Dark creatures of the Philippines pt. 2

61 120
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

In continuation to the sort of series I had started yesterday, (Found here: Dark creature of the Philippines) These are more creatures that I'll be sharing with you guys

Multo / mumu

As amusing as the other name is, this is the filipino version of ghosts and spirits. The term multo was originally derived from the spanish word "muerto" which means dead. Among the most popular kind of ghosts here is called the white lady, which is often a lady in a white dress, long hair and a bloody face or bloody eyes. Most of the time, these kinds of ghosts are accompanied with vengeful stories and curses. Even in the city, they're pretty popular creatures because ghost stories are told more often than the stories of the creatures I've talked of before.

I'm not sure about any kinds of diets these creatures have. I don't think they even need to consume anything because they're not living creatures after all. And as for origins, it seems like ghost stories have been in use for a really long time


Tikbalang

Tikbalang, tigbalang, tigbalan, tikbalan, or demon horse is a strange creature that has the face and feet of a horse then the body of a man. They're often said to be found in forests and are described as playful creatures. Their diets are often said to be just plants and grass around the area but they still target humans, mostly young females which they rape th to bear their children (I have no idea if this is real, I've never heard of a case) Often, they're said to be friendly to children too.

I have no Idea of the origins of this creatures, nor can I find anything that doesn't lead me to centaur as a search result. But one funny thing about this creature is that in Philippine folklore, when it's sunny yet it rains, it's said that these tikbalangs celebrate a wedding of their kind


Kapre

Among all the creatures in Philippine folklore, the kapre is probably one of the friendliest creatures on the list since they don't harm humans. The most they do is play tricks on humans. They're often described as large, hairy men that always smoke large cigars or tabacco although some texts say that this may be the Philippine version of big foot made popular in western culture but the differences prove otherwise

These kapres are often found atop huge old trees and only come down when they intend to be friendly with humans. They kind of act as a protector too in some cases but often they're told as tricksters that make you lost in the forest. they cast spells that make someone get lost in the forest and one way to break this spell is to wear your shirt inside out, where the seam lines are outside. This is where the filipino belief of wearing your shirt inside out will prevent you from getting lost ( XD it's an amusing belief, i know, but sometimes it works sometimes).

As for its origins, I've read that the word kapre was originally derived from the arab word Kaffir which meant non-believers. What I'm curious about is if the original kapres were nothing but large humans who were banished by the Islamic religion for being heretics. I'm still trying to look for supporting texts about that


There's still a few more popular creatures to go ;;-;; it's taking so long because I like finding out their origins or a bit of history about them since they're interesting creatures. And if they ever coincide with other country's folklore

11
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Multo is just like Samara from horor movie Rings. I like her, she is scary ๐Ÿ˜ Kapre seems fun, the tricks he performs on people must be interesting. It is probably played with the consciousness and mind of man.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think samara from the ring is what we call white lady but still a ghost ๐Ÿ˜Š kapre are said to be nice though, just playful though it's weird that people going into forests here always wear their shirts inside out first just to avoid the spells of a kapre ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lets go into forest to find him :) he can play with us and we can play with him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was told there was one bear the house my grandparents had back in the province, I'd love to check it out though ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They just wanted to scary you. But, I like to belive it is true. Lets go and hang out with him :) count me in

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well if you ever visit here then we have a lot of enchanted places to run off to. I still want to finish this mythological creature series ;-; but I've been a bit occupied

$ 0.00
3 years ago

O my god! What are this! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜ณ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They're mythological creatures of my country

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are scary๐Ÿ˜ฎ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey dear๐Ÿ˜ฅ How are you? ๐Ÿคง I miss you๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been down and busy. Sorry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh๐Ÿ˜ฅ Its okk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm learning about your culture through your articles, besides being educational, it's creepy ๐Ÿ˜จ๐Ÿ˜ซhehehe keep it up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh this is just one part of the culture though. The past culture was something i would be proud of but now, I'm not so sure about the current culture we have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything has its good side and its bad side๐Ÿคทโ€โ™€๏ธ no way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is all scary!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure they're all scary, i think it's just the multo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I am scared to multo too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice article! Good Job!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my age now, I really don't believe of those.. but they're scary though if they're really really existing..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd like to believe because i grew up to stories about them but it would be cool if they were real

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha..cool pero baka tumakbo ako.. although im curious and i want to see one.. lol.. but I'm not sure what would be my reaction once I saw one..haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baka nga ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ your reaction depends on how they would approach siguro? Kasi yun naman lagi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw makakita ng tikbalang..ano gagawin mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imma ask it questions. I'm curious about it but if it goes to rape, I'll make a run for it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello dear๐Ÿ˜‡ do you tell me please these ghost really exist or if they are presented by imagining such characters for a drama or a movie.. Curious mind wants to know๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pretty sure ghosts are the only creatures that are true on this list but then even the existence of ghosts are questionable. A lot say it's just the trick of the mind, really

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah.. Itโ€™s really questionable.. Sometimes i do believe there is the existance of ghost but sometimes i can't.. Btw thanks for reply.. Stay happy and healthy๐Ÿ˜‡and obviously keep writingโค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there are paranormal experts who claim that ghosts are real then those that have "abilities" or a "thirdeye" too so sometimes it feels like they can be real

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm maybe real ๐Ÿ˜ข i really scared about ghost..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really true, here in our place there's a lot of them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh really? Where are you from ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Calabarzon, Province of rizal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you're also pinooyyyy. Tho layo ng rizal ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article po, @Hanzell, i like this one po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ but I'm not done yet ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm excited n hope u will also do the Balete Drive story din po here as i like to hear n read it po again :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I'd have a plagiarism record if i end up writing about that story gere. It's all over the internet, after all ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, i see po, then i'll just wait for the continuation of your article about the dark creatures of the philippines po then

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am laughing while reading this. Theres a lot of creatures here in our native land. We have mulawins and sangres too ๐Ÿ˜„

I remember also The Adventures of Pedro Penduko. It was Matt Evans who played the role of Pedro Penduko and he has a power and he fight those dark creatures like Tikbalang, Kapre, Tiktik, Manananggal, Aswang, Alamanhid and many more haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I don't know what's alamanhid and sangres???? Lol but I'm only focusing on the ones used in horror because too many if i even tried to list and describe them all ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its amaranhid pala haha. Not alamanhid hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

So that's the tagalog of zombie???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More likely? Its a dead person who rise again on the grave e. So its like a zombie? haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ohhh then i should go look for that and add the to the other creatures

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am just joking with the sangres hahaha. Sangres are from Encantadia ๐Ÿ˜… Alamanhid is like zombie.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I didn't watch that ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ wasn't a fan of tagalog series ever since

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why your dont know about Sangres hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I was supposed to write an article about these creatures but i forgot ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ. I just remembered it again when i read your articles. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ Yeah this imaginary creatures are living in the hearts of Filipinoes. As i remembered, they use it to scare children in order not to stay out at night.๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well Filipinos love works of fiction and horror, after all so it's no wonder that they still survive for this long. But I'm just focusing on the ones used to scare people. I have no idea about the rest of the mythological creatures here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will be waiting to read other part of this.. It might give me idea to create and share one also from our locality.. Actually people here don't know about tikbalangsl and capres... Only the ghosts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh I'm pretty sure each island group has a few mythological creatures of their own so it would be a great idea to weite about them.

My grandparents tell me a lot about kapre and tikbalang when i was growing up though? They said those creatures were nice and took care of their mango trees in the house in the province

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh... But when i was once in a city i also heard of those creatures, that why i have a bit knowledge about them. I use it to scare my classmates who tried to bully me and they believed when me in fact i haven't seen one๐Ÿ˜.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well city kids will believe anything horror if it came from someone who lived in the province. They're more gullible because they don't really hear those stories a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ You think so.. I will find a most interesting one.. Though we have only few i think...

$ 0.00
3 years ago