New work, I already want to resign

14 45
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

Helloooo

I'm back from the dead!!! And I have to say, the lab I'm recently working in really has bad management. Yes, I am employed as a laboratory analyst again, but this time, for a well known food manufacturing plant that manages all starbuck's products and other companies that are in line withh starbucks.

Every single day, we get an insane amount of food coming in and out of the lab for physico-chem analysis and for sensory evaluation and contaminant check. every food manufacturing and food lab has this. at first, I thought I would enjoy this job. I mean, who would say no to free food? who would say no to starbuck's discounts and production rejects I could share with my sweetdevouring sisters? I know people wouldn't say no to this. I would though. I value my rest a lot.

It's unfortunate that they require 6 working days here since it's production and not testing. I would honestly never have taken the offer had I known that I had to work 6 days. I'm not surprised though since almost all the labs that surround my area function for 6 days a week, sometimes even the whole week and they just shift around the employee's schedule. That happens.

It's also not rare to find labs that run for 24 hours. So yes, my company also has night shifts. Even my previous company had night shifts, but my lab supervisor didn't require any of us to do a night shift while it is required here.

A week of working for this company and I honestly give up. My workload is light, sure. employee benefits are so good, but the role they're giving me is basically for a supervisor and they're basing this on my laboratory experience. For the past few days, I had to lead some product recall investigatiions and it's fortunate that despite my knowledge of food preparation, my chemistry knowledge helped greatly.

I'm happy to have found a solution to a problem, but my decision-making skills really stops functioning when it comes to my life XD

Anyways, I decided to try the BPO industry since I'll be placed in night shift sooner or later.

As to why I want to try this area is mostly because of the commute XD

The commute to my current lab takes 2 hours, not because it's far but because of how ridiculous the traffic gets. Without the traffic, I would be in the lab in just 30 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, the BPO facilities I've tried applying for are so close that I only need to travel for 20 minutes (that's with traffic. 1 if there's no traffic). Also, BPO only has 5 work days and yes, there's OT but it can't be as bad as the 3 hours I usually had to give to my previous company.

At this point, I really don't care about what people say about how toxic it gets in there, all I care about now is that I get enough rest and the prospect of saving up so I can survive in this country and hopefully I could leave here sooner.

My apologies for ranting this much, My family just doesn't understand how bad the commute here gets and how tired I am from having to render more time in a lab than the working hours they pay me for. (they're lucky they're all wfh). I just feel like I won't get to enjoy my life if I'm just gonna be locked up in a lab for the rest of my life.

I do plan to go back into a lab when I get the chance to leave this country. When working conditions for chemists aren't as bad as the one here.

6
$ 3.81
$ 3.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

Comments

Aigoooo, parang nakakasad nuh? Tipong you enjoy naman ung profession kaso nakakapagod and parang ang exhaustinh ng mismong company. Sadlayp, ganito tayo sa pinas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yun nga sa pinas eh. I'vebeen telling my family na it's only until maka ipon ako because I don't want to stay in call center forever. And I want to work abroad because my profession actually matters there unlike here. but idk, they say sayang license. sa akin naman, sayang panahon ko because I still want to experience life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooo u better decide what's the best for you, ikaw naman yan eh. Pilipinas kasi eh, hirap ipaglaban. Pero malay mo may careerr naman sa freelancing?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww if that's what you want then go for it. Mahalaga ring you prioritize what's best for your life. Gogogo and good luckuuuu Uwu. Ang dami mo ng work na naanuhan OMG akoy wala haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wala eh, need ko din kasi work kasi may pinagaaral pa and bills to pay but idk why they won't let me do call center eh it pays more than all the chem jobs i've ever had in my life talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how brave you are ateee in terms sa work like, whenever your rest is being compromise or may mas gusto ka, you can boldly decide to resign kasi parang ako I'll be scared if matatanggap pa ba ko sa iba if magresign ako🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you need to learn how to speak up din, bhieee cuz ikaw din magreregret pag compomised na lahat ng ayaw mo ipacompromise. Call this as setting boundaries for yourself din and it will be good practice. madami pa naman kukuha sa'yo but just don't expect din too much if you'll keep applying here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amiga I hope you get a good job that pleases you. There is nothing better than working in something we love and are passionate about. If you are going to spend so many days of your life locked up, at least enjoy what you do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

gracias amiga. I'm kind of appy you understand where i'm coming from here. I really want to explore when I can but I highly doubt I can with 6 working days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah you can also opt sa wfh na BPO... Haysss Yan din inaayawan why I don't like to work in manila e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the wfh here will depend on how long you'vebeen with the company pala but as long as it doesn't take 1 hour for the commute, okay na ko dun, promise

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakapagod Lalo na kapag pauwe Yung matagal na byahe no

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have the same experience in the laboratoey and the work there needs more time for testing and it was a heavy load. The heavy load and the place of the company pushed me to a decision to resign. I hate being stress and I hate commuting. Your mental health is what matters, do what is best for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm just hoping my choices will take me down the right path for once. I already made the right choice with my previos company. this one was a wrong call.

$ 0.00
1 year ago