Making Chocolate-Condensed Milk Cake Without Oven

16 70
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

July 29, 2020 | 12:30 am PH time

Yesterday was my youngest sibling's 10th birthday. To celebrate her day, we decided to make her a cake. For some people, a.k.a our family, who do not own an oven, searching for an alternative way is the key. And this is what we found online.

Please note that this is not a recipe. :P

Above were the ingredients for the cake. A mixture of all-purpose flour and baking powder, eggs, condensed milk, margarine, and vanilla essence. We used margarine because it was cheaper. :D

We added the milk and eggs to the margarine then mixed them using an electric hand mixer.

The next thing we added was the flour mixture.

Last was the vanilla essence. A cheaper substitute for vanilla extract. We bought an estimated 100ml of this for only 5 pesos ($0.1). :D

Then we transferred it on a kaldero (from the Spanish word calderon). This is a Filipino cooking pot and thicker than the ordinary one. This is usually used to cook rice.

Then we placed in on a kawali. A wok-like cooking pan. I guess (because I am not really sure what's the science behind this) this is to evenly distribute the heat and not to burn the bottom part.

After less than an hour, we flipped the cover of the kaldero and put some charcoal. This is to cook the upper part of the cake without burning the bottom part. This was not included in the one I've searched for. We just made this to cook the cake faster too. :P

While waiting for the cake to be cooked, we also made chocolate frosting. This was a Red Ribbon recipe that we also found online. This consists of cocoa powder, evaporated milk, sugar, coffee, and margarine. In fairness, the recipe was legit. It really tasted like a Red Ribbon chocolate frosting. :D Red Ribbon Bakeshop is a bakery chain here in the Philippines. They also have some branches in the US.

Yay. It was a little burnt. :P But this was okay. Better than a not-well-cooked cake. :D

Frosting time. We do not have a bread knife so I divided this using a thread. Yes, the one we use when sewing. Lifehack 101. :P

Almost done. ^-^ We also added some Nips chocolate candies.

Done! And that's how we did our no-oven cake. Mahal (Filipino term for love or expensive) is my sibling's nickname. Mahal is also a well-used endearment of lovers here in the Philippines. :P :P

This is a special day for a child like my sibling and I am happy that we are able to prepare something for her.

This day also reminded me of how blessed we are. We may not have what we want, but I believe we have all we need. Amidst this pandemic, I and my loved ones are all safe, we are still able to eat thrice a day, and even celebrate a little for a birthday. These are things that I am really grateful for.

And to everyone reading this, whatever you are going through, may you all stay strong, healthy, and safe. 💕

Thank you for reading. 💕

-Gwenie

11
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

looks delicious to SirPotato nice recipe without oven. And as a secret I can tell that that for us-potatos, oven is like sauna for humans

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This post made me super hungry 😂😂. Nicely improvised in the absence of oven. I liked the coals used for heat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Thanks for the compliment. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome. I wonder how it tasted like? I am sure amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So yammy and tasty chocolate cake you made...Thanks for sharing the process of chocolate condensed milk cake with us...I will try it in future

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the compliment. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great going! Now I'm hungry! You guys did well.with the little you had and that's excellent.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the compliment. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great work dear first time look this real cooking Photography. You are really good cooker. I love cake . Cake is my favourite food . Your cake looking very delicious..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the compliment. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really beautiful this recipe, delicious and genuine, I felt like sweet, just to change, as if I lacked the appetite !!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How did the cake taste like??? It looks good though ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. ☺ I think the cake was okay na rin para sa first time gumawa. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good UwU then mauulit yung cake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried to bake in different types of ovens, an airfryer and on the stove (pan in a pan water) the results were bad. I was looking for a "wonderland" I remember my aunt had an electric one. Those pans still exist for on the stove but are extremely expensive plus people complained about the glass lid exploding. It feels to me this is the wonderland idea.

Personally I would go for a cheese or yogurt cake or Tiramisu. Most likely a rice pie (flan) works too. Gelatine can help thicken your pie and so can you do with a pudding.

I hope your sister had a great birthday. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago