Food additives: Sodium borate

31 327
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

It’s been awhile since I last posted about chemistry stuff so I thought I’d give it a go again. Today I’d like to introduce you to Sodium borate or Borax (Na2B4O7·10H2O). It’s a white powder in normal state and in most cases, it’s used as a cleaning material like detergents. Currently, it’s deemed as a “green agent” and is a replacement for a number of materials like soaps, shampoos and other cleaning products.  

But other than being a cleaning material, it’s also widely used in other sectors of the industry like as a potent insecticide also as a way to kill weeds surrounding your crops. It’s also an emulsifying agent in make up. 

In the medical field it’s used as an anti-fungal and a selective antimicrobial agent to a few microbes and sometimes it’s used in synthesis to produce boron derivative products like boric acid. 

But then did you know they get into your food too? 

So I saw that it’s a material used in some multivitamins but I’m not sure which ones those are. But besides being used in vitamins, I took note of the fact that this specific compound is commonly used as an ingredient in some noodles. Yes, that’s right. One of the most common comfort foods could possibly have borax. Fortunately while I was working in a food testing lab, the noodles here in the Philippines did not test positive for the presence of borax but I’m not sure with the other countries. Aside from noodles, fish crackers also sometimes test positive for the presence of borax. It bothered me because I love those

Not sure which country posted it but yeah, very yellow noodle water could be a sign but you could also confirm it if you have turmeric paper. At home we boil the noodles separately just to be safe XD
It's this kind of fish cracker that's popular here in my country. It's actually really good and is passable as a viand for lunch or breakfast but it's more commonly a snack

Why is it used as an ingredient? 

Simply because it’s an antimicrobial agent. It’s basically used as a preservative so that the noodles have longer shelf life while at the same time, it has that crunchy texture that imitates the frying process that’s common practice for noodles in the Philippines. (This is actually the common way to process commercial noodles here and is used by bi g companies like lucky me and nissin so they're safe if you got bothered by my article, if you’re curious: https://read.cash/@Xzeon/vegetable-noodle-making-ed86c9ab). This may be mean but I just want you guys to be healthy. 

As much as there’s really no official statement of the toxicity of borax, plus the limited journals I could find, it’s still best to stay away from them beacuse 

Borax can: 

Cause irritation

When in the cosmetic use but even when used as a hygiene product, the chances of getting irritation is high

Cause hormone problems

based on this study [http://resource.nlm.nih.gov/29620610R] of using borax with pest control and how it affected the rats’ testes through atrophy or shrinking. Also in how it reduced ovum count in female rats

Have high toxicity

Well the hormone problem is already self explanatory but then it can also do some organ damage, specifically in the urinary tract since borax is still a water-soluble salt, thus it will still get taken to the kidneys. 

In worse cases though, it can cause death

if taken in excessive amounts, one can experience severe vomiting, diarrhea, shock and eventually death if not remedied immediately


6
$ 5.06
$ 4.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @z_graeden
$ 0.06 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

I have much understand now about this , since I do hate chemistry in high school 😒😒😒, I'm superstitious when I took a brand of a noodles some time ago.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The hell? How could they put Borax in food? I knew it as a cleaning agent, so when I saw the 'Food Additives' part, I knew sum'n wasn't right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just wait, there's more 😂😂😂 i was lucky to find my internship journal where i kept note of all the weird ass food additives i found in my 3 months training. But yeah, it's hella gross to think cleaning agents get used in food a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damnnnn 😂😂😂 That's gonna make me a lot more paranoid when I eat now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome to my paranoia and the reason why my weight suddenly dropped in a year ahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nanithafuck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhh, san may turmeric paper? Ngayon ko lang naalaman yan, I mean narinig. Saka ung lucky me pancit canton ganyan din kulay ng water ee. May nabasa din si mader ng about jan simabihan nya lang ako na wag magkakain ng noodles kasi daw may embalsamo, hahaha. Embalsamo ee borax pala naman 😅 sa patay ang embalsamo ee bat nasama un sa noodles haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meron din ata. Yung hinahaluaan ng formaldehyde yung noodles. Yun yung pang embalsa pero sa testing lab kasi, yung formaldehyde usually sa gulay and seafood yan hinahalo, bihira sa noodles unless pang matagalan talaga na storage

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for tagging my article.. So this is the borax you've mentioned to me few months back.

I haven't seen that fish cracker from cebu but we have here bitukang manok and lai lai.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's a preservative that's been banned here for some reasons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👍 Thanks for reminding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baking soda is different from this? Because baking soda is commonly used for cleaning too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, baking soda is sodium bicarbonate and it's not thqt harmful compared to borax. I still find it strange that other countries apparently use this in food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But these two are likely the same? It's just that borax has stronger components than baking soda?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kind of. It's more reactive than sodium bicarbonate plus boron should only be taken in trace amounts by humans, else it's pretty toxic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Hehe. Now I know. We missed your chemistry stuff.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been thinking of getting back to those kinds because i need a change of pace for the new year

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I use boric acid in some foods. It is also used in baking. Cakes, pancakes, cookies. And I know people who drink a glass of water and a level teaspoon of boric acid every day to alkalize their body. Public people with morning programs are recommending this and endorsed by more knowledgeable naturists recommend it. I only use it in some preparations in the kitchen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously??? While in most testing labs here, they've been banning it left and right. How unusual that it's commonly used in other countries but not here. I wonder why the standards differ so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I really don't know. But I see that in the gourmet recipes that they also use and recommend it in their recipes. I always keep it in my kitchen as well as baking powder. They are supposed to have a similar effect in baking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I suggest to just stick with baking powder ;;-;; this one isn't all that safe to begin with and I'm still baffled as to why it's used as a food additive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you will not like the papaya candy, it is its best ingredient, the bicarbonate to harden the walls of the papaya.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bicarbonate is baking soda and that one is pretty safe. I even use thay for cookies so i think I'll still like the papaya candies 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to Know. I have already finished the publication about the candy, I will publish it at any time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saww OwO and i have no idea what pillocillo is 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a solid concentrate product of the extraction of a sugar directly from the sugar cane plant. The juice is extracted and then when it is prepared on the fire it is concentrated and solidified. It is very tasty and with that we prepare sweets in my country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think i have an idea what that is but that's mostly sold only kn provinces here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sugar cane was produced a lot in my country. In the places that collected the canes I used to see how they prepared molasses or papelón. But now it is not a homemade product as before and it is expensive. Not many can buy it now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh my guess was right. We call that panutcha here and it's also pretty expensive but it has a really long shelf life. My grandmother uses that to make coco jam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah I'm glad you managed to identify it. This panutcha product is excellent for this type of sweet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well now I'm sure that i need to go home to the mountains so i can get that stuff for free XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago