Cure me

7 34
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Story

[WP] You're slowly transforming into a monster and are racing to find a way to reverse it before your mind goes feral.

 

“And we have another incident of a salmonella outbreak here in….” 

The sound of the television faded as I turned to look at my newest quantum dot synthesis. This thing was going to change the world! It was going to be the first patented antimicrobial agent that these pesky germs will never grow immune to. I was proud of myself, after years of looking into a good carbon source, I finally found the best precursor for the job. What better way to ensure that it’s safe for living things? 

I pondered on that for a while and then the idea hit me! Why not use living things! The idea excited me. No need for adding other agents just to activate the quantum dots. A living being would have everything I would need for this. Sulfur, Phosphorus, Nitrogen, it would all be there! 

I started out small with this project, I started with plants. It looked like a good idea at that time but it still needed more. I moved on to insects. Small creatures that would hardly be missed by anybody. As the insects I used got bigger and more complex, so did the efficiency of the synthesis. I was convinced when I tried to use a mouse for my synthesis, that it would be more effective. So I continued down this path. 

 

October 19, XXXX

30th day of documenting the quantum dots made from mouse flesh. I’ve tried applying the quantum dots on other rats I’ve wounded intentionally. After 30 days of treatment, there seemed to be nothing wrong with the specimens so the next step… was to try it on humans… try it on me. 

It was a dangerous idea, I know. But it was all for the sake of science! 

This will be a new set of data to record and monitor. 

 

November 14, XXXX

25 days since I’ve started treating an intentional cut with the quantum dots. It’s non-toxic so far so I believe it incorporates in the body since the material is also carbon-based. My appetite has greatly changed recently as I’ve mentioned in my previous entries. I do think I might be delusional but the shape of my toes and fingers have been changing. I fear I might be spending too much time around rats. 

 

November 28, XXXX

I’ve… been hearing… things- And I’ve been growing more animalistic by the day. Is this the effect of the quantum dots??? I was not delusional, my extremities have greatly changed, so has my bone structure and my body hair. I might be becoming a rat. 

 

December 17, XXXX

I can barely retain thought. I went outside, trying to find more materials on a possible way to reverse this but the changes that already happened to my face terrifies people. I can no longer go outside. 

 

January 10, XXXX

Strange people are outside- Have they come to help? Will they let me use their bodies to make more quantum dots that will turn me human again? My condition has worsened and it’s been hard to stay sane.

*****

Slowly, the enforcer pushed the door open and a flash of light poured into the room, making the professor hiss from his spot.

“Professor Smith, we’ve been getting reports of infes–” The man cowering in the corner suddenly pounced on the enforcer holding up the flashlight. Following him was a swarm of rats that have come to acknowledge him as one of their own. 

“Cure! Cure! You are the cure!” The Professor laughed like a mad man as his claws lodged into the enforcer’s neck. Deep red liquid soon gushed from the man as the professor drove his claws deeper into the man’s flesh “You see this, lovelies? Looks like we can experiment again” 

A crazed grin spread across the Professor’s face as he dragged the still bleeding body into his laboratory. 


And so, I apologize for this somewhat shitty prompt. I’ve been busy with work orientations and trainings ;;-;; and tomorrow, I’ll be traveling across 2 different dimensions for 2 different agendas. Gosh, etting work requirements is so expensive ;;-;;


11
$ 6.64
$ 6.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Story

Comments

This story is so creepy, hehehe.. I hope you will not end up like that professor sis, hahaha char

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tignan natin pag nag PhD ako Kung mababaliw ako 🤣🤣🤣 But the facts are based off my undergrad thesis tho. The quantum dots

$ 0.00
2 years ago

os so there is a probability that it could happen?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The carbon source Lang. I'm not sure pa Kung ano effect nun sa lab rat pag live sample ginamit ko pang carbon source

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A sad story. God bless you and may you get through it all beautiful friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The phrase trying it on humans made me shiver ackk. This will be a good series I think??

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm so lazy to write series recently though 😅😅😅 pero Yun Naman Yung end goal Ng product testing, to try on humans

$ 0.00
2 years ago