Ahead of rainy days

6 71
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Stories

It started raining abruptly. Everyone started running helter skelter, some trying to find a place to hide while some were trying to get to the house as quickly as possible. Then the statement "ahead of rainy days" came to mind.

For sometime now I had been wondering if I could keep up with the different things I was doing. In between going for lectures I work to support the allowance I receive, and other engagements and impromptu events turn up. I had been thinking of it over and over and realised I would have to drop some things for others.

Writing and maybe talking are among the things I love doing the most, but I thought of abandoning writing for the time being.

Before deciding on this I weighed my options and looked at the possibility of me remaining an active writer here. Soon Tests and Examinations will be here and I will need to put in 100% attention to academics. How then do I cope with writing constantly here?

Photo credit: unsplash.com

I've seen people drop two articles a day and others one, but I find it hard to keep up with my two-day routine. I felt tempted to just take numerous pictures and write few lines about maybe my daily activities or about some random topics, but I know that isn't my best strength. I will most likely flop at it. I was at a crossroads and was about taking a drastic step when the rain started.

The rain started abruptly...

In the midst of the chaos I realised the rainy days are inevitable. I mean times that I will be so busy with school work or other projects that other aspects of my life will pay the price.

Since it's something I can't control, why don't I just prepare for these days? Over the weekend various topics come to mind and I push them to the back of my mind because I already have one planned. I believe when the time comes, I'll surely have something to write. And when the time finally comes I become clueless.

As I said earlier people started running to their hostels and I noticed some people came out from the gaming centre close to the hostel rather quickly. Why are they running so fast? Why not stay in there utill the rain stops?

My curiosity was awoken so I hastened my steps and followed the direction they passed and I realised they were running to pack their bags and properties from places where rain could wet them. Some rooms get flooded when it rains, so people tend to place a leather sheet at the window to prevent this and they also place their properties in places where it won't be affected.

This simple act raised various debates in my head. Since they are aware that it's the rainy season already, why didn't they prepare for it before leaving their rooms? Although the rain started all of a sudden, it appeared as no surprise to us all since it is expected at this season.

Hours later after the rain stopped, so many people came into the hostel to meet their mattresses and other properties wet. I joined in chastising them for such negligent act and also to help in sweeping and mopping, but while this was ongoing I realised I was not exempted from it.

I was also a "foolish virgin" for not preparing for the rainy days. The rainy days in my case is when I will be so busy and won't be able to write here. The option to write and save as draft for later use is available but I don't use it. I can also make use of my notepad in writing for the main time yet I didn't do that too.

The story of Ants also came to mind. How they gather Food in preparation for the rainy season. They work even when it seems they shouldn't, because they already have food stored in their holes,yet they never get tired or weary. You can call them "Oliver twist" because they never get satisfied with what they have in store.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

Throughout the rainy season they stay in their holes with abundant food to last them all through the period.

Now I'm more determined than ever to give it my all, to be the "Jack of all trade, master of all". If not all, I will aspire for all till I get all. Lol

I will harness it all and one aspect suffer from negligence or Procrastination. I've learnt from the ants and yesterday's rain. Now it's time for me to work, to put in long hours now that I have the time and liberty.

Be prepared guys, you haven't seen the last of HappyBoy!.

Thanks for reading!🤗

You can check out my other articles:

https://read.cash/@HappyBoy/fear-of-failure-motivation-7bcec3c1

https://read.cash/@HappyBoy/i-met-her-on-noisecash-now-shes-meeting-me-at-the-alter-f22993d7

10
$ 0.41
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.10 from @CryptoMax
+ 3
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Stories

Comments

'Prepare for your Rainy days to come' doesn't always mean packing things just to not get wet, but the realities in life that we could be able to prepare and expect the bumpy road, the uncertainties of life because our future is still blurry so better prepare. This is so inspiring po. Keep up. God bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is just for us to take note of things and also prepare for anything in the future. Future could be tomorrow, next week,....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, that's true

For if we fail to plan, we plan to fail

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go to the ant o slugger consider its ways and be wise. Ants do hunt during dry season, make sure they store enough for the raining season

$ 0.04
2 years ago

You're right sir, even the bible talked about them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks for the gift

$ 0.00
2 years ago