Untitled

13 61
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Wasn't sure what to do with this but I was pretty sure I needed to write it down so I don't forget. Dunno where I would put this in tbh but it just seemed like something good in the making.


He looked from left to right. Panicked, he just chose to run to wherever was the most crowded. Blending into the crowd was the best way to go if he wanted to escape his pursuers. More like… he had no choice but to do so. The gash on his left side was still bleeding and he needed somewhere… anywhere he could stay in until he recovered or at least until the cut would dry up. 

The rain wasn’t making it easier for him either. Few people, only a few people would go out in this city without an umbrella. That alone made him stick out like a sore thumb

“F*ck- I need to get out of here” 

Street by street, he wandered aimlessly until his strength could barely allow him to walk. Out of sheer exhaustion and the blood loss, he used his remaining strength to hide in between the trash bins. He wasn’t sure when he had blacked out but what surprised him was warmth that was wrapping around his body. 

“Is this hell…?” he muttered weakly as he forced his eyes open. A mistake on his part though, as he was not expecting to be greeted by the blaring sun. Luckily a figure towering over him covered enough until his vision had adjusted and he could properly see that the figure was a woman. A young one at that, probably a few years younger than him. “Wh-who are you? Where am I?” 

The woman knelt down to his level as she continued to wrap the blanket around his frame. 

“I’m just here to help. Your wound was bleeding so much and I thought we should get you to the hospi-” 

“No hospitals- please” She was taken aback as he abruptly sat up, causing him to hiss in pain as the wound opened up a bit again “I… I can treat myself so anywhere but there” 

He pleaded with her, hoping she would just leave him to die but he didn’t expect that she would extend a hand to him, an injured stranger, who could well be a serial killer or some deranged lunatic for all she knew. 

“If you don’t want to go to the hospital then why not come to my place” He stared at her in amazement and it seemed like she was the stubborn type with how she didn’t even wait for a response when she leaned in and draped his arm over her shoulders as she helped him to a stand with her support. 

“Why are you doing this? I could be a dangerous person, for all you know” 

“Dangerous or not, you’re injured and I don’t want anyone dying when I know I could do something to help” 

“You’re a strange one… but I appreciate it very much” He offered her the best smile he could manage despite the throbbing pain on his side with each step they took. 

“You’re much stranger for thinking I’m strange. I’m Dana, by the way” In turn for his smile, she offered him her brightest smile and if hearts could melt, then his was probably reduced to a pool of goo by now. 

“Likewise. I’m Roland” 

With how he could easily smile around her, he knew that his stay with her would be well worthwhile. It had been a while since he’s had the comfortable silence they had as they made their way to her apartment and he was hoping that he could enjoy it a bit longer. Hopefully, his pursuers would lose his tracks somehow but with the mafia world being much larger than it will ever be on surface-level... He could only hope that he could heal faster so as to not drag his newfound friend into the mess he so desperately wanted to escape. 


Her apartment wasn’t so far off from where she had found him. And based on the contents of her bag that she emptied as soon as she helped him into the bathroom to wash up, he was sure that the alley he hid from was close enough to a market of sorts since she had a variety of vegetables with her. 

“Take a bath first, okay? I think I have big enough shirts that would fit you.. And maybe we can hope that my sweatpants would stretch enough for you to fit in” 

He could hear her snicker at just the mention of looking for clothes but he couldn’t deny that even the idea amused him being such a large man that he was, It was definitely a sight to see once he was done, but for the time being, he was struggling to wash himself… or even figure out how to clean the gash on his side. 

30 minutes passed, then 45… then an hour and he was pretty sure she was cooking because he could smell the food even from the bathroom. He wanted to get up already but even that was a struggle. D*mn mafia lap dogs beat him up pretty good and it just seemed all too embarrassing to ask for help. He wasn’t really sure what to do but the moment he heard the bathroom door click and the door creak open, he knew she was coming and that he had no choice but to accept her assistance. 

 Chapter 2


12
$ 12.81
$ 12.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
$ 0.02 from @marblely
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments

This is cool. I don't know who's more dangerous, Roland or Dana. :D There is only one thing I am certain of. I wouldn't want to be near either of them. I don't care for much action in my life as of the moment. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More dangerous is an angry waman talag, lalo na pag inasawa mo na 😂😂😂 I'd like a bit of action in my life. I'm getting bored of working

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha scary... :D

I think that's better naman. You're not tired of working, just bored. Mahirap ang mga action ngayon. Lalo pandemic. haha sa imagination nalang muna ang actions. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I get days off and wfh naman but i wanna go out and climb a mountain otmr something. I don't like staying indoors for so long

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha nice. Well, wherever you go, whatever you do, stay safe always. :)

Hmmm, mountain climbing? You're the adventurous type are you not? Haha does staying indoors for so long suffocates you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just started reading, and I am liking it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad >w< and I'm surprised that the random thought became a sort of a mini siries in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the story is quite clear and shows there is a strong imagination from your writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^w^ i appreciate that my writing is something you enjoyed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala ang ganda na, bat bitin na naman haha. Sana may kasunod ito ano? Pano kung part pala si Dana ng mafia group e di yari na, 😱. Waiting sa next chapter 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still thinking if I'd continue it kasi i never figured out how to develop their characters talaga. Naiisip ko lang while i was listening to this song

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay bat naman ganon, di pa sure 😭😭 tuloy mo naaa aaaaa, sana makaisip ka agad 💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just have a rough but still looking for a bad ass song to help me think of a good scene talaga 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago