An Immortal mortal I

6 54
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

With a jolt I woke up from sleep, tired and wondering why my body aches so much, I must have been out for a long time because my head feels empty and looking around I could see that it was night already.

I climb out of the pit with a plaster dangling from the hand the drip was connected to earlier. I saw the clothes I took from a basket at the hospital. My head was still foggy and I was trying to remember how I got there. I know only one person can answer the questions I have, so I quietly walk to her house.
For some reason, I knew I wasn't safe, you know that feeling you get when you feel people are secretly following you. I hastened my step, constantly looking back to check who was following me.
I finally got to my destination and I knocked on the door.

"Who's there ?"

I smiled sheepishly. Hearing her voice gave me this unexplainable joy every time.

"It's me. Happy" I replied.

She hurriedly opened the door, dragging me in while she look to the left and right to see if I was being followed.

"Relax Mj, I lost them. By the way, who are they?" I asked while looking at the golden fish I gave her on our first anniversary.

"Wait! Don't tell me you don't remember anything?" She asked with surprise written all over her face.

"I don't darling. I don't." I cried out.



"Okay, here is what happened to-" she paused when we heard a sound.

We both jumped up at the same time but laughed when we realise it was Hivey her little fur playing with her toy.

"- as I was saying, something happened to you yesterday on our way to the Park. The Hopkins lab team were out testing a new project they've been working on for some time when a mishap happened and the tube with chemicals fell from the crane.

You hurriedly push me away. You saved me, but in the process, the chemical poured on you. The Doctors around carried you to the city hospital because the project was sponsored by the federal government. The President ordered that you should be kept under surveillance and given the best treatment. Some doctors from the UK are expected to work on you tomorrow and carry out plastic surgery on you.

However, news came out that a man in a yellow suit broke into the hospital and gave you some pills this morning, you took it and your face got healed immediately. While the guards were trying to take the man out, you left the bed, took one of the other patient's cloth and jumped out through the window-"*

"Wait! I thought the hospital is on the 20th floor" I interrupted

"-Yes, that's the problem" she replied.

I looked at her encouraging her to continue and also looking at my body to see if there was any broken bone.

"-you broke your bone but within the twinkle of an eye, your body W
went back, into position, and all these were captured by the hospital's CCTV" she continued.

I stood up pacing the tiny living room. I took a knife from the dining and stabbed myself, I felt a sharp pain, but immediately the skin got covered as if nothing happened. I couldn't believe my eyes.

Slowly I remember seeing a man in a yellow suit beside my bed at the hospital. He gave me a piece of paper which I tucked into my socks after reading. I took the paper out and on it was written.

"You've been given one of the biggest blessings to mankind. You will be immortal for the weekend. Make good use of it. To know if this is true, jump through the window"

I read it out loud and Mj gasped.

"What do we do now?" She asked.

I read it again and noticed the "Make good use of it written boldly". For me to be given this gift, I believe I'm expected to use it to serve others, at least that's what Superheros do.

Wait a minute, now I know why I'm being followed. I've seen enough superhero movies to know that I can be a dangerous weapon. The government will need me to build an Army they so much desire. I'll be their lab rat with countless needles drawing blood from my body. I won't want such to happen. Moreover, I only have a few days to be immortal, better I start using it well straight away for I know I'll have a lot of enemies.

Suddenly, I realised still being with Mj spells danger for her. I have to break up with her, being immortal comes with a lot of danger and I don't want her to be in the middle of a crossfire, especially now that I'm charged to make use of it.

"Let’s break up Mj"

"You must be joking Happy" she replied, laughingin disbelief.

"Yes, I mean it, you're not the girl I like. I've only been putting up with you because I need your father's wealth. To me, you're just my ladder to success. Nothing more. Now I'm immortal, I don't need you" I said in a loud voice.

I could see tears forming in her eye but before she replied I rushed to the door, intentionally breaking the Golden fish Jar. I'm sure that will break her heart more and make her hate me. I cried bitterly but I know I did the right thing.



To be continued...

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💚🤗

15
$ 3.11
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

I hate it when one of the requirement of being a super hero is to break up with their girl , lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am already hating the immortal you now 😳🙄😬 why will you choose to break up with her in such a way?

Remember you only have till the weekend. Everything will be gone and taken away from you then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

she will really be sad for what you did but i feel she will still forgive you cos she is in love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, but now that you are immortal, I feel you should love her now since she was always around you then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are ready to break her heart, I didn't take it real 😂. People that are sincere to us, we should not decieve them. But yes some people use them as ladder to success that is really bad Happy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To save her from any harm, you broke up with her. This would be really painful for both of you. Well narrated story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago