The thing with humans

6 48
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Okie, I told myself I would be continuing my untitled series… but I still don’t have any idea how to continue it. Maybe I’ll figure something out tomorrow. But for now, I just want to get an idea out of my head 😅😅😅


[WP] "Why did you think we would do such... horrible things... to your kind?" "It's what we would've done if the tables were turned." "But we are not like you." "I know." "And that is why you fear and hate us." "Yes."


It wasn’t unusual to read about things where aliens and monsters would be taken to some secret facility that only the government knew. It also wasn’t unusual to find papers and journals reporting their anatomical findings on a new species. 

In recent years, the humans became more and more curious about anything that caught their eyes. Yet anything that comes off as strange automatically becomes a threat. The way the human mind worked was more twisted than any creature I’ve ever encountered before. 

And I doubt any research on the mind would ever unearth what nonsense was buried in their thoughts. For hundreds of years, I’ve watched over them through the shadows of the forests. I have kept many of their secrets. I have seen men turn against men, and I have seen men trying to take their own lives in my forest. I have seen numerous lost souls wander through my home, and I have guided them back to their families. 

Sometimes I tried to introduce myself but they would always start running as soon as they felt my presence. But this one particular boy didn’t flee. 

He was one of the village people that always explored the forests. And I suppose my presence became a way to children as the years passed. I wondered what went into this child’s head to even think about seeking my presence. Yet, for some strange reason, he still did. 

Each day, he would call out to the “spirit of the forest” Which I presumed was me. And each day, he would walk home disappointed. I had initially thought to keep my presence hidden until the child gave up, but I had given it some thought. And I figured that it wouldn’t be so bad to give the kid what he wanted. I wasn’t sure when the next curious human would ever come my way, either. Little by little, I started to make branches and plants move. I tried to pave a path for him to follow so that when I made my figure shown, the child wouldn’t be so frightened. 

Fortunately, the human boy followed as I led him to the riverside, there I took the form of a tree. I uprooted it and gave the small tree features similar to man. Although it wasn’t quite like it, I gained a body, even just for that day. 

“You’re… the guardian of the forest…?” He looked frightened despite the fact that he was looking for me

“I am. Why do you look for me, human?” Slowly, I approached him, but with each advance I took, he took a step back until he stumbled on his feet

“I- I didn’t think--” The child stuttered while he struggled to get back on his feet “Please don’t hurt me and eat me!” He was pleading as tears started forming in his eyes

“Eat you? Why would I eat you?” 

He looked at me incredulously upon hearing my question “Don’t monsters and guardians eat and play with humans?” 

"Why did you think we would do such... horrible things... to your kind?" I looked at him curiously as I helped him get back on his feet. 

This time he didn’t shy back from me, and instead, he looked at me directly in the eyes “It's what we would've done if the tables were turned. Actually, we do that to anything unusual..."

"But we are not like you."

"I know." He looked apologetic while he took a seat on the grass

"And is that why you fear and hate us? My kind?" 

"Yes." He responded with a firm nod yet this time, when I sat beside him, he did not flinch nor take any action to avoid me “Our kind has prosecuted monsters and other creatures all this time out of fear, yet talking to you now. I question why there was fear to begin with” He was almost laughing at his train of thoughts

“Humans are strange creatures” I simply said, before I gave his head a few light pats with the branches I had for arms

“I would agree” He said with a chuckle while fixing his hair “Will you let me visit you again tomorrow?”

I gave a nod in affirmation then we spent the rest of the day talking about things. It was refreshing to actually talk to a human instead of being feared. I was even welcomed to guide him back to the edge of the forest. 

The very next day, I was thrilled to be seeing this boy again, yet when the boy came into view, I saw that he wasn’t alone. Beside him were two adult figures that held onto him tightly.

“Where is the guardian” They demanded while squeezing his arms more. 

The child was shaking in fear, he was tearing up yet the two men didn’t even seem phased by it. I knew it was against his will so I made my presence known.

“Let the child go. What has he ever done to you” 

At the sight of me, both men grinned wickedly and let the child go

“I’m sorry- I told my parents and word got out and-” The child was a sobbing mess as he clung to me “They were going to hurt my family if I didn’t take them” 

“I understand, young one” I hushed him and soothed his back with my branches “I will go with these humans. I already know what they want to do with me” 

The boy shook his head more and clung much tighter than before. It was saddening to have such a sight before me, but to keep the only human friend I have ever made safe, I had to tie him up in vines so that he would not stop me. Once that was done, I went with the other humans who apparently had a vehicle waiting just outside the forest. 

I had never known pain until I heard the fading cries of that boy who was still struggling to get out of his restraints. I apologize, my friend. I will make sure my spirit finds its way back to you.

 

 


6
$ 19.34
$ 19.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Guub0
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Can we actually change our ways as man, it's just our way of life and how most are groom to be to eliminate anything either threats or not thanks for the tips, well I haven't been very active because no motivations to do so and the pandemic still affects loads of things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So dark, so sad 😭 Humans are really, really terrible when they want to be.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah they are ;;n;; but it's just an idea But yeah, people would definitely dissect anything for more knowledge

$ 0.00
3 years ago

actually...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't worry about humans... they are a strange

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know that XD i just thought of writing it down so I could get it out of my head

$ 0.00
3 years ago