Death or me? Ch. 1

56 108
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

[Prompt 1] You mysteriously inherit a mansion from a long lost relative. You and your family move into the house and come to find out the house grants immortality as long as you never leave the premises. If you leave, you die.

[Prompt 2] You wake up after a night of drinking out with your friends. You don't remember much. The first thing you notice is that your hands were bound and you're on a moving carriage. Suddenly a person in front of you says "Hey you. You're finally awake"


Present day, 2020

This figure appeared by the gates again. It would be nice to touch her for once, I can't even remember how many decades, maybe centuries since I've been trapped in here. I yearn to see what the outside world is now but I don't think I could bare disappearing now.. not when I'm this old already and not when I've recently started making short exchanges with her. I do enjoy her stories and at times I even let myself slip with the world I knew of. I could well be over a hundred, maybe two hundred years old now, me and my family that is... We should have left this accursed place as soon as we found the chance a hundred years ago. That was probably one of our biggest mistakes. One that would definitely linger in my memory for as long as we remain alive.

***

1881

It was a Friday night, last day of classes and I made sure to ring my parents through the public telly to tell them that I'd be coming home late since a boy's night out was a much needed event after all the papers the university had assigned to us. Or so we all thought it would be. I wasn't even sure with the time nor how many pints we'd finished. The table was still in high spirits yet something felt odd. Like something or someone was watching me from the corner of this pub. Or maybe I was just beyond tipsy and paranoid. Didn't matter. Tonight should be a blast for tomorrow would be the start of the winter holidays and it would be a while before I would get to see these goons I call friends. Anyways, I was about to go to the bar counter again when I felt a sharp sting on the back of my head then all that followed was pitch black and a loud thud.

Had it not been for the swaying motion that made me feel like I was moving, I probably would have stayed unconscious until my arrival to god knows where they planned to take me. I wanted to sit up and rub where that lingering pain came from but to my surprise I found my hands bound, so were my feet. I had tried wriggling around, hoping to get a feel of what container I was even in. It was still dark, pitch black but I was certain I was moving. I could hear the tip tap of horse hooves on concrete. I groaned, making whatever noises I could despite my muffled mouth but I seem to be in a tightly sealed box or they were simply ignoring me.

My guesses were both wrong when a small slit of light came into view, there I saw a pair of eyes that were peering into my so-called cage "Hey you. You're finally awake." Again, I resumed my struggle and he only laughed. Were my attempts this futile?

The remainder of the trip was spent in silence, of course besides the fact that i still struggled to get out of my constraints but none seemed to work and i only gained a few scratches from all that friction on my skin. It stung but not as much as not knowing where or what I was up against. As soon as the movements stopped, two doors flung open and I could faintly make out the figures reaching for me. It was still night after all. They didn't seem to care about their hostage with how roughly they had grabbed me but what surprised me was that there were other carriages. I saw my parents, my younger sister and our dog, a few of our belongings in another carriage then gates. Huge ivy adorned gates and walls that seemed to have been there since the 16th century. The gates were still so magnificently well kept and surprisingly, so was the inside of it.

The gates opened and what I could only call as a castle stood tall and proud, it was opened too, as if welcoming us inside. We walked (more like got pushed inside by these hooligans) and there stood a man. Someone I could only say is one of the family's most respected ancestor. He who had started the wealth of the Knightly family. He who should have been dead since the end of the 17th century yet there he was, welcoming us in all youth and good health. This is too unreal.

"Welcome my descendants" His smile was that of pure ecstasy. It seemed like he was beyond pleased to have come face to face with his descendants. That or this man was just crazy but he looked like the spitting image of the man in the painting at home. The family home that is. What was he doing here?

"I know you have questions but I called for you here to offer a deal. I want your family to care for this house as I have for so many... years. But be warned, You can never escape this house... not until you find your next successors that carry the Knightly blood"

That years part, he was kidding about that, right?

"Sadly this house hates being lonely" I noticed how he seemed to be caressing the closest pillars and how he did so with much affection, as if caressing the woman of his dreams. "And also hates strangers... You people will simply live here. That's all we ask. The lands are as wide as the walls that surround this place. Make use of it. Do what you want. For now you may go out but for the next few years do take care when you do so. I do think I've extended my stay here in this house... It's time for me to travel. I was never allowed to as a child but now I do think i can"

We were all silent. He doesn't look like he would cater to our questions about this house, much more about what exactly he meant with his words. After his little monologue we were asked to unpack our items while he packed his. By dawn the next day, his carriage was ready and he was bidding the family adieu.


So this is what it's like to combine prompts @Ozzyy @Leo_kitti

39
$ 5.01
$ 4.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @RaemaKhan
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now this is a story. A cryptic man, a weird house, a kidnapping, and finally, the house seemed to be imbued with his wife's spirit (I read chapter 2 before this). Nice nice, continue

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I cannot think of ways to lift a curse πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ why is it so easy to make a curse but hell trying to remove it, gosh- or maybe I should just trap her in there too ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trapping her in there will just be depressing af

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hushh i already figured it out!!! I just need the energy to finish writing later :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely piece of writing as always. Very thrilling and exciting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it thrilling though? I didn't feel it while i wrote XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it is as you phrased many of the scenes and how you explained what is happening

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's my writer self at play and i was having second thoughts on shortening it because when i looked at my first draft, it was hella long and i wasn't sure if people would read that much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This nice article Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Nice horror story. I like it. Waiting for more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading. Hopefully later i can edit my draft then post it here. Gotta do work first

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, you are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be a great story to read. An old house that gives a lot of life to its family tenants. You just have to see at what price!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And to what extent they would be immortal but hey, i still want a romance to bloom so I'm finding ways to incorporate romance

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will know how to find something good!.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will but work first :"" and maybe some creamy coffee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like to watch vampires movies.i see many movies Thank you so much for sharing this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank uou so much for stopping by and taking a read but it's not about vampires

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I first saw the vampires movie a few years ago. And I've been remembering their bloody victims for a long time. And to this day I don't understand if this is really the case or just these ideas. But an amazing story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine isn't vampire related though πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… it's just the case of an old house but i can't quite figure out how I'll word out the way the house was cursed. I do love vampires though but i think there's already plenty of vampire stories out there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine isn't vampire related though πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… it's just the case of an old house but i can't quite figure out how I'll word out the way the house was cursed. I do love vampires though but i think there's already plenty of vampire stories out there

What people actually discover is that there are vampires in empty houses because they live for many years.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but i honestly don't plan to include vampires in here else it won't adhere to the prompt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right Dear, maybe it's just my thinking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. What a good story. I really read it well.. I was like watching those vampire movies.. Since they live for so long, so are they vampires? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, they aren't vampires but the house is cursed. What i can't figure out is how the house became cursed πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but i assure you that this will just be very short

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. I want to live in that house so i will have longer life πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but can't go out though πŸ˜… Will there be a love story here? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't mind as long as i can order online πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and have internet access because information is hinestly the only thing i want to live long enough for. Well i already hinted the presense of an outside character so why not

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wah.. haha....rapunzel and the prince be like. Haha. But the opposite one...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kind of? But I'm still gonna work that part out, I'm not satisfied with my draft

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looking forward 😁😁 it's good to read some love story here 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so good, first I wondered how you would pull this off but they hey! You did, and you did so very wonderfully

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but making combo prompts makes my imagination go further. And now i think this will reach three parts at least because my initial draft isn't satisfying me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh you're continuing it??!!! Yaaaayyyyy!! πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ€Έβ€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I plan to :") just a disappearing ancestor doesn't seem to cut it for me but I'll see what comes up later ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. I look forward to reading more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow another lovely piece of mastery, combination of two times is so wow kudos dear, I know I would enjoy this. πŸ˜ŒπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope i can actually make sense of how i cursed the house first though because the ending in mind became quite romantic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It made a lot of sense , actually in literally you utilizes every kind of the genres of writing prose as well as all this literally devices , you should start writing a book propably don't worrying about completing it just start writing it. Well am envious of your writings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been meaning to write a book for NANOWRIMO which is a month dedicated to book writing but i had initially wanted to make use of an older series because i wasn't so satisfied with the length of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh well that good , but begin writing it already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm. Will he stay at the same age πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He will, he didn't transform into a creature though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting. I will be very happy if you give us the next chapter ^_^. Or is there a next? I will just stay tuned.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I'll publish the next part tomorrow, for now I'm just thinking about what else to add to this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this a vampire, romance story like? Or, I can't think of anything. I'll just wait for the next chapter tomorrow. But your series Reaper has no update yet, I will look to that series too ^_^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got stuck with reaper ;;-;; I've been looking for a better prompt to justify my last alice but so far, reddit has been into dragins and superheroes again, can't find something more fitting for a psychopath

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eh, Iike it, so i will still wait to it. Take your time from thinking so you can give a better story for the next chapter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I originally plabned to revive the American-british revolution with my last alices as sociopaths but then i couldn't work it out that well so now I'm just looking for a more simpler thought to follow

$ 0.00
3 years ago