Lady Frost

14 50
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

“We’re in the negatives again! And on that note, make sure to prepare your thickest coats and some firewood because the local weather center has announced that there will be colder days ahead…” 

As the radio broadcaster fell into blabber of technicalities, Harold got up from his cozy sat and turned the volume down. 

“It’s gonna be cold for a while? She must be in a bad mood” He muttered to himself as he paced around his small cabin, hoping to find his thick coat and his walking cane. “It should be about time I paid her a visit,” He said whilst gazing out the frosted window. 

Once done dressing up, he looked out the window once more before opening the back door of his house. The wind had a bite to it that could send anybody running back to inside for warmth. But no, there was no better time than now to go meet her. 

Slowly, he made his way deep into the forest that was not so far from his home. It was fortunate that the trees somehow acted as windbreakers, else, he would be taking this trip much longer than he would have hoped for. 

In his youth, this would have taken him merely minutes had he rushed to the center of the forest, but being 64, his knees were growing weak. The biting cold was making it harder for him to move and much sooner, he would have to stop altogether. But while he can, he will. 

While lost in thought, the sight of a blue-skinned woman shook him back to his reality. “There you are frost”

The woman merely stole a glance before turning on her heel to head deeper into the forest.

“Where are you going? Are you mad at me? ” Harold asked despite the exhaustion and dryness in his voice.

“You’re late,” She said quite sternly. 

Her tone was befitting of her character. It always has and probably always will “I’m not as youthful as I once was” Harold motioned to himself as she turned to steal another glance at him.

“I’m aware. Yet it wouldn’t hurt to visit more often” She said as she settled in a pile of rocks that seemed fitting to be sat on. “It’s been lonelier with each passing year” She motioned for him to sit beside her. And without question, he gladly did.

“It has been for me too, Frost” He breathed out a hum and settled beside her. “It wouldn’t hurt if you came to visit me for once” He traced as he pulled out a small box from his coat pocket. “Like you used to before…” 

The downcast gazes didn’t escape her, yet she knew there wasn’t anything she could do to comfort him. “Won’t the people fear me?” Curiously, she took the box from his hand. For a moment, she gazed at it and gave it a shake, hoping to get an idea of what was inside.

“Just open it,” He said with impatience and a slight hint of amusement.

With a bit of a huff, she pulled off the ribbon on the box, then slipped open the box lid. “It’s a ring?” She said as she raised it to what little light seeped into the forest “Why are you giving me a ring?” She glanced at him yet he was already off his seat and was kneeling in front of her.

“If you would allow me?” He asked for the ring back so he could slip it onto her ring finger “I wanted to do this on the day you became like this.”

“But you stepped on the wrong side of the lake,” her tone was heavy with sadness. “You seem better as a human though” The corner of her lips twitched up, hoping she could force a smile. 

“I know… but if you would allow me to. Let me join you in this curse of yours as I should have all those years ago” 

“I don’t want to be lonely anymore, but I also don’t want you to have this life I have now. It was lovely to watch you live as you promised me when I saved you from the lake and it would be lovelier to have seen you with a family we never had” Gently, she caressed his cheek and he couldn’t help but press her hand more against his skin. The coldness pricked and numbed his skin, yet it was still the hand of the woman he loved all these years. 

“I won’t be taking no for an answer this time, frost” He flashed her one of the brightest smiles he could muster before he stood up and offered his hand. 

Together, they walked deep into the forest and stopped at the edge of the lake that had turned frost into what she was now. 

“This time… I promise that we’ll be together”

He walked further ahead alone while frost watch. With one final look at her, he pierced his walking cane into the frozen layer and allowed the ice to shatter. In a matter of minutes, he was already sinking deep into the icy cold water. 

Another few minutes passed and there was stillness in the lake once again. At first, Frost thought it was a failed attempt. But when a feathery touch was tapping on her shoulder, she knew that he wouldn’t be alone for the succeeding winter to come.


Another series of shameless self promotion of my juungle account again 😅

But we have to do what is needed to be done. As usual, she's just right there in my collection :") and it would be cool if you could check it out

https://www.juungle.net/#/collection/ca495aa47f95e6f2c2a661f49ec17eac9534ebe792b66a93d93adcc0149594c4

 


11
$ 10.57
$ 10.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @curiouscat
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

Another masterpiece oi ang galing 🥳😍 maganda din lalo yong story 😍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank youuuu It was supposed to be a tragedy again tho :""( when Kaya magkakatime uli

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely story, worthy of you my dear friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it this time too ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

patiiii ako nilamig lalo huehue beautiful and sad wala akong matinong masabi parang andun pa rin ako sa lake ksksk

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Inabot Ka Ng lamig Dyan? OnO ANG lakas Pala Ng storywritting skills ko Kung about Ka Dyan 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto un drawing mo sis di ba and tou even made a story of it. Galing naman talaga.

I dunno why I feel sad and happy at the same time while reading this. But in all fairness, i love the story

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It isss and I need to find time to make a new drawing or a new story for my story collection :"" pero may inuuna Kami sa art park na activity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm propped with double blanket as I read this. It's s cold in here, Now I felt colder. 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The frosty air reached you even way over there :") How'd you like the story though?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See, the Devil is here. Well it reminded the mythical story of frost giants.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

What are frost giants???? I've never heard of those creatures before OnO

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s from Noth Mythology

$ 0.00
2 years ago