Campus politics

4 20
Avatar for Hadamson
2 years ago

For the first three years of my tutelage as a student in the university, I didn't give my studies any divided attention. I concentrated on my studies, working hard towards making first class grade. All my lecturers had confidence in me. Some of my lecturers and Even the university as a community knew the debate guy was in the school as a student of law. All these increased the pressure on me to make a good grade. After all, in the final analysis, my success in the school would not be measured by the number of girls that swarmed me like bees to honey in October. It was the grade I came out with in my exams that would define my success.

In my final year on the campus, there was a reason for me to come out of my academic shell to answer a call for leadership. The students Union election was forthcoming, and some students in my class felt I was capable to lead the union as it's president. They were ready to finance my candidature and campaign. All that they needed was my consent and readiness to campaign for the election.

The debate fire in me was ignited again and volunteered to contest. The campaign was tough as there were other contestants for the post of the president. @Kristofferquincy visited me on some occasions to lend a hand. The election campaign was tougher than that of the president of the country. My posters in various colours were posted on every available space on the campus. The captions were really captivating: "VOTE FOR A CHANGE! THE DEBATE GUY AGAIN! HADAMSON , TESTED AND TRUSTED!".

Twenty four hours to the election, all campaigns stopped then the speech night came on the eve of the election. The speech night easily brought to my memory our election in primary school hadamson defeated five of us to become the senior perfect. It was his speech at the dying minutes that did the Magic.

My campaign team organised some rehearsal for me. Some of them came with prepared speeches they wanted me to memorize. But I told them that I would speak extempore. I refuse to accept any prepared speech. The first speaker was a girl in 400l a medical student, who read a prepared speech. Four us were cleared to contest the presidential election and I was to speak last.

Our names were arranged in alphabetical order for the speech making. It was nice I was the last person, I was able to steady myself and gather confidence. I studied the Strong and weak points of the first three speakers, all girls . All of them spoke well. They pleaded and appealed to the voters not to waste their votes by voting for somebody else. The third speaker even promise to transform the university to Havard standard!

At last it was my turn to speak. I climbed the rostrum and before I could open my mouth, the shout of ' you have won, you have won ' rent the air. I appealed for calm so that I could speak. At a point of had to shout: " Great students, if you love me and you love democracy, please lend me your ears, if I do not speak tonight, I do not deserve your votes. It is from what I say that you will judge what I will do order was restored by what I said and I began to speak.

"My fellow students the great leaders of tomorrow, this is the second opportunity in the history of my life that circumstances would throw me up to save a situation. I was barely ten years old in primary four less than sixteen years ago, when a mere discussion on child abuse generated a great debate all over the country. I led my school to victory and won for myself the state scholarship award. This is a clarion call at a very higher level to serve my fellow students in the capacity of the president of the students Union.

"Matin Luther King said: the ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in a moment of comfort and convenience but where he stands at times of challenges and controversy." @Success1is a time that the students Union of this great university needs a great and dynamic leader to lead it. I made bold to say " Here I am, vote for me", and the union won't be thesame again. Your votes won't be waisted.

"You will get value for the union dues that you pay. I shall do my best to remove all the obstacles on our way to success. I have fought before to eradicate child Abuse, Child labour and child soldiering. I shall fight again to eradicate sexual harassment by some Randy lecturers. I shall fight again to make water, light and other things of convenience available in abundance on the campus. I shall fight again to restore the former glory of this great institution. I make bold to say that I shall fight again till the dignity of every student is restored"

To be continued in my next write up probably tomorrow thanks for reading and to my sponsors I'm back I look up to seeing your request again.

5
$ 0.08
$ 0.03 from @Success.1
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
Sponsors of Hadamson
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hadamson
2 years ago

Comments

I will surely give for you my dear friend. It's been a long time sir! I wish you success in the election.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in school also anything politics I don't just get involved because most of them go into it because of the money they would gain from the students dues

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the only reason whereas students can't roam freedomly and do every as usual things. I hate student politics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can really say it's a game just like dice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago