una na manghuhusga sayu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family goes beyond the blood ties, it is more about trust and relationship. If you have a blood tie with someone and that relationship is parasitic and not symbiotic them the family bond is chopped off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes friends are more like a family than real blood related because they don't understand and it's hard to open up but maybe your friend's family has reasons too. Everything has reasons and we will never understand it sooner but later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moved around too when we were younger. Not too many places but sometimes over time and distance same places and people seem to have developed and moved forward including me.

Upside of the current virtual interactions indeed .. conversations eventually lead to friendships and yes most would feel like family even.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much value my family than anything, they always come first in all my daily life. I always want something better for them because it's will be to my own pride and interest. They are also by me any time and any day, I hardly keep friends because of its danger, I will say I only have one blossom friend. Duo he is far away from me but we are already leaving as brothers and do things in common.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my workplace, I have a few people I call my family. So whenever we are together, we always talk about anything. I just feel so comfortable when I'm with them. 😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you're bad hale and healthy. My friends truly know me than my family members. Things I can't even relate with my family, though we are of a bond, I tend to disclose with my friends. In short my friends see other other side of me which my family do not detect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any family either by blood or by common interest have ups and downs. Mostly, family by blood have a lot of downs. Take my family for example, they are a headache. But you are right, they're still the ones that I run to. I trust that they are there in my times of need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. My friends also know me better than my family. 😅 Because at home, I can'r express out everything unlike when I am with my friends.. I feel like I am the real me if I am with them

$ 0.00
2 years ago