I just want to draw

31 65
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Stories, Thought, Writing, Blogging, ...

For those who have known me on this platform and on noise.cash and maybe outside of these platforms, they know me as an artist. Someone who loves to create and mix colors together. Someone who is probably moody af but manages to calm down once I have a pen in my hands. Okie, actually… scratch that, I lose it when my sketch doesn’t go the way I imagine it too 🤣🤣🤣 but art is the most liberating hobby I have.

Art is the most visual representation of freedom in the sense that the artist just shows everything they have to their audience. It is vulnerability and at the same time, it’s just being able to do things and that’s what makes art so worthwhile. All the creatures in your head, all the thoughts you don’t want people to tell, you can just show them.

I'm actually told a lot that most of my artwork is depressing but then, this is how I wish to express myself and my demons. To each their own way of expression and demons that they need to carry. And I am not afraid to show you the kind of demons I have

What others think won’t matter and shouldn’t even matter, nor their opinions because they have their own view of things. And hopefully, as an artist, you don’t feel dominated by their views because you may lose yourself in the process. You might get restricted with their own expectations of you and how your art should be. It will basically strip you of the only way you can express yourself so don’t be afraid to show people your drawings even if it isn’t so good yet. We all have our own styles and our own techniques. 

I started somewhere too XD but the development isn't so bad. Trying to refine my skills gave my sketches a more refined and professional look

Eventually, you will find something that will suit you. But it wouldn’t be so bad to understand the difference between constructive criticism and just hurtful comments XD those will help you get to where you want to be. I mean, liberty was never achieved by one person alone, so it would take a few other people’s help to make you feel liberated even in an artistic aspect. Even I had some help along the way, and I still do (but even with the help, I still can’t draw a proper nose 🤣🤣🤣)

Despite the fact that I still can’t draw some stuff like backgrounds and different nose angles, I still draw to get better because drawing gives me a sense of control. I already know the world itself is made of chaos, that’s why we have the theory of entropy but just with art, I can control it and manipulate any medium the way I want it to. Seems kind of weird that I’m writing about freedom yet I’m also writing about control. Well, freedom still has its limits (but this is in my opinion. And is heavily restricted to abilities. In this case, I’m restricted by my own movements and by the capabilities of my materials but aside from that, I’m able to do what I want). I’m also not saying that just because you can’t do something doesn’t mean you will never be able to. That’s what practice is for, dear. Let your capabilities expand bit by bit to make you feel more able of doing something, and to make you feel freer.

With being able to expand your capabilities, the ability to express more just comes hand in hand with that. Like when you learn watercolor (the messiest mediums I’ve had and one of the hard ones to control besides ink) and you finally come to understand how to manage it, how to control the flow, and the way the colors bleed into the paper, you just feel like you can make anything. But I think it works the same when you figure out how to work with any media. There is just this undeniable satisfaction and sense of happiness when you know you can handle any kind of artistic media they throw at you. 

Let me just shamelessly put my most recent digital drawing here because I really improved and it makes me happy ;;w;;

I don't think I need to emphasize my definition of freedom because it's scattered everywhere butttt @Ozzyy @Ghostwriter @gertu13 @Jane @Ruffa why not give this challenge prompt a try?

Challenge rules:

  1. Write about Freedom

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun






17
$ 14.14
$ 13.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Kryptlook
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 8
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Stories, Thought, Writing, Blogging, ...

Comments

This is an interesting way of putting it, a freedom of expression that gives you a sense of control. It is important that we continue to have this freedom, in most parts, to keep ourselves sane and the other, to share our artistic expressions with others. Keep drawing and painting dear friend 💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always been called odd but then the definition of freedom that i sincerely hold onto is being able. you will never be able if you don't have a sense of control over what you do despite the limitations and that's why i ended up with this prompt response

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have your freedom with your art. Having that sense of control when you hold your pen and control your own narrative by sketching them out gives you that control. I love when you said you don't want to be defined by others and that is right because if you keep answering to every name-calling you would lose your edge. Being you is what the world needs and how your message is distinct even if they say it is depressing. You are your first audience and when it is acceptable to you, the world would follow.

Love this, Cell. Well done. 😊🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the name-calling actually added more fuel to make more depressing art before 😂😂😂 I'm kind of the "call me this? okay I'll make sure you remember me by that" kind of person. most of the time it's good but when it's in the bad, i get worse than what they initially called me and i think that's my edge 😂😂😂 but at least i enjoy what i do now. thank you for reading, olaf UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, this cracked me up big time haha. That's the key, enjoying what you do. You are most welcome, Cell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you seem to enjoy my sense of humor OnO don't tell me you're pretty depressed too ono

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha living in Nigeria, you have no choice than to cheer yourself up and look for ways to be happy 😂😂😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's a pretty strange culture. similar to smiling depression

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. We have so much bottled inside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true what you say and I don't understand why people pretend with their criticism, not constructive by the way, to try to change the personal way of how you communicate through what you do. Everyone has and lives their own realities. And no one should try to convince you to change your art form to the different way others see the world. When I started with my writings I wrote about everything, because I like everything, I received a lot of criticism to change from writing this to that. But nothing convinced me to change. Because everything I write comes from my heart and if you want to read me you can do it and if you don't you have the right not to.

Thanks for your invitation but I already received it early and I already introduced myself with the contest user. I already have my article that I will publish tomorrow about my freedom.

Good article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's just a matter of if it helps like in a sense of how to do proper proportions on the body and face,bow to handle a certain medium. an exchange in ideas is good and that's what i call constructive criticism in the art field. what sucks is when you have to conform to a certain way and you just lose your own colors

ohhh i didn't know you were already invited but i thought of you when i thought freedom because you just write freely UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true. I write what I want, and what comes to my mind. I am not a writer as such. I'm just starting in this world but it fascinates me. As well as I can write dark, I write happy, I write mysteries and deaths without purpose, I love freedom.

I like your drawing and your determination to always want to do better. That's being free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Freedom from your point of view is freedom in art. Everyone can paint about honesty or lies. however, color, line, and texture are information that can be judged by the painter's truth and freedom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you see it to objectively. in my perspective, it's simply just being able to do something. i just chose to represent it in art because of the number of ways you can show that you're able

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are indeed the best painter who will paint all good faces

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do have. And will be posted later..i thought wala kpa.. Nka tag ka dun 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh i thought you haven't seen it yet UwU i was just tagged into the challenge by the sister

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was tagged 3 days ago I guess 😅 you will read mine later ans you'll be shocked 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i read yours and I wasn't so shocked. i thought it was along the lines of that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, may nag invite na din sakin ahaha. Diko alam isusulqt ko 😵. Pero th3 beat talaga ung last art mo oii, try mo ng emint kasi 🤩🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

eto na nga eh,magbubukas na ng laptop after kumain 😂😂😂 I'm gonna try to mint this again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayy, oi baka madami bumili cool pa naman 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so damihan ko ng copy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag sa Juungle isa lang naman. Pag sa wax ata pwd madami ee not sure haha. Sa juungle muna try ikaw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last photo was awesome. Pulido and so clean na. ❤😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yiiss!!! that's why I'm proud of it na kahit ang pangit ng nose 😂😂😂 my digital is improving

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ve seen this prompt poppin’ out in some group chats on TG and I’m just so intrigued. And you describes art so beautifully. I wanna cry.... and I wanna write about this prompt, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you should go write too OwO i wanna see your rendition of freedom. kinda hoping it would be in relation to art because i know we both tried to improve that set of skills so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, you bet I'll be writing about art. As artists, it runs in our blood so it's second nature that we talk about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, @Hanzell for taking part in the challenge. Not everybody is a creator or feels the freedom to create. Many people do feel those restrictions you were talking about, especially when they compare their beginnings to other people's endings. It can be very frustrating to see something in your mind's eye but be unable to translate it to the page through writing, drawing, painting, or even digitalization.

Thanks for putting yourself out there! I enjoyed this article as well as your art.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just wanted to share my views and my sister wanted me to write about something else 😂😂😂 so here i am. i did find the need to show off my efforts over the years just to show that restrictions on the self can change over time

i appreciate that you did this little prompt challenge though! it's been a while since read.cash had anything like this

$ 0.00
2 years ago