Go with your own money

31 76
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Have you heard of cases where a partner run away in the middle of a date?. They leave with the excuse that they need to visit the restroom but after waiting for minutes the other party realised they've just been played.

Okay it happened to me but mine was a fault on my part. I misinterpreted my friend's words and intention. My case wasn't on a date either or an hangout with a lover. It was with Two of my friends.

Before i narrate my story let me chip in an advice. If you are a lady or even a guy and you're asked out on a date or hangout. Try to take enough money with you in case the other person decide to play a fast one on you or something unprecedented happens.

Back to my story

It was during my Internship -back when i was in the polytechnic. We were asked to come to school to sort some issues pertaining to our result but i was short on cash at that period and had lot of work in my office (where i intern) that required my attention, which made me unavailable to go when we were called upon. Luckily for me Two of my friends were not able to go too due to work at their offices. So we all decided to go together.

We got there and it seems our lucky angel was on duty that day because we were attended to without much fuss. We were expecting the Secretary to chastise us for coming late for something so important but it seems she doesn't even care. We left the HOD's office happy and decided to hang around a little before going back to our respective homes. A wrong decision.

We went to the School's Sport centre and watched the various athletes practicing for the upcoming NUGA Games (National university games) and also watched a friendly football match between two departments. I can't remember the names of the department again. We had a nice time talking and reminiscing. Before we knew what was happening it was already past Noon.

One of them suggested that we go to the "Restaurant park" to grab something to eat. Remember i said i had little Cash on me at that period. But i quickly did a mental calculation. I decided to eat a meal not more than N500 (about $1) and use the remaining N1000 (about $2) with me to board a bus home. Although naira to dollar rate wasn't this bad back then.

On getting to Restaurant park i starting heading towards a restaurant that is known for selling Food at a reasonable price and large quantity. But my friend said-

"Make we go Kelvin's kitchen naw, i get enough money with me, make we chop noodles"

Which means "Let's go to Kelvin's Kitchen, i have enough money with me. Let's go and eat noodles"

Kelvin's kitchen is known for it delicious but expensive noodles and only those with deep pockets frequent the restaurant. Prior to that day , I've been there twice. One -when i got paid for a job and the other when my brother came visiting and took me there for a treat.

But since I'm not the one paying (my mistake) i decided to go with them. Who doesn't like free food?.

We got there and the Two of them placed their order and it was my turn. Not to look like a glutton or opportunist i decided to order just a plate of noodles with Sausages and fried Egg. I also went for bottle water because that's the cheapest drink there. They sell their soft drinks at a double rate compared to other restaurants.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

They brought our meal and we pounced on it. Mid way through our meal the Waitress brought our meal. I peeped at it and realised everything i bought was N1300. It was small compared to what my friends bought. I felt relaxed and continued with the task before me-enjoying the meal. The two of them (my friends) dipped their hands into their pocket and called the waitress. To my surprise they only paid for themselves and the waitress looked in my direction with her brows raised in an inquisitive manner.

To say i was perplexed is an understatement. I started sweating and fidgeting. With a forced smile i asked my friend why he isn't paying for me again and he said he never mentioned paying for me. To save myself from further embarrassment, i gave a forced laugh and said i was only pulling his legs.

I've heard cases where people who couldn't pay for their meal were embarrassed publicly and asked to wash plate to foot their bill. And the most painful part is per plate washed is N4 off one's bill. I ate food worth N1300. How many plates am i going to wash before i get my freedom back?. 325 plates if my calculation is right. That's excluding the spoons that count as nothing and the embarrassment. A whole Happy washing plate. Ewww!

Dirty plates

Image source

Hurriedly i brought out the N1500 with me and paid. With pain i watched the waitress go with my money. How i wish i have a Superpower. I will go into the Restaurant purse and take my money back. I will also deal with my friend who misled me.

I collected my N200 balance and the rest of the meal was like a funeral. My friends ate their's chattering, oblivious to the Royal rumble taking place in my head. The food that once tasted like a meal taken from the king's table now taste like sawdust in my mouth. I chewed each grain with aggression and pain.

After they both left for their homes, i was left wandering round the school. I didn't know what to do or how to go home. Even if i'm to take the train instead of the bus i will need at least N500 and i was left with just N200. I checked the time and it was 3:50pm . Then an idea came to mind. The ATM can only dispense N1000 notes and i don't have up to that in my account, but i can go to the counter to withdraw. Banks closes by 4:00pm. So i still have 10minutes. I started running. Passerbys were forced to look in my direction and back to see what was amiss.

I got into the bank at exactly 4:00pm. The Security man was about to lock the door. I pleaded with him and told him it's a matter of life and death. Lol

I went to the counter, filled the withdrawal slip and submitted it to the Cashier who looked at me with amusement. I'm sure she was wondering why someone will want to withdraw N400 (which was all i had in my account). I looked at her back with a straight face.

"Na my money,na wetin i like i go do with am" i said to myself

Meaning "It's my money, I'll do whatsoever i like with it"

I took "my" money and left the bank with relief. I got to the station and waited for the night train which was dangerous. But what could i have done?. I got home very late in the night and narrated my ordeal to my siblings and they had a good time laughing at me.

Since then I've learnt to go with enough and extra money in my wallet anytime i am invited to a eat out or hangout. I don't want history to repeat itself.

The End!.😀

Thanks for reading!. 🤗🤗🤗

PS: Images used in the story are not the real picture of the event. They are only there for illustration and source clearly stated .

Big thank you to my Sponsors, upvoters ,viewers and Subscribers. You guys are my motivation.

Till next time. Byeeeeeeeee.

Have you had similar experience? Kindly share ...

16
$ 12.47
$ 12.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.08 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Reading your story is mixed emotion, I smiled and feel bad for you at the same time. I can imagine the feeling of "sweating and fidgeting". The way you describe the food after you paid for an amount, made me laugh(sorry for that). Lesson learned, make sure that if you don't have the amount in the pocket, and someone invited you tell that someone you don't have a budget.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. Lesson learned. Though the hard way😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess, I should start bringing extra money from now on. I can relate with the thought of having short money 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. What a life lesson experience you had lol. I don't know how but I never go any place without an extra cash even after knowing the amount that I would spend wherever I am, both for transportation and maybe snacks. I have heard stories of people being stranded and I don't want to fall victim. But your friends didn't try at all. They should have just allowed you to go and eat where you do eat and where the cost of the meal wouldn't be more than your cash. That they had the money to spend in a good place doesn't mean you had it at that time. But I guess it's a lesson and you learned it the hard way😂😂 not very hard though cause you enjoyed the meal🤭🤭🤪😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😂 i enjoyed part of it not all. After paying the bill ,the rest tasted like sharp sand😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I read that part😂😂. You ate a king's meal before but after payment, you know what it later tasted like😂😂 sorry eh? But na lesson okay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i did😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you still have money on your bank

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes 😂, that was my Saving grace

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I had this experience once, thankGod I brought my ATM card with me, would have been chaotic...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can imagine the experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's important, to have an extra money in our wallet, it is very essential. Because we don't know what will happen, we must be prepare yet it is our initiative also. It's better to think advance. Thank you for sharing this. This is a lesson in our lives.

God bless you.😇

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome JRamona20

Thanks for dropping by, i really appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome HappyBoy...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. I have an experience similar to this. It was before I fly abroad and I dated my little siblings in the city. I ask Php1,000 from my mom which I thought would be enough with few bills in my wallet. We ate in Jollibee and paid almost Php500. The fare we spent was Php200+ (including the fare for cabs and bus) for me and my four siblings., not including the fare going back home. It was night already when we went to the terminal and because my little siblings were quite hungry already, I bought burgers for them and saved Php150 for the fare. When we checked the vehicles, only vans were left and no more bus nor jeepneys... the van's fare cost 50 per head so obviously, my 150 wasn't enough for the five of us,😅🤣 I felt relieved when I saw my cousin who came out from work coz I can borrow money from him.. Unfortunately, he only has 50 left 🤣🤣 I had no choice but to call my friend living in the city and I borrowed money from her.

Since then, I always save extra cash in my pocket even inserted some in my phone's case.. Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha thank God you have a friend close by.

Thanks for sharing your experience ma'am🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I always brought my wallet with me in case this scenario might happen, I'm ready. Haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I learnt my lesson the hard way. I now go on hangout with extra money with me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we must learn from experience. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is the first story which i read with my full attention .. Infect i faced the situation once but not like you at resturant but on market because i had no money of my bus ticket you can say .. so that i plan to reach home just by work away!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh boy, you have learned your lesson the hard way. I never for once depends on anyone to foot my bills in a restaurant even if they ask me out. Like you said, I always have enough of money with me. This type of things happened only with youths who still don't know the value of friendship. If you are my friend, I won't do anything like that to you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They taught me a great lesson that day. Since then I always go out with the intention of footing my own bill myself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought this only happens in movies hahaha. Good thing the guard let you in the last minute and the teller still entertained your withdrawal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was a life saver. I ran faster than usain bolt that day🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣embarrassment is what I hate in my life and will not like to experience again. I have experience such before that I had to trek home,that day wasn't funny. Be extra loaded before embarking on such journey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I couldn't have tried trekking home. The distance is too long-if i do, the next day will be spent at the hospital 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why will you follow someone out without your own money.. what if the fellow run out of fund or can't avoid your demand. The expenses shouldn't just be on person even if 70 to 30 just take part.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now i know better. I misinterpreted what by friend said that was why

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha good thing you have your money with you or else the embarrassment will be epic, I haven't experienced that one. I always brings money with me to pay my own bill and if ever I don't have money, I will not go out especially with extravagant friends :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Till now i still shake when i imagine how embarrassing it could have been. I'm glad i learnt from the experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago