Dream-catching spiders

21 49
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

[WP] We always used to think that dreamcatchers were modeled after spider webs. It turns out, it was made that way for a reason. As the spider population declines, humanity is starting to see the effects of fewer and fewer natural dreamcatchers.


“All the kids have nightmares these days” Was what the old man that lived across the street said when we once stopped by his house. 

He was a crazy one, or so the entire town said. Everyone told us to stay away and just leave him alone. They said his house was infested with pests and that we would end up getting cursed just like what happened to his family who suddenly perished one day. 

My family just moved into that town recently. We weren’t even sure if the rumors were true or not but we all did agree that the man they kept talking about was odd. On our first day in town, he came to greet us and even gave each of us a dream catcher. 

It shouldn’t be odd, yes. But what bothered me was how those dream catchers were made. Or rather, what it was made of. It wasn’t thread, that was for sure. It was sticky and just looking at it gave me the creeps. I still kept it, either way. And hung it over the window of what would be my new room. My mother and my older sister, on the other hand… They threw theirs away. 

It was strange to admit that since we moved into that house, I’ve never slept so peacefully in my life. I often had nightmares when we still lived in the city. I always thought they would haunt me even here but despite the fact that there was a creepy house just across the street, and that spiders were a regular visitor in our household, it wasn’t such a bad place to live in. Maybe the people in town just overreacted. 

A week after we moved in, I decided to pay our neighbor a visit. I knocked on his front door a few times and in a matter of minutes, he was there. He greeted me with a hello but what caught my eye was the spider that was perched on his shoulder. 

“What brought you here, neighbor?” He asked as he invited me inside.

“I… just wanted to thank you for the dream catchers,” I said with what smile I could manage. I made my way into his house and what struck me the most was the number of spiders that freely roamed his house. It gave me the creeps but I chose not to ask. 

“You’re welcome. Do you want some cocoa?” He gestured to his own cup which he said also had cocoa. 

I answered with a nod and he poured some for me. We walked to his back porch which looked much cleaner compared to the inside of his house. 

He gazed out blankly as he sipped his cocoa “Is the dream catcher working for ya?” 

“It is, I haven’t had such good nights when we lived in the city” 

“There’s barely any spiders in the city, boy. That’s why people are all having nightmares there” He muttered bluntly 

“What does a spider have to do with nightmares?” I asked curiously before I took a sip of the cocoa

“Have you ever wondered why dreamcatchers are like spider webs?” 

I slowly shook my head. The realization finally hit me. I always thought it was curious, the shape of those dream catchers. 

“Spiders don’t just eat pests, boy. They’re also protectors. Dunno when people thought they were pests too but they’re harmless creatures” He reached to his shoulder to get the spider onto his hand. “They’ve been protecting us for hundreds of years now” 

For a while, I just sat there and thought about the things we talked about. It may have been one of the strangest things I’ve ever talked about with a complete stranger but it made sense to me. 

When I returned home, that evening, I came home to an extremely worried family. They warned me not to go back to that house again but I still did. 

Word around town got out that I was being brainwashed and that I would be his next victim. The town’s people knew nothing. It wasn’t him, now the spiders who killed his family. It was the nightmares that consumed them. Nightmares came true. The town was just fortunate that he was trying to create as many dreamcatchers as he could with the spiders’ help. 

The town thought otherwise. On one night, the town went into a frenzy. They all rushed to our neighbor’s home when they found spiders in their homes. They thought it was his doing. They burned his house down. And even went so far as to hurt him. That very night, as the town’s people slept, each of them kept waking up to nightmares. 

Days passed and people started to dear sleeping. Their nightmares grew more terrifying than the last. At some point, they couldn’t even differentiate their nightmares from reality. The town was thrown into utter chaos. Even my family did. They all tried desperately to look for the man but he was nowhere to be found. Only I knew where he would be found. But I would never tell them where he was. They could all have nightmares for all I cared, as long as I could continue my peaceful nights, the world might as well fall into chaos for all I cared.


Hoping this would help me get a replacement phone cuz bank transactions won't process because it's holy week here so everything is basically on pause


9
$ 18.03
$ 17.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Beautiful story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you have a phone soon. 🍀💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it gets delivered to me soon is the issue now XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This is very creative writing indeed. Loved the concept of connection from spiderwebs to the dreamcatchers. I don't know if what I'm about to say makes some sense because I don't know if you know it, but this reads a bit like a creepy pasta, in that it makes you feel that uneasiness in some parts or the mysticism, the curiosity. Makes sense? Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was actually going for that vibes since it's been a while since I last wrote anything creepy. And I just wanted to enjoy the prompt idea since it was really good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm backkkkkk Fr Fr now

You've been so busy in my absence 😭😭 And this endingggg, spooky stuff. Finally 😭 it's been such a long while. I better get writing.

What happened to your phone?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OOOZZZZYYYYYYY YYOOUUU BAACCCCKKKK Well yeah, I wrote a lot while you were gone! BOOIII I MISSED YOUUU my phone went poof and stopped charging. had it checked but lol it might cost more to get it fixed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

YEAHHHHHH I AMMMMMMMM

You certainly got busy, and it's paying off UwU 🤝🫂. I missed you toooo, buy I'm back from an early-life crisis (if there's such a thing), courtesy of uni. That sounds bad... I hope you get a new one soon🥲

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well I bought a new one but I'm waiting for it to get shipped to my house. Can't go out cuz of a second lockdown and all You live tho ;;-;; do you still have more exams?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay okay I understand.

Nah I'm done with all the exams for the semester so I'm good 😂💪🏾

$ 0.00
3 years ago

more ozzy arounddd >w< but I'll get to reading tomorrow UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano ung dreamcatcher?😁 hinahanap q sa article pag my artwork k nun pro wla aq mKita. San nagpunta c matanda?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dunno how to draw dreamcatchers XD but it looks like a spiderweb kasi The matanda went into hiding in the forest with the kid so they can raise spiders together OwO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhhh, nakakita na ako ng dream catcher pero di pa ata kami nagkakaroon ng ganon. Diko tuloy alam sasabihin ko haha, anyways, maganda ung story pero asan na si old man kaya?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

they look like spiderwebs kaya XD dunno if effective kasi di pa ko nagkakaroon ng dream-cather. Old man went in hiding, kasama nung bata. They just went to live in the forest so they can take care of more spiders

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhhh, pano naman ung pamilya nong bata 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They went crazy too UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahadoy, di kaso sila naniniwala. Anyways, next story na agad. Saka how's Dana and Roland na?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bukas na next story XD Dana and Roland... ewan ko lang ;;-;; Di pa kasi ako tapos sa work project ko kaya di ko magawan ng time yung action scenes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayyy, waiting is me 🙋♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago