Haiku Challenge

11 56
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

This article was born because of an article published by @CrazyInsane titled Organorum (Haiku Challenge).

Haiku is well-known for its 5/7/5 rule. Historically, haiku is derivative of the Japanese hokku. Hokku is an opening part or stanza of a larger Japanese poem known as renga. But eventually, writers began to write them as a stand-alone poem. Traditional hokku is meant to comment on the season or surroundings of the authors and create contrasting imagery separated by a kireji or "cutting word". However, this element is not always included in a non-Japanese haiku or free-form haiku by modern writers.

Below are the haiku I managed to write. Please note the last time I remembered writing a haiku was ten years ago. πŸ˜…πŸ€ͺ

Beach

Crystal clear waters

Gentle waves play in the bay

I felt a drizzle

Sunset

Sun is setting down

Sky is painted red-orange

But I feel so blue

Park

Sun shines so brightly

Flowers bloom so tenderly

Child plays cheerfully

I only made three and these were not enough for me. My goal was to make five. πŸ˜… But it's 3:05 am here and my eyes are begging me to sleep. 😴 So good night everyone.

For any reaction or correction, please feel free to drop it in the comment section.

Lead image is from Unsplash.

Thank you for reading. πŸ’•

-Gwenie

9
$ 0.14
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @CrazyInsane
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I joined a Haiku challenge on Steemit. It was about writing a haiku about a photo given. Perhaps you should try that too.

In English they didn't stick to the 5-7-5 rule because it was too easy or too obvious itπŸ€” Well, I forgot.

πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah , I also read some other haiku which contains a 5-3-5 or 3-5-3 scheme, as long as it does not exceed the 17 syllable japanese haiku style, doing a 5-7-5 scheme on english would be kind of fun and a tribute in a way to mimic the old original japanese style haiku πŸ’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mimicking is done in every language except English. As I understood there are 4 or perhaps 6 styles how to write but if it comes to it a poet develops his own style. If not it's the end of creativity. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've checked it. I think that challenge is fun and will really wake up our inner creativity.

Hmm. I think it would be fun if we do that also here in read.cash. πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything can be done if the good writers and in this case poets are found and reunited. They must be there somewhere.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was good πŸ’ also you can try even longer haikus that details more on the story , but that was really great by following the 3 line style,anyhow this was really good, I'm not good at it either but for refresher this is a πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay. Thank you. πŸ˜ƒ

I actually tried to stick to the traditional way and include a kireji but it was too hard. πŸ˜‚ The third one does not have it and I am not sure if I got it right in the first two.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have always been curious about Haiku but not sure how to go about it. Thank you for the introduction paragraph. We can pretty much write about anything and everything right? I like yours. Simple and easy to understand. Some poems and Haikus are too deep for my understanding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the compliments. πŸ’•

Yeah, modern haiku can be about anything and everything. ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago