Hide from the fog 3

12 38
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

When I finally came to, the first thing I heard were shackles. The cold, metal shackles that bound my wrists and ankles to the very same stone table where I saw the woman was before she transformed.

“Off with the suit!!” it was the creepy fake lord of the land that commanded the town folks and in a flash, knives, blades and even pitchforks came swooping in, ready  to tear the plastic-like suit off my body. It was to my surprise when none of the sharp objects could pierce through. We all blinked in disbelief. Even pulling off the helmet and the gloves nor boots was no use. At the very forefront of my mind, I was damn grateful for having listened to that old wizard who was selling out his stuff but now the problem was how to escape... 

“How will he return to his form if his suit is impenetrable?” Murmurs and whispers came from the crowd. The same thought came rushing into their heads. 

“I will remove the suit!!” I screamed out so as to get their attention “I’ll remove the suit. Just remove the restraints” I was hoping my negotiation would work but instead, more murmurs and whispers were raised from the sea of people. They didn’t seem to trust me at all. 

The fake lord looked to my direction and with such hesitation in his gaze. I assured him that I would not escape. It took a while but he reluctantly nodded and ordered the people to remove the restraints. 

As soon as the metal was off, I sat up and first kicked off the boots, then the gloves then proceeded to remove the suit. I squirmed out of it. For a moment, the crowd grew silent and I was pretty nervous with the things I had strapped onto my body prior to having put on the suit. I was met with wide eyes and shocked expressions as I got off the table and began walking to the direction of the town.    

Again, I was thankful for that wizard and now, the captain who told me one last thing before getting off the boat. And that these folks were unholy creatures. The bottles of holy water that I had strapped to my waist in addition to the blessed crucifix definitely was a huge help. Of course I still kept the helmet on. I don’t dare inhale the air here without any form of filter but I was finally making actual progress with this quest. 

I rushed to my room and took out the small bombs I had made. I took the bottles that hung from my belt and tied it to each bomb. After having done so, I threw one from the window. 

One.. two.. three. And boom it went off, leaving behind a mist of holy water. 

From the surrounding area, I could hear pained screams and screeches as people toppled over and paused what they had been doing. It was my chance. I ran out of the building, leaving behind bombs every few hundred meters, leaving behind a number of people who keeled over from the pain. The sight was chilling. Flesh melted as soon as they made contact with the holy water that was now turned to mist. Holy mist? 

I continued until I reached the center of the forest where the stone table stood. And there I dropped the most powerful bomb I had created and even attached the highest grade of holy water I had with me. The kind so potent that it could dispel any curse with ease. 

I left it on the table then made a run for it before it exploded. I hid behind the nearest tree but I never expected that the shock wave from the explosion would be so powerful that it could knock over so many trees. I peered out the tree that had now been rooted and gazed at the damage I had caused. 

The crater left behind was nothing short from impressive but my task was not yet over. I dragged myself to the center and raised my crucifix. There I prayed wholeheartedly the prayer the captain had given me before. 

A blinding light came from the crucifix and to my surprise, an image appeared before it. There, a gigantic knight appeared. I wasn’t sure what it had been looking at but it had slashed its mace around the forest. No tree was cut yet I could hear the screams of agony as it had finished its attack and withdrew back within the crucifix. I made my way back to the town but I barely managed a few steps before I succumbed to exhaustion. 

By the time I had awoken, I was no longer greeted with creepy smiles but instead, with concerned citizens that had apparently stood watch over my side in the 3 days that I was unconscious. 

There I learned that the fog were demons that possessed first their minds then their bodies. The stone table was apparently a gate to the underworld that was left behind by the island’s first inhabitants and that having broken it, they were freed from the curse of the demons. It was chilling listening to their tale but it was a relief. I saved the island and its inhabitants. 

And as I rode back on the captain's ship. I could see the delight on his face as I told him about the town

“I guess I can go back to my wife after this now” relief was evident as he stirred the boat to the direction of the port as quickly as he could so he could go back to see his wife. 


7
$ 8.79
$ 8.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Wow I really enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that was great how you solved it. I laughed a lot with the application of holy water as pumps. It was a very good resolution that you did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i couldn't think of other ways to ensure his survival besides the use of holy water if we're talking about dispelling demons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah that's right. You took a very good determination to take out those demons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I'm sure that kids are helping because i asked my younger cousins on how to end a story then they kept saying "it should go boom because new year is close"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good for you, having your little cousins ​​close to you, so they give you good ideas, hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At last! My Man is alive😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh i decided to let him live this time since i feel so morbid always having to kill them and all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good choice this time🤣.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As long as it fits the flow XD it's good for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm waiting for another one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll still have to look through prompts again XD plus the rain is making me lazy again

$ 0.00
3 years ago