Maybe I should be gay

13 60
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

This is romance to me??????? I don't know what is romantic anymore so i just went with something pretty boring, I guess


[WP] Falling in love is the worst. Whenever I fall for someone, I always unintentionally hurt them. They hurt, I hurt. This is a literal curse, which is why I swore love off. Until my eyes locked with yours


“How many dates did it take with this one this time?” My roommate was already teasing when he saw my sullen expression as I walked into the apartment. 

I just heaved a heavy sigh as I dropped all my weight on the couch. I won’t bother telling him that I had caused her harm yet again… I’m pretty sure he already had a clue on what happened after this increasingly frustrating trend. 

I honestly wondered if I’m cursed or something because all I’m ever good for is hurting anybody that gets too close to me. I picked up a throw pillow, using it to cover up my face as I let out a muffled scream. 

‘Calm down, no need to take it out on the poor pillow, you’re hurting it too with your bad breath” 

I gave him a glare then threw the pillow at him 

“Ow! Now you’re hurting me too!” 

“Pr!ck” I retorted as I moved to his side. If his good luck wasn’t cancelling out this curse of a bad luck stream, I probably wouldn’t have accepted his offer to remain, roommates, even after we graduated uni. 

“Not my fault these girls are too weak for ya” 

I could only offer a small smile because that may be the most enlightening thing he’s ever said to me in a while “Maybe I should just date a guy too. F*ck it, I don’t even want to date anymore” I said with a chuckle as I leaned against his frame

“Might be a good idea. You’ll be one of my kind then” 

I could still hear the teasing in his tone. Yes, Alec, my roommate, is gay and proud of it. I do believe some of his gay was rubbing off on me. Something I always tell him whenever we go out to buy house supplies and I get stuck in a dilemma over a few things. 

“And because you were dumped over some unknown accident again! We’re going out!” This could never be good. I could tell just with his excitement and the way he wasted no time in getting up from the sofa. I didn’t have much of a choice when I was already being dragged by the arm. 

 

Minutes later, We were standing in front of the grandest gay cub downtown. Alec was already greeting some of his friends while I stood there awkward and a bit dumbfounded. I was so out of element, I muttered to myself as I followed after him. 

I was mistaken if I thought the outside was flashy. The inside was far more flamboyant.

“Why’d I let him drag me here” 

“Nothing wrong with trying something out” 

I jumped where I stood and looked around frantically. My eyes fell upon the brightest hazel eyes I have ever seen in my life. As much as I wanted to retort something or try to defend my earlier words before, nothing seemed to come out

“Oh, Chris! You’re here tonight! What did you get left again” Alec had all but thrown himself at the man named Chris, and there I stood, just watching the interaction. 

“Hey there, Alec” A fond smile spread across his lips and I could tell they were close “No need to greet me like that” He clutched his shirt in pretense hurt.

I couldn’t help but feel as if I could keep watching this man

“Perfect timing though!” Alec was already gleeful as he dragged me forward by the arm again “This is Marcus. He’s been my roommate since uni and I think you guys have the same curse so take care of him for me, I’m gonna enjoy myself tonight” 

By the time Alec had finished talking, I was shoved into Chris’ arms and I couldn’t help but swear under my breath as I steadied myself “Damn Alec, you don’t just push people like that” I was a bit annoyed but when I heard him laughing, I just couldn’t help but calm down a little.

“He’s always been like that” 

I was surprised when he wasn’t even surprised to catch me at the very least. More like he found it amusing? 

“Want to get something to drink? I’ll buy it for you since Alec did say take care of you” He teased with a playful wink before he made his way towards the bar. 

I have no idea why I followed but there was something pretty attractive about this guy. I couldn’t tell if it was because he knew how to play along or if it was this subtle sullen vibe I often said I possessed. 

“So… Chris?” I started as I sat down on the barstool next to his “Sorry you had to be stuck with me”

“No worries. I need the calm company anyways” He flashed me a small smile as he pushed the shot of vodka towards me “I just had a bad night and I could use someone chill to drink with”

A soft hum escaped me as I thought of what he meant by that but I just shrugged it off and took the vodka shot gratefully “What did he mean that since you’re cursed like me?” I had meant it jokingly but when he froze mid-drink, I knew I shouldn’t have asked.

“Can’t seem to stop myself from hurting the people I love. I’m pretty sure something’s wrong with me” He just flashed me a bitter smile before he down the rest of his drink.

“Seems like we do have the same curse after all” I muttered more to myself before asking for a bourbon on the rocks this time. “One way or the other, something just happens and the next thing you know, you can’t stand hurting them so you end things before they get hurt more. Sucks to be an investigator”

When I mentioned the part that I was an investigator, he looked me up and down “Want to know something fun, Marcus? I’m an investigator too” He then reached into his suit pocket and showed me his badge. He really was. A private one but still was. I could see now why he seemed to understand. 

That night, we simply occupied a booth at the far end of the club. We spent the night drinking and talking about all the threats on the lives of our loved ones. It wasn’t even an amusing topic yet it was strangely assuring that I wasn’t alone in my situation. 

“You know, We should date instead. I need me a man that can stand his ground against these threats” I had no idea, really, what went over me to say such words but before I could get a response, Alec came and draped my arm over his shoulders.

“What did you do to poor little Marc, Chris? He looks dead wasted” 

“Nothing, nothing We just talked and I guess he can’t hold his alcohol well” He flashed an apologetic smile and helped us get a cab back to the apartment. When I woke up some time in the afternoon, I had a text from an unknown number. When I opened the text, it just read:

I look forward to that date with you. Text me when you wake up

-C

With just those words, I couldn’t help but grin. Maybe I shouldn’t swear off love,maybe I should just be gay, after all.


12
$ 10.56
$ 10.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

I laughed with the turn of the events.The investigator meets n investigator. Is there any continuation for this? Maybe they just needed to know theirselves better so they will be lifted from their curse.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Idk Marc wants me to write a bed scene but I'm afraid I might get banned or something 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm afraid too. 😂 Just switch it to their discovery of their inner depth and perhaps they can find their real partners in the last part... Or maybe they just end as gay🤔.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't mind a gay love story tho 😂😂😂 it's actually more appealing to me than most romances

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, you said it.. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sheesh, this is quite cute. Seems like a three-way might occur. 👀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lol let's see if their gay spirit visits me in my sleep and I find the energy to write down the deed here 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sheesh, I'm all up for it. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol then may the hoely spirit guide me not to get banned 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Marcus already grabbed the offer placed at him and who knows that would be the begining of a gay encounter with Chris and Marcus. Should I wait for the Continuation?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm not sure I plan to continue this, actually 😅 I mean, you're free to continue it if you think there's a much fitting end to it but I'm more focused on satisfying the prompt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will there be a continuation of this?

I am not sure Chris meant what Marcus was thinking with the date, it could just be a fun outing with a dude.

Sometimes we are unlucky with relationships and that doesn't mean that we should quit on finding true love but if that the path Marcus choose to walk on, who am I to stop him.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm still thinking about whether I'll continue it or not since I've already satisfied the prompt requirements and that's enough for me 😅 I'm not sure if someone else wants to give more depth to this article though. And idk, guys rarely use the term date outside of the romantic spectrum so I highly doubt it would be just hanging out because if it's just hanging out, I think Chris would have said so

$ 0.02
2 years ago