Everybody makes mistake but what next?

13 56
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Mistakes are bound to happen but it's the way we react to them that will tell who we are. Trying to cover a mistake up or mend a mistake without taking the right part will lead to even more mistakes. Some may call it a mistake, some may call it a mishap but for me, I call it an opportunity to be better.

Every mistake that I did throughout my life, I can recall how my parents used to be mad at me because of those mistakes and always ask me to apologize. I never understand why.

Image from Unsplash

As I grew older, I can now understand why they did that. It's not because they didn't love me but it's mostly because they wanted the best for me. Unknowingly at that time, it was teaching me how to be responsible and learn from my mistakes. It also led to better results in life.

With time, I have learned not to cover up my mistakes anymore and learn to accept them as it is. And if ever there is an opportunity to correct a mistake then let's do it. But make sure you never forget to give yourself a standing ovation after you learned from your mistakes.

Covering a mistake can be dangerous

 Trying to cover a mistake up or mend a mistake without taking the right part will lead to even more mistakes. It's all about how you react after you made a mistake that tells how strong or weak a man you are. No one is perfect and it's okay to make a mistake but what's not okay is knowing when you made the mistake and still trying to cover it up or fix it by making another mistake.

Mistakes can make or break us. Sometimes looking back you think why did I make this particular decision but the thing is you have to learn from your mistakes and move forward from there. We are all going to face some type of challenge in life.

Image from unsplash

In my first year in school, I stayed with two friends, Dami and David. We were known as the 3Ds (Most people call me Damola, not Gideon). Our course adviser gave the department’s megaphone to us to keep in our hostel but we decided to start a music concert with it. It was fun and the guys from our wing joined in the dancing until the Hall chairman came and seize the Megaphone. We begged him to return it to us but refuse, saying until we bring a letter from our HOD, he won’t release it.

Instead of confessing to our Course adviser, we kept on giving one excuse after the other anytime he asks for it. After lying for several days we decided to sneak into his office and get a letterheaded paper from his folder. We planned to write a letter ourselves, sign it and pretend it was from the HOD. Long story short we were caught in the act and were severely punished.

When you make a mistake, one of the hardest things to do is accept it and then apologize for it. I have had to apologize for a few mistakes I have made and in the past, I've always had a hard time coming to terms with doing it. Just like that quote about lifting yourself up by your bootstraps, accepting your mistakes and then trying hard to fix them is sometimes harder than it sounds.

Accepting you are wrong is the first step to redemption, the next step is to seek the root of the mistake, trying to patch things up will only make things worse, apologize to the right people and when you do this, let it be from your heart. Make sure it's genuine. Finally, try not to repeat this mistake.

In the past, I've always been one to think "yes I made a mistake but why did they have to get involved?". I would forget that the wrong person was me and seek validation from other people that my mistake wasn't so bad. I would also not realize that just making up an excuse would only make things worse but by accepting my mistake, letting myself feel angry and upset about what had happened and then apologizing for it, fixed a lot more than I thought it would. It's not about saying 'I am sorry for shooting you in the foot…well in this case it is.

By accepting your mistake you can move forward knowing that you are the voice of reason instead of being caught in your own deceit because while you may think you were good at hiding your tracks, you weren't.

Thanks for Reading!🤗💛🤗

18
$ 3.06
$ 2.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Captainkay
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 15
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

That Indeed true, accepting you are wrong is the first step to redemption!. Indeed we can't do without making mistakes, sometimes they teach us lesson and sometimes they make us feel hurt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember I tried covering up someone else's mistake and ended up in much bigger trouble. My friend got scared of the consequence but didn't get away with them. A mistake is a mistake. Acknowledge and accept. If you can't correct it then be it a lesson. Never run from it. It will chase you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a very bad thing to cover up our mistakes because it might affect in the future so the best thing to do is to make amendment of the mistake

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trying to cover up a mistake is itself a mistake and you will end up using more mental energy to cover it up than to just confess it and apologize. While trying to cover up a mistake, you will end up lying and then you all keep lying to cover up the previous lie and in the end, you will build a web of lies that will end up entangling you, this is what I have learnt from experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. We are humans and mistakes are expected, but we should try to accept our mistakes to learn from them, so we can avoid them in future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just the fact, it's like telling a lie when you know that you can just tell the truth and face what is to come early, cause when you tell a lie, you will need more lie to cover up the first lie

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life without mistakes is like a god, humans have limits in their actions therefore mistakes are the limit, learn from mistakes then we will know the answer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My boss says this often, he hates when someone is at fault and still try to justify. Sometimes it's not easy to admit a wrong doing but the practice still demands us to do admit it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's when we acknowledge our mistakes we can be free . It's tough at first but need to move on and learn from it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly , a mistake wont be corrected with another mistake. Just like a small lies that will continue to go bigger if you stand for it. Though it's really hard to accept and admit our fault but it will be the best way to correct our mistakes. Admit, apologize and take the consequence then there'll be peace of mind and lesson learned.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we didn't realize our mistakes, we must move further in journey of life. Because same thing will still happen on that way to success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A mistake is a mistake once committed once which you admit, but when you do not learn from the mistake and keep committing it is what I would call a foolish act. It's important we realize our mistakes instead of finding excuses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Admitting you made a mistake is a virtue. apologizing for it is a greater virtue. insisting on mistake is a bigger mistake

$ 0.00
1 year ago