Just Do It

16 97
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

They say, our truths are the things we chose to believe. How we see ourselves are based on what we believe. I am not good at directions, my balance is not good, I suck when it comes to music, dancing is not for me, I don't have a good story-telling skill, and I am not a good cook. These, my friends, are the things I believed. Until I got out of my comfort zone.

When I got out, it was not easy. Trying things I've never tried made me nervous and made me want to run back to that comfort room..err, zone. But I did not. I'm done limiting myself. I'm done with people saying what I can and cannot do, I'm done playing safe, I'm done being stagnant. Aside from the things I've mentioned in my previous article, my past few days were also spent doing something I believed was "not for me". I am learning how to cook! Okay, I know that this is a basic survival skill, but what I used to eat most of the time were instant foods and fried dishes. This is why I don't know how to cook real foods. But this time, it is real. My last few days were spent learning how to make donuts, empanada, siopao, and baked mac.

This started when a friend, Jen, offered us to try making this business and we agreed. Since we do not have an oven, what she can teach us are limited. The donuts and empanadas were fried. Empanadas are baked or fried pastry stuffed with meat, vegetables, and other ingredients. But what we did was pizza empanada. Instead of stuffing it with ground meat and veggies, we put ham, cheese, pineapple tidbits, plus our secret white sauce. Siopao, on the other hand, is a steamed bun with meat fillings.

These were the foods we made.

Jen stayed for a while in one of our friend's house and it has been more than a week since this cooking class started. On our first few days, she let us do the easy parts. Like putting glaze and sprinkles on donuts and putting holes on the dough. We do this manually since we do not have any molder. The next days, Jen taught us to wrap the siopao and empanada. Wait, I'm not sure if wrap is the right term. :| But going back, she also taught us how to make the dough and she wrote the recipe. But she was the one doing the mixing and kneading every time. But, she went home last Monday.

Since Jen is not around, I and @appleskie decided to try and apply what we learned. Yesterday, we tried to make empanada, siopao, and baked mac. The final result of what we did was I think good β€” the not-bad-for-a-first-timer kind of good. Haha. The dough was a little hard and dry, the potatoes for siopao was half-cooked too, the sauce of baked mac was too little, and the white sauce was too thick. But hey, they were still edible. Haha. I was honestly not satisfied with the result of our first try, but somehow, I am still proud of myself. I just did something I never thought I can, and I enjoyed it!

Today, we have some orders and we were obliged to make them since Jen is not yet back. I and mommy–that's what I call @appleskie – were nervous because this time, what we'll be doing was not just for a trial or practice, but an order of a customer. But we trusted ourselves and just followed the steps and recipe. Mommy showed Jen the dough by sending a picture and Jen said the kneading was not enough. One tiring part of this was we kneaded three times because the dough of donut, siopao, and empanada was different from each other. But all in all, today's order was a success! We were super happy with the outcome and I think these faces can prove it.

I never saw myself as someone who will enjoy in the kitchen because I believed that I cannot cook. That is why I was really amazed at how this experience made me feel. It made me feel that this time, I am doing it right. I can honestly say that the joy I felt while learning and doing this was genuine. Shifting my I can't to I can made a difference. Which brought me back to the idea that whatever we believe in will be our truth. When someone believes that he cannot do something, he's correct. But if he believes that he can do it, he is also correct.

Nothing is impossible if we believe in it. Can't give it a try because you're afraid you might not do it right? Just do it. Because we can't really be one hundred percent prepared for anything, so just do it. Once you started, you're already halfway there. As long as you believe you can do it and do the necessary actions to learn and improve, you can do it. Don't let your fear of other people's opinions stop you from doing something.

And to everyone afraid to try – quit making excuses, thinking you can't, worrying if you can, or waiting until you're older, braver, or all-around better. Believe you can, belief in yourself, make a plan, and just do it.

8
$ 4.92
$ 4.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Congratulations! You guys are doing really good, and soon you could turn it into a thriving business. I'm not cut out for things like this, I'll eat half of them all up before they even make it to the oven πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did great, omg you're running a food business niw!!!! Congrats and the best of luck to uou and your kitchen ventures! Maybe soon you can add more food to your menu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not afraid to try but I do find it great you do it. πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 😊😊

That is one thing I really admire about you. You were never afraid, especially in stating your own opinion and point of views.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It’s very amazing article. I love this article very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The beginning of any work is very difficult, there are many bad ways to go, but once the work is started well, there is no need to go back, hopefully you will succeed in the work you started with hard work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 😊😊

I definitely agree in what you said. The beginning of any work is always difficult. But as long us we're consistent in what we do and we commit ourselves, all the hard work will pay off one day. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like what others are saying, there's no harm in trying. But still, it all boils down to a decision you make, and the willingness you invest to do such things. Great progress though πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 😊😊

Agree. Opportunities are everywhere. We just have to decide wether to take them or not and we must be really willing to do it, consistently.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I have the courage to do such things like yours. Hanggang isip lang ako, takot ako gawin haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hehe, urong-sulong din ako sa mga yan sis. πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚ Pero kung di naman nakakamatay, I think it is worth giving a try. 😊 I believe lahat tayo may nakatagong kakayahan, na naghihintay lang na gisingin natin. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napapangunahan kasi ako ng takot na baka wala naman bibili o Kaya malugi haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hehe normal yan sis, pramis. Not sure if naalala mo yung thrift shop namin sis, di sya nag click dahil sa sobrang daming na ng online seller ng ukay. Then next is nag angkat kami ng crab paste, di rin nabili. Literal na nalugi. Then ngayon itong donut naman. Trial and error hanggang malaman kung anong product ang pinaka mabenta at pinaka mage enjoy kami 😁 So far itong donut donut..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dipa kasi ako nag try pero gustong gusto ko. Naisip ko din dati bumili ng bale, iniisip ko naman paano ko iraraket haha. Nag affiliate marketing din ako tapos nag online selling. Masarap din kasi mag business. Iba yung fulfillment kapag may mga na benta ka though may experience naman ako sa sales. Ewan ko ba haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hehe. Try mo sis, malay mo mag click jaan sainyo 😊 Yung bale okay din, need lang talaga diskarte. Grabeng laba din ginawa namin sa mga may stains noon. Haha. Advantage din na may experience ka na sa sales.

Very true yung sinabi mo sis about sa fulfilment. Tipong kahit konti tubo, nakakatuwa parin 😁 Yun nga lang, di maiiwasan na may mga pasaway na buyer din talaga. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dati kasi after ko manganak nag resign nako sa trabaho at naisipan mag online selling, dati nahihiya ako pero pag tagal na enjoy ko din mag post ng Kung ano ano hehe.

Iniisip ko tuloy Kung simulan ko ulit. Haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago