Alchemy: Chemistry's predecessor pt.1

68 56
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Honestly, I blame the anime I was watching earlier, else I wouldn't be reading this up

Alchemy could very well be counted as the earliest form of chemistry, seeing as both disciplines involved the study of matter by analysis, synthesis and transmutation. But the origin of the word chemistry has been said to have come from the Arabic word alkimiya (al+kimiya), which means black magic. It was also thought to have come from the Greek word keme, which means black (you’ll find out why later). Basically, both disciplines were actually called magic before too but how is alchemy different from chemistry?

Well, alchemy is a much larger form of discipline.  It’s a combination of religion, mythology, astrology, philosophy, magic, spirituality and folklore and given the fact, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that each continent has its own version of alchemy in one way or the other but the most well-known civilization that was first believed to have studied this were the Greeks. It was from them that the idea of having four elements came to play (earth, wind, fire, water) in the name of “roots”. It was believed that these roots could never be split but can only be combined (sounds like the game of doodle god, right?) but back then, this really was what they believed, constituted matter. They were the building blocks of the universe. Later on, the early alchemists came to the idea of turning one element to another, what we come to know as transmutation.

This is what the 4 elements were believed to look like (Solis, 2008)
This one is how the characteristics of elements were described either individually or in combination with other elements (Solis, 2008)

Further developments of alchemy came in the time of the great conqueror, Alexander the great. In his conquests, he collected as much scriptures as he did with gold and women. And from his conquest, much advancements in metal processing and transmutation came to life but so did metal plating and advancements in medicine.

Alexander the Great (Taken from google)

And because I'm such a nerd with these things, I laid out the fundamentals of alchemy bit by bit from transmutation to the philosopher's stone to the stuff they used. Count this as the intro, perhaps?

History of Alchemy, (Solis, 2008)

31
$ 0.57
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jihan
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

I hope all is well in history 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if it was all well. Witchcraft was eventually involved in alchemy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you read about Paulo Coehlo's The Alchemist? It's his bestselling novel but I haven't read that yet because the book is quite expensive for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't. I've been looking for a pdf earlier today but since i haven't seen the book. I'm not sure if the ones i got were right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Speaking of which, I found this link relating to my article earlier. I hope you find this useful ☺️

https://onuploads.com/hv5rhbsle046/The_kite_runner_by_Khaled_Hosseini.pdf.html

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just downloaded it. I'll read it tomorrow ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Niceee ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly, I only know the game 'Alchemy'. I never thought there's much more than the game 😅 Thanks for this article it enlightens me 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Theremore to this, honestly because i found 3 published books about alchemy and now I've been reading those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're indeed an anime lover

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. But guess the anime 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have much knowledge on animes. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now i know, where the sailormoon symbol came from, thanks for this article, it's helpful n informative po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure about sailor moon because those use tarot cards. This is far from tarot cards though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, they don't used tarot cards po, the one using tarot cards on anime's card captor sakura po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was there alchemy in sailor moon? I never watched that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, but the symbols here n the symbols on the sailor soldier on that anime's the same po, sailormoon's the moon sign, jupiter, mars, mercury, venus, saturn's also the same

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. i should watch that to see if it has alchemy too. Thank youu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The signs n symbols there r the same in your article po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You said so. But I've hinestly never watched that anime so i want to see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mganda po un, ang unang kumanta po ng tagalog version ng theme song nun ay si angelika dela cruz po n japanese anime po un pro my version din po sa ibng salita tulad ng english po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh!! It was useful. Many thing came to know

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's goos to know u

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the information i know many things by reading this article💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The oldest name of Egypt is "Kemet", the black land. The Nile's regular inundations left black silt, crucial for agriculture, and it was the source of life for Egypt. That is what "Kemet" refers to. Arabic al-kimiya might very well have referred to Egypt, meaning "Egyptian [Science or Magic, which were essentially two sides of the same coin at that time]". Moreover, at the time Egypt was generally considered the source of all knowledge, and there are many references in Alchemy indicating that Egypt would be the source of Alchemy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was gonna go at it part by part since it was transmutation that was next on that list and I wanted to introduce kemet there and the black soil that came to egypt after the great nile overflow yearly ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. I will wait and see then :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading through it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most welcome. 💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true honesty is the best policy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alchemy is broader than chemistry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In a sense of its origins but it didadvance as much as chemistry does now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good post with less view. I know we both dn't care bt look what happened to read cash😅😅. Btw what were you watching? full metal alchemist🤥🤥??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well yeah. This is what read.cash is now but yesss I've been watching full metal alchemist. I missed so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I miss it too. I lobe that anime so so much😘😘😘. And I aso got to know about the seven deadly sins for the first time from there. The anime is something😘😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do you feel about fill metal alchemist brotherhood? that was the recent remake it received and i painstakingly watched that too 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't watched the old one. I watched the brotherhood one. Best best. I mean after finshing it I was be like, now what. Why pife sewms so boring now. I has trying to draw some transmutation circles and listening to the theme song😌😌. I watched the last propose part countless time😙😙😙Winry in soooo cuteee😭😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The original was still the best because the remake really felt rushed to me. Plus the temake was only there because the otiginal ending was a bit open ended. It was a sad enfing to me though but it's nice that the original followed rhe manga. I'm still hoping for an additional season to the original just to see if ed and al will see each other again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hate tragedies as I am a funny boy. So my friends simply said watch the brotherhood one and just be happy😂😂...though I have watched 20+ episode of original one(29 may be) and the chimera thing and trucker😑😑. I may have killed trucker if he existed😑😑. But when I saw brotherhood one, they tried to make it less pathetic there. I am not gonna watch the 1st one. I don't wanna be a sad person😢😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have such a huge difference in preference 😂 i only watched the first 15 episodes of the brotherhood but I really couldn't take the fast pace and the more comical appeal. Felt like the manga wasn't there anymore because of the representation but it was still good. Just that it wasn't for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't read the manga actually. But the brotherhood got better in the last phase. I haven't seen the main one fully so I can't compae. But if you like tragedy....try clannad and clanned after story.... I literally cried like a baby in the end🙂🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehh.. never again will i watch the clannad series. it hurts my heart way too much 😭 same with plastic memories and charlotte. Gosh those really get to you. Even violet evergarden was sad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You forgot ''Your lie in april??''🙂🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh one of the epic ones 😭😭😭😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you like shounen animes? I have a perfect one and my current most fav one😘😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course i do. I hate the shoujo animes out there tho manga version is nice. What anime though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someone is in love with "Full metal alchemist" I assume??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always have been 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice job,keep sharing more articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ i will. There's more to this series, after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mansoor, where are your posts? I wanted to read something yours but there is nothing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This topic is something I am very interested in.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's more to come since I found good books that cover the topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a very interesting article and i like it, i hope someone will also check mine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for that. Though my alchemy series is not done yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know you're also into anime just like me. It would be a shocked if you also watch Kdramas. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh kdramas really aren't my thing. I only have jdramas as exceptions but other than that, i just stick to anime

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haven't heard of jdramas though. Haha! How old are you btw?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well they're the equivalent of kdramas in japan. They're more comical in nature. I'm 22, and you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago