Art speaks

40 74
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Warning: don't read if your depression is bad, it might add to it.

As most people say: art speaks a thousand words with merely just one image. It's a way of expressing oneself at any age and will continue to do so for everyone who desperately needs it.

Such as in my case. I wonder how many times I've told people that art and writing has been my therapy. It has been for a long time and probably will continue to do so until I no longer need it. Though I doubt I'd give it up. It's been almost 12 whole years since I've been reliant on it, after all.

As to why I started art? Well...

2009

My grandfather passed away just a few short days before All souls day. My comfort and safe place was gone in an instant. I was neglected more. But even before that though, I was basically a ghost to my paternal side of the family. And also, I'm the eldest of us 4 siblings. It shouldn't have been that bad but then by this year, I've had so many cousins that added to my baby sitting and "maid duties" as I've always called it. So when I had time, or when the kids needed to do school work, I would draw while I taught. The people on my father's side could care less about their own kids and since I was also the eldest granddaughter, all the kids were dumped to me. I barely had a childhood.

2011-2012

My 2011 never really had anything memorable about it. Still had to care for the kids, still had to tend to the house, grocery shopping added to that list but I was fortunate that the house was still peaceful during these times. By 2012, one of the things I realized late happened. One of my paternal uncles started molesting and sexually harassing me. I had no escape then since he was the one to drive all the kids to and from school. It started with just touches, on the thighs, shoulders, those creepy touches on my arms then they did eventually escalate.

This year was also when my father's friend saw how I could draw. He taught me all the basics because he was a painter. He invited me to some galleries when I was free and gave me that spartan art training I now appreciate so much.

2013-2014

The touches did escalate to my bottom and breasts. I tried everything to escape him, even as far as to just walk home from school since it wasn't that far, maybe 30 minutes from my house. But in these years, the fights between my parents worsened. At times, I heard things from my dad that I wish I never did like "I would be much happier by now if I didn't have kids" and in on some nights that he would drink alone, he would sometimes tell me that I was such a huge mistake. It took a while to convince myself that I wasn't. But at times, I would still look at the knives my grandfather left me, still as sharp as when he used them. I sliced my skin sometimes to keep me grounded but never to kill myself.

My art by these years often had double meanings. The more colorful my art was, the deeper the pain it held. Those were the ones I sold off in the art exhibits and auctions I was asked to join. The people seemed to enjoy watching my depression. What's amusing was that even when artists could see the emotions in the art, they always had something to say. And being the youngest in their community was no help either. But I did continue with art. I needed it. Writing eventually added to this list and I started to keep a journal for my thoughts. I read those at times to remind myself how far I've come.

In 2014, my dad kicked my mom out of the house. What was already a pile of chores to be done doubled and extended to budgeting and doing everything alone. I couldn't manage any form of savings back then. My dad knew I earned from art so he would always cut the house budget short so that I would be forced to use whatever I had to add to it. My sisters and cousins I raised never came to help when I asked. I started to cut deeper and hoped I would eventually bleed to death while I slept but I didn't so I had to conceal my arms. I became known as the hoody girl for the rest of my highschool years.

2015-2016

After much overdose attempts, mostly from paracetamol, ibuprofen and a few sleeping aids I could get my hands on, I became resistant to those drugs. It was unfortunate and I kept questioning why it's so hard to die. The harassments from my uncles escalated to the point that he would press his crotch on any part of my body and he would move to relieve himself. There was a rape attempt at one point too and a death threat that went along with it, thus why I hid in my room since then. I also lost my scholarship because my dad seemed to think that threatening to kick me out of the house a day before a major exam was a good idea.

I also had my first check up with a psychologist in these years. I had General Anxiety Disorder that caused most of my depressive symptoms. I was given medication that I tried to use for overdose too. Nothing worked. I wanted a clean death and it was only my body that was fighting but my mind honestly gave up on everything. I couldn't handle the harassments and the fact that I was like a servant to everyone in that house. It was miserable. I barely had friends because I was always needed to be at home asap because no one would tend to the house. I stopped asking my sisters for help, they needed to study. They seem to have a better future than I did. I was a mess. Constantly tried to get myself run over, was still constantly looking for clean ways to die. I eventually took refuge online and met someone. He was a college student and we eventually did date. He was the basis for my Primrose story but we didn't have a happy ending like they did. He succeeded in his death because by the time we met, he was already terminally ill. My body never allowed me to follow him.

2017

Things started to turn to the bright side by this year. The harassments stopped. My mom came back and my dad left instead. He went to that office mate of his that he was flirting with in the absence of my mom. By those times, my mom allowed us to adopt puppies which is sebastian and Victoria, the ones I have. They were also therapy to me. I was still suicidal but my attempts got lesser and lesser. I shifted from geology to chemistry and I gained a friend. A really good friend in all those years of silence.

What I learned from my attempts?

Nothing much, really. It's just that these things will just pass. It's up to you if you'll find your own form of therapy or not. And it's also up to you if you'll keep living in your trauma. The best you can do for yourseld is to keep yourself busy, honestly. Else you'll end up spiraling back to the dark hole you've been trying to escape for so long. Can't say I've stopped my attempts though. I still cut when I get really bad anxiety attacks but what people don't understand is how much I hate what's inside my head and how bad it keeps dragging me back. Pain grounds me to reality. I don't do so without a reason.

18
$ 9.92
$ 9.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.01 from @Jadeliyi
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

So you got this from your journal again? Hmm... i knew some of those storis as you've told me before already. But never thought the whole story to be like that. πŸ˜…

Oi oi, your profile pic. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Summarized from my journals. This is most of the causes of my depression. They really happened though

Ehh what's with my profile pic? Bf says i look cute as a cat so now I'm a cat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was so heavy reading your story. It must have been so hard for you going through those rough times alone πŸ’” I wish I could be there for you, hug you so tight and cry with you all night. I really mean this. πŸ₯Ί

Imagine the trauma when you see your uncle almost everyday (?) and the memories start rolling again. Your first ex that you told me about could have been your effective refuge but ended up to trigger you more, I guess?

But knowing that we can write things about these indicates good progress of recovery I suppose. Dogs are really therapeutic. Our four-legged family member. And I'm just glad that things get lighter now. Hopefully, it goes all the way. You are happy with your boyfriend now and I really hope for the best. It's good that you have someone who understands your situation and just be there.

Well, you have your virtual friends here too. You can rely on us. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't say i was alone, i had sisters and i still hung out with them if it wasn't chores related and i had my art instructor that gave me every kind of art material i could get my hands on. Though most of them were the cheap kind, he still got some of them for me. I also enjoyed my ex though. I liked that he distracted me with every kind of puzzle he knew so that i wouldn't be so glum. As for my uncle. At some point, i gave him a threat of my own after so many years of him threatening me if i spoke. I met a good friend who suffered the same symptoms in therapy and now she's my best friend. My boyfriend came when i was calmer but he still sees the few episodes i have and I'm happy with the support he's giving me and vice versa, really

And I'm also happy to have met you guys because at times, the support is really needed and there's no place besides here to lay everything out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. It's also a healthy way of keeping your mind busy so you get distracted from those dark thoughts. I'm really happy that you have made it this far. You're so strong to have endured all of those. We'll keep you company here, that's for sure. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mind's always bust now. There's inktober to start on tomorrow as well and that's something I've been looking forward to for a while now. You're too sweet, all you guys are. You all have my sincere gratitude, really

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good to know. That's a great progress. Well, sino ba naman magdamayan kundi tayo tayo lang who share the same feelings. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear Hanzell, here we read and learn to know more about our writers by their skills and not by everything that we carry inside.

It is not in vain that you are depressed now, with all that load of terrible memories inside your mind.

I think that to do the autolysis you have to be very brave. On the other hand, I preferred to spend whole nights crying, because I was afraid of threatening my own life.

Many times I thought that I would go crazy from crying so much. From so much depression. On some occasions I dreamed of dying, I loved him and asked God to take me with him.

I don't know all the pain you went through, so I can't say I understand you. But if I can give you my support for when you need to talk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It wasn't bravery, it was hoping that it would lead to my end because it was a really low point in life for me. Tears really failed to fall then because i was just numb. So i couldn't imagine myself crying the whole night anymore. I just felt pity for myself because i didn't really have much of anything. But that's something I'll leave to the past for now. I'm happier now and much more at peace than before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to read that part. You are happier now. It is good, it means that you are fighting with your demons and you are defeating them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I pray for your full recovery❀ tho mahirap makarecover sa ganitong situation, it's still a good thing you found a therapy to deal with it. Actually eye opener na din to sa mga taong nakakaranas talaga ng depression well lahat namn siguro tayo may mga episodes of anxiety, but yung mga tao talaga na nawawalan na ng hope dito, sana mabasa nila na they can overcome this, kailangan nila ng tulong from others but also they have to help themselves.❀ fighting lang nee chan😊 we're rooting for you!! (I can't help but get mad on your uncle tho huhu)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Iba yung mild anxiety though and yung mga clinically diagnosed talaga that need medication na. Lol what's worse is that guidance counselors don't help, of anything they stereotype you. And it's rare for the psychiatrist to give an effective prescription agad. Parang russian roulette kasi yung prescription lagi. The last one worked though. Xanax. I still take that pag need. I hug virtually UwU I'm mostly good naman na so no worries, imouto-chaannn. Hope you don't ever get such bad depression though. It's better to just live life happy or peaceful at least

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right rules and right say about own article. Dear good thing for thinking and only think not be done either because this is so necessary for us to do it ourselves I like it dear excellent article keep it up and carry on plzzz subscribe and also upvote me and see my new article then I will again subscribed you now you subscribe me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should've listened when you say don't read this haha but I find this interesting. These are the things that people who doesn't suffer from depression will never understand. But I do hope that you can refrain from cutting yourself. Been there, writing has been my therapy too until now. This is a never ending process but at least we're trying to be a better version of ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. They wouldn't know how chaotic or lifeless it gets for a depressed person. I only cut now as a diversion for when I get anxiety attacks though. It hasn't happened in months so I'd like to believe I'm doing okay now. Anyways, may we never get a relapse because each relapse really gets harder and harder to recover from

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh dear, oh dear... I don't expect to read it from you hanzell. I can't count the stories of my female friends in here having nightmares in the past. Who will be the next one.. I think we were brought in here to release our agonies. Now i realize another thing, each of us has our own nighmares in a different from our history. Though i find you all in here talented, jolly, and talkative, but after reading your stories, i'm now wondering what might the others have in their closet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everyone has their own skeletons they like to keep hidden in their closets. But since the trend has started, we can only wait and see. As for myself on this platform... i always thought i was still on the pessimistic neutral side of the world. I never thought i would be counted as a jolly person πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ the fact that we can write these things out just means that we're slowly recovering, right? Or at least that's my take on it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I think you are recovering though not much atleast you are starting. . Releasing of your negative side will help you cope up with your negative feelings also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It all only ended this year so i hope the times i write nothing but sad stuff is understandable. As of now, I'm just happy that i can breath and that I've found a bit of peace in my life and hopefully other people will too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad it ended, but I know there are times that you think of it unintentionally. I just hope good memories will enclose the horrible ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have trigger words or phrases still. I think some people will always have those so if you can surpass that then that's real recovery despite how many good memories you've made

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Real recovery will take time. Sometimes people close to you will help you surpass it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Though one , and you are really strong , to have overcome this and even write this out , it's a great work you have done I must confess. The issues with rape now adays I believe should be declared a global pandemic . Between March and the month over 1 thousands of girls, lady has been rape here in my country and some lost their life during the act.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know. And a majority of those are domestic rapes. So many of them even gave up the psychological and physical torment too. This world is too sick.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am very aware of that in my country the rampage of rape is too much recently and lawmakers make a law to castrate all rapist , the questions is how is the court convinced that a rape occur is another issue .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Castration won't be enough to rven cover for the damage. As long as there's a deek then there will be rape still. And the testing for proving rape is embarrassing for the female as well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it take courage to say this thing out .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of us suffer in one way or another in life, the truth is that I even cried with your story, that since childhood you suffered so much and they took advantage of you and your innocence, now that you are older take refuge in your art and seek professional help so that those anxiety attacks do not return or at least you can control them efficiently. Always remember this: "I am a unique, beautiful and useful person" . I send you a big virtual hug friend @Hanzell πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have medication still so i think I'll be fine. I'm not overly reliant on it now but i do take it when it's needed. I appreciate the big virtual hug 😊😊 and I'll make sure to remind myself of those words when I feel down again. But as of now, there's nothing to worry about, i haven't had a relapse nor an anxiety attack in a while now and hopefully it would stay that way for a long time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's good to know that πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸΌ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pathetic life. The thing with your uncle, I was going to write that topic in my next too articles. Actually it's going to be on rape. In bangladesh from january to thim time. 922 may be rape occured. And many was related to this relative side. Fuking bustard. I don't know what would I do if I were in your situation. Couldn't tell anyone as your parents were dealing with their problem. I am a boy but I was harrassed by a gay may be...He sat beside me and tried to touch my dck...he couldn't...I caught his hand. I knew I am a boy and nobody gonna believe me. So I said nothing and just sat like this. He couldn't do anythingπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. But I know the feeling. I was so annoyed by those 2 hours. And I can't imagine how much did you have to suffer. Bt it's bad you become resiatant to thoae drugs. Now you got your diploma. remember your life and take care of your kids in future. So that they don't have to suffer like you did

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Domestic rape is the most common rape and i don't believe it was just that. There were probably more than thousands of rape cases there that were left unrecorded out of fear. Oof that would have felt so gross. Why didn't you move to another seat instead of enduring for those 2 hours.

This is why I never want to have kids. They don't need to know pain. I'll just adopt, it would make those kids feel better about themselves if they were adopted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bus was full, I couldn't move to another one. Yeah, many are remained unfolded. Better relationship with family is needed. Well i support you. Not only this problem but the world is going to worsen day by day. I don't want to bring new life in this world too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really sad and heartbreaking. Many of the females I know on this platform have stories of rape, sexual molestation or toxic parent(s). I'm Sorry you had to experience all of that, but I'm glad there's somemlight at the end of the tunnel for you.

I really hope you get over the suicidal episodes, you have a great personality, character and talent. The world will lose an irreplaceable gem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, i noticed that too but that's the truth to a lot of people mostly living in developing countries or of those that just had selfish parents. Anyways, I think I've gotten better and this pandemic helped out with the lessened human contact so I don't get triggered anxiety attacks much these days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, so I'm not the only one who has some good memories from the Pandemic πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Sexual molestation and rape are also a big thing in my country too I guess. Developing countries have fewer people at work so they spend time at home making others' lives miserable.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i mostly get triggered when i get molested in vehicle and on the train and it happens a lot before ;;-;; but yeah. In most cases, this pandemic caused more people to suffer in different ways

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's true. Your gain is someone else's loss, I guess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naiyak ako Hanzell. Ewan ko ba, ang bigat ng pakiramdam ko habang binabasa to. All of us has an untold stories to tell. You were a victim of raped too 😒 And its more worst because its your Uncle. I am glad that your life turned to bright one.

Alam mo ba I dreamed of you last week haha. Ang weird no haha. Naattached na ko dito sobra πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's not really rape but it was getting there, i just managed to escape. And my life isn't brighter now because i still have relapses but it's not as often as before

Lol what did you dream about? Hopefully it isn't a bad one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago